We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is good, but the access is FANTASTIC!”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May on a motorcycle trip along the PCH. The hotel is by the ocean - right next to it! And the price was great for the location. We didn't stay in the room much, but did so much just outside of the hotel. We arrived at 6PM and checked in. We ate at the Moonstone Bar and Grill next door which is a great restaurant where you can dine outside and see the ocean and the sunset. We then went back to the hotel and sat outside on the huge chairs they have all around the property. We sat in front of the hotel and watched the sunset while sipping libations. It was beautiful. Then we crossed the street from the hotel and went along the ocean path at dusk. Saw the seals playing with each other and enjoyed the moonlit night along the water. I say that this is a wonderful place and Helga at the front desk is very helpful. The rooms are not much in the way of amenities but who cares! There is a fridge, cable television a shower with soaps and shampoos as well as a heater. The WiFi is fast and strong. The bed is firm! There is a heated pool and a jacuzi. The grounds are clean and pretty. Plenty of parking. Get a room on the 2nd floor where you can see the ocean too but you won't be in your room much.

Loved it here and will stay again. The price is too good for the location. Other places were sold out and were over $200. This place was under $150 and some rooms were under $120.

Room Tip: Room 2 has the best view of the ocean but rooms 3 through 10 are all very good with a great view as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jhollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Jholinger,

Thank you staying at Castle Inn and for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel, the service, the location and the value we offer our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Cambria.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Castle Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 513 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from a night here with our grandson so we could hunt for moonstones on the beach and search the tide pools. What lovely people run this motel, I don't think even the Ritz has a manager as good as this. Although simple and small, the location couldn't be better and the view exquisite (and I live in Santa Barbara). Close enough to walk to a nice restaurant open for 3 meals a day. Right across the street from the boardwalk that runs along the cliffs and leads down to the beach. Just perfect!

Room Tip: They will tell you which rooms have a straight on ocean view and which have a partial so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kstmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor Users. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, it's convenient location to Moonstone Beach, the Boardwalk, the Tide Pools as well as the guest services team. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Castle Inn by the Sea Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in at The Castle Inn - a more perfect location we couldn't have asked for! We love the ocean - and that was what we found right outside the door and across the street. A fine wooden boardwalk zig-zags its way through the coastal vegetation and offer you beautiful ocean vistas and first-hand sights of seals splashing in the water. From the tidy and flower filled garden in front of the motel big wooden sun-chairs beg to unwind with a coffee or glass of wine while listening to the lapping water and watching the breathtaking sunsets - absolutely lovely!

Although Castle Inn is a typical American-style two-story modern motel, it has an immediate good feel about it. Everything is very well kept, the rooms of a nice size, well-appointed and with a light and airy atmosphere and the gardens/parking area spacy with lovely flowerbeds and a small inviting pool-area. Everything seemed to be updated and very well looked after. We were allocated a spacy room with two queen beds and a partial ocean view from the window and outdoor combi passage/balcony.

Castle Inn is a perfect choice for an overnight stay if travelling the legendary Highway 1. We came from Monterey while Solvang was our next day destination - and both drives were pleasant and reasonable distances to cover, so as an convenient overnight stop between these two locations Castle Inn couldn't be better. And being located right on the coast you are given a perfect opportunity to enjoy one of those fabulous Pacific sunsets. Also perfect location for visiting nearby Hearst Castle - a "must" according to my humble opinion. Allow min. 3 hrs. and well worth to make a reservation prior to to avoid waiting lines.

Castle Inn doesn't have a restaurant but offers a simple breakfast to start you well off the day - but you can find several nice restaurants few minutes’ walk from the motel as Moonstone Beach offers a long row of hotels/motels/restaurants. We walked the stretch and did likewise find a step down to a very nice beach tempting for strolls and to enjoy a sundowner on one of the many benches dotting this area.

We'll be happy to return to Castle Inn and are pleased to recommend it to future guests.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are good - and they do all seem to face more or less towards the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Cambria is expensive if you want a beachside location - compared to other hotels the price was good. Adequate cold breakfast and pleasant rooms with little road noise. Our trip was made magic by seeing elephant seals nearby with their new born pups. I gather the hotel has recently re-opened under new owner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inigo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A week after the New Year was a slow week in Cambria, so there were not too many tourists in the city in general or at this particular property.
We had a 2-queen beds room on the first floor. The room was amazingly clean. I mean, super-clean. Nice towels, soaps, shampoo etc. There is a mini-fridge (which is very handy when travelling with small kids) and a coffee-maker in a room. The room itself was rather small, but we did not stay indoors much. There were plenty of extra pillows and blankets. The mattresses were rather on a hard side, which did not work out for me - I had a backpain in the morning. There is no heater or AC in the room, but there is a heater in the shower: we had to turn it on to heat up a room a bit in the evening, as it gets really cold during winter-time.
The breakfast, which is served in a <breakfast room> consists of prepacked 4 kinds of cereals, fresh fruits (apples, bananas, oranges), muffins/scones/, coffee, tea, orange juice/milk. You can either eat it right there or take it with you to the room on a tray.

The hotel is conveniently located at Moonstone Beach at the <hotel row>. It's right across the stairs that lead to the tidepool (when there is a low tide).

Anyway, we had a great time here in January, during the low, slow season.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.7 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
535 reviews
0.2 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
942 reviews
0.1 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 6620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: ₹ 7,742 - ₹ 16,968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was one of the very first motels built along the Cambria coast when cattle still roamed on Moonstone Beach Drive. The property boasts one of the best geographical locations on the beach. Right in front of the lodge are amazing tide pools to discover sealife, gorgeous lookouts, Leffingwell Landing Park and a wide-open beach upon which to stroll. The grounds at the Inn are broad and situated with comfortable sitting areas for enjoyable ocean viewing and people-watching. All of the guestrooms offer views of the ocean, but the upstairs rooms provide an excellent vantage point to watch the daily sunsets. The rooms at Castle Inn are simple but more than adequate to provide a wonderful stay at the beach. It is our intention to make the property one of the best values along Moonstone Beach and a great option for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn By The Sea Hotel Cambria
Castle Hotel Cambria
Castle Motel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing