We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Massachusetts,USA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very special place.....”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

La Anita's owner/managers,Pablo and Ana, welcome guests like family. This is a magical place, formerly a macadamia farm owned by Ana's father. It is lush, peaceful, and unique.
Now it has thoughtfully-designed guest cabins, simple yet elegant. The communal dining pavilion allows one to meet the other international guests while enjoying delicious meals of local specialities. Pablo and Ana are a very attractive, lively, and informed couple who share their knowledge of Costa Rica while dining with you. Fruit trees were being planted while we were there in January. The roads to get there are dirt and rutted but take one through the interior countryside far from the honky-tonk coastal resorts. I recommend making the trip during the day. This is the perfect retreat for yoga groups, painting groups, or for just relaxing away from the world where life is once again in balance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cedarsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
50
138
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at four locations throughout Costa Rica on our recent trip there. This place was tops. The owners speak fluent english. The staff was friendly, the food was fantastic. Our last night there we had filet mignon, sangria and hearts of palm salad. Perfect. We shared this meal with the owners and other travelers and shared stories of our travels.

When we weren't eating, we were napping on the hammock on our porch or hiking the nearby volcanoes or getting muddy at local hot springs (of which there are a number to choose).

The cabins were clean and spacious. I was surprised that we didn't have to deal with a single mosquito or bug inside the cabin. Outside was a different story...but it is the rainforest.

The only regret I have about my stay here is that I wish we had booked our stay directly through La Anita Ranch because it would have been more economical and we would have been able to plan our activities better and learn about the different options available to us. Next time...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

An absolute one of a kind experience that should not be missed. Pablo & Ana are the owners of La Anita, and they open up their farm to you as if you're family. As mentioned, the cabins are simple but beautiful, spacious and comfortable; you truly feel as if you're in nature, while staying in your rooms - complete with showers of rain at night and waking up to birds singing.
The grounds are gorgeous - so lush and diverse -- and with that said, it's not surprise that the food is unbelievably good. We had breakfast & dinner there everyday, and it was incredible. Simple & local but delicious.

Yes, the drive to get there is a bit bumpy and rough, especially if you're accustomed to American roads, but note to driver -- get a 4x4 SUV and just drive fast, because driving slower on the bumps won't make it better. However, once you're there, it's all worth it.

I recommend emailing Pablo & Ana prior to your arrival and letting them know what you're interested in doing on your visit -- whether it's walking around the grounds at La Anita, or going ziplining, to mud baths, hiking, etc., as it will allow them time to coordinate your schedule.

They are amazing hosts, whom we felt were friends by the time we left. The pricing for accommodations and food was very reasonable and the experience cannot be rivaled in my opinion. Hopefully, we will make it back there! For reference, it's about an hour and a half to 2 hour drive from Liberia, all paved roads until the last 20-30 minutes.

Last thing, buy their coffee beans & some Lizano. Trust me, they're both delicious and you'll want them when you get home!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at La Anita and cannot say enough about the wonderful hospitality of Paola and Ana, the owners. The cabinas were comfortable with rocking chair and hammocks on the porch. And did I mention the food? One night we had corvina with a basil pesto sauce and the next pork chops with a balsalmic vinegar reduction! I mean REALLY! We went horseback riding in the rainforest one afternoon and spent a very enjoyable afternoon in the Las Hornillas Hot Springs the next. I could have easily spent a week just relaxing on the porch. This place is a do not miss. Thanks again to Ana and Paolo for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janethitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My wife and I are concluding a three week stay in Costa Rica. We had a beach front house on Cabo Matapolo, stayed in a luxurious resort hotel near Tamarindo, a tree top B&B near Saint Elena and a resort near the base of Volcan Arenal. Our favorite place was Finca La Anita. It's a ways away from the tourist bustle. There are no zip lines and no tour buses. There are beautiful grounds on a working farm, very clean and comfortable cabins, great food and two of the best hosts you could hope for. For a quiet stay in a beautiful location, we would highly recommend Finca La Anita. It was a treat to meet a young industrious and very personable family willing to share their lives with us on a farm in Costa Rica. We rate the location as excellent because that is part of the experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbr95404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
19.7 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,329 reviews
19.6 km away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
459 reviews
31.4 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
671 reviews
11.1 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
981 reviews
19.9 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Property: La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Address: 500 Metros Este De La Iglesia Catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,841 - ₹ 7,060
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing