We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveller rating
1,020
381
155
70
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,020
381
155
70
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street chandlers restaurant ocean view fire pit pool area self parking beautiful hotel resort fee an upgrade beach access nice pool shuttle service san diego short drive family vacation spa balcony
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

VERY nice view from the hotel. The Pacific Ocean gives an excellent backdrop. An overall nice hotel with Great staff. They go out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. Not a new hotel, showing some age, yet very well maintained. Good restaurant on site. (Chandlers) who also has great staff and makes you feel at home!
Once you stay here it's hard to consider any other hotel in the area. It just the best for us. We only stay once or twice a year, but the folks always make us feel like we're regulars! Give this place a try when in the area, I believe you'll be glad you did.

Room tip: All rooms are good, however, anything facing the ocean is even better!
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bobert2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear bobert2412,
Thank you for being a loyal guest at Cape Rey. We appreciate you staying with us every year and you taking the time to write this amazing review. It’s great to hear that you enjoy the view from our property – these sunsets and ocean views never get old! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Thomas Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Stayed at this hotel chosen by company for meeting. Brilliant choice as a meeting venue but also for after work activities. Highly recommended. The hotel was well-laid out. The staff were very helpful and also friendly. The rooms were extremely clean and I felt looked after during a week of meetings!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Indrani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit to this beautiful, well decorated and romantic hotel property on the cliffs of Carlsbad State Beach overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Though the hotel is a close car ride to everything in North County San Diego (including the charming downtown village of Carlsbad), it feels remote and secluded and that is a big part of its charm. This is a large, modern hotel with many amenities but its layout makes it feel intimate. This is a great place to go to relax and rejuvenate. The pool area is spacious with beautiful views of the ocean. The pool deck and bar/reataurant (and many rooms) offer unparalleled views of the amazing sunsets. The beautiful, expansive and uncrowded beach is just a short walk across the road and through the campsites (there are no hotels or homes or buildings directly on the beach in this area - again, part of the charm). There are miles of beach you can walk uninterrupted. The restaurant and bar are surprisingly good and offer high quality food from sophisticated menus. Note - the hotel does attract many families with kids - not a problem for us - but its layout means everyone can carve out areas of quiet and solitude if they want to.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AmericanRedDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear AmericanRedDragon,
We appreciate the 5-star rating and glowing review! We are so happy that you appreciated the intimacy of our resort and were able to relax and rejuvenate during your stay. Our culinary team prides itself with providing high-quality food sourced from local farms so it’s great to hear you enjoyed Chandler’s as well. I feel confident that potential guests will gain valuable insight from this review so we thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you for being a loyal guest - We hope that you visit us again soon. Sincerely, Thomas Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Beautiful property, beautiful room, beautiful location. It had a nice restaurant, gym and pool. Also had live mussic several evenings. Close to town and they have a shuttle to take you. Park is $20/day for self park.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank LynnKayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad_Hilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear LynnKayB,
Thank you for the great review of our resort. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and location. We hope you choose to stay at Cape Rey on your next visit to Carlsbad. Sincerely, Thomas Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Room was not ready when promised/arrived; staff requested phone number to call when ready and then forgot to call us. Hilton's on-line photos intentionally make it appear the hotel is directly on the beach so I was very unhappy to discover a 4-lane, very loud road between us and the beach. We were unable to enjoy the balcony due to the noise. Very disappointing, particularly given that I upgraded to this room FOR the balcony and beach. Of further disappointment were the two, forced-upon me fees of $20 each, of which both are ridiculous, unethical and were not disclosed before I checked out, and then were conspicuously placed during check-out with an intent to be undiscovered (almost hidden) until after commitment to staying there.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank LaRaeS963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeRey_Carlsbad, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear LaRaeS963,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback to our resort although, we regret that you had a less than exceptional experience during your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with our location. Being one of the few resorts located along the coast in North County San Diego, we hope that every guests finds value in being so close to the ocean. We will forward this review to our key departments to see if there are any additional ways we can better communicate our location and resort fees. Sincerely, Thomas Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews