We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Janka Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Janka Resort
Ranked #23 of 34 Paro B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Overall, a good experience. We spent two nights there in a room in the main building. Comfortable and warm rooms and the hotel is within walking distance (20 mins) of Paro town. Residents can order off the a la carte menu, which gives options beyond the buffet in most tourist restaurants in Bhutan. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are three floors up (no lift), so if you don't like stairs, ask for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
20
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I returned to Janka resort for my second stay, it lived up to my expectations. Again I was travelling with a group and it was high season, The group were very impressed with this family run establishment, the service was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. The food, yes the dreaded buffet, was good with a number of local dishes provided, our group's dietary requirements were catered for - one celiac and three vegetarians.

The stone bath after the hike to the Tiger's Nest was just what was needed, certainly relaxed those tired muscles and bones. Don't forget to order the bath the day before!

The bar, a separate building with a glass wall overlooking the local rice farms was the perfect place for an evening drink before dinner, and a perfect place to meet other travellers and share stories.

Yes, it is out of town but transport is easily enough arranged, or if you are energetic it is "walkable" - about 20-30 minutes interesting walk along the river.

Room Tip: My preference is for a cottage room in the garden but a number of my fellow travellers liked their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb_GMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had little say about specific places to stay in Bhutan (it depends on the influence and quality of your tour opearator), but really enjoyed our stay at the Jankar Resort. Ok not a resort, just a very authentic local guesthouse in the countryside ten minutes drive north of the cosmopolitan centre (no, just small average town) of Paro, the nation's only air entry point. We had a large, extraordinarily large authentic woody room with windows in every direction at the front. Mornings were wonderful, watching the neighbouring farmers spread manure with ox and cart in the morning sun in preparation for spring planting. It was low season (but prime season for festivals in eastern Bhutan where we were headed), so we were the few guests, thus posibly the nice room. It was a bit cold, but the blankets and extra heating were fine. The staff was wonderful. Since we immediately requested local food and had no groups demanding buffet, we had fabulous local fare during our stay. Every dish was fabulous. Often the assumption is that tourists prefer ersatz Indian or Chinese food. I had visited Bhutan five years earlier with a group, and this is what we got...mediocre at best. Bhutanese cuisine is fabulous...green chillis in cheese, potatoes cooked in various ways, locally made dahl. Seems that the tourist authorities have realised this and in may places we were served local fare.

Room Tip: On the top floor toward the front...great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This lovely family owned "resort" is set in the rice paddies a few minutes out of town. so you won't be walking into town. The main building has charming, beautiful rooms, all different sizes, and the "courtyard" rooms are one story, set in a garden, quiet, and peaceful, not quite are architecturally charming, but very modern and comfortable. good bathrooms everywhere, we had a refrig in our room, Wall heaters worked nicely.
Flaky Wifi, they sometimes turn it off at night, so if you are an early riser, beware. Good laundry service. Mediocre food, basic, and adequate breakfast. The granola is really good, the hot cereal is not.
The staff are the high point, they are very friendly and helpful and anxious to please. a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
325 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

A really nice looking hotel with traditional style. our cottage wasn't very soundproofed from the next door rooms. heating provided was fine and beds were comfortable. nice bathroom too. the dreaded buffet food though. basic breakfast. no bar, only the dining room upstairs in the main building. laundry was efficient. a fair way out of town,not really walking distance

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
0.0 km away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
#15 of 16 in Paro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 km away
Namsey Chholing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Peaceful Resort
Peaceful Resort
#15 of 36 in Thimphu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 km away
Galing Resort
Galing Resort
#13 of 34 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 km away
Tashi Namgay Resort
Tashi Namgay Resort
#2 of 34 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janka Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janka Resort

Property: Janka Resort
Address: Nemjo Janka, Luni Gewog, Paro, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,086 - ₹ 3,355
Hotel Class:3 star — Janka Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Janka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing