We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rema Resort(Paro)(Great Value!)
US$ 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonam(Paro)(Great Value!)
US$ 52
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 134
BhutanBookings.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BhutanBookings.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
154
129
44
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
129
44
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparo valleyhot stone bathroom was extremely comfortablesteep staircasequaint hotelthin wallsheritage propertybaked beansincredible viewsdirect viewoverlooking the valleyold charmhand paintedtraditional bhutanese stylecentral buildingrooms are smallthe staff was friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is beautiful, gracious, elegant, relaxed, atmospheric, friendly, and well-equipped. Get out your dictionary to list all the high points and then match them up with Bhutan.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEBBEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Gangtey Palace is a 100 year old building on a hill overlooking Paro town, with very good views of the dzong.
Rooms: beautifully appointed with antique furniture and a large bathroom. Electric heater and extra blankets.
Food: the usual Bhutanese buffet for tourists, but nice
Extras: complementary wifi

A good choice for Paro.

Room Tip: Top floor facing dzong for good views. We were in 204.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyFeet84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The kindest staff work at the Gangtey Palace. We had a lovely two night stay in one of the coziest rooms ever. Our room was warmed by old rugs, hot water bottles for our bed and was very comfy. Meals were all good and the staff bent over backwards to please you at every turn. The hotel overlooks the Paro valley, just minutes from the airport but don't worry, very few planes go in and out of Paro. Don't miss the small temple in the top of the tower cared for by a wonderful family who live right next store to the hotel. Definitely a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank funrazher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a very nice and atmospheric place to stay in Paro. The hotel is perched high above the town with commanding views of the Dzong and the valley below. Rooms are large and traditional with much colour and squeaky floorboards, so don't expect an anodyne international standard. Food and service (including hot water bottles in winter) were both very good. The hot stone bath is a must. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasoninNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were booked into Gangtey Palace with our terrific tour company - Lhomen Tours. Fell in love with it!
The architecture is fabulous - especially as it was our introduction to Bhutan. The staff are very nice - the rooms are great - up a small staircase to our huge room overlooking the valley. Spotlessly clean, hot hot water - it was cold in the evening - and we enjoyed our meals - especially adding the local hot pepper dish.
You can walk into town.
A great first night in Bhutan.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews