We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
44
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This place is about 5 years old, fully modern, but successfully designed to reflect the historic character of the house that used to stand on the site. Our room was well equipped, extremely clean, and very comfortable, as were the common areas. The period bathroom with claw foot tub was immaculate, a pleasant place to spend time. The food and service by the proprietors were top notch, and they added a very personal touch to their interactions with guests that should be welcomed by folks familiar with B & Bs. With only 3 guest rooms, it's a very cozy setting, and getting to know other guests was an easy pleasure. Location close to town was great, it was possible to walk into town, but without sidewalks or street lights at night, the walk leaves room for future improvement.

My one suggestion to the owners would be to consider introducing zoned climate control. I gather there was a bit of a battle going on at night between people freezing on the ground floor from anemic heat air pressure and those on the second floor boiling over. But, we plan to stay there again. Its wasn't cheap at nearly $200/night with high season rates, so we may look for off-season rates for future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanguard52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had such a great stay at Fog's End. One night was not enough. We were welcomed with wine and cheese and great conversation with the inkeepers, Jan & Jim. What a relaxing view overlooking their mini vinyard in the back yard. After a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed and spotless room, we enjoyed a great breakfast ... with freshly laid eggs from their chickens! What a delightful B & B ... we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Woods62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Like so many others, we can't wait to return to this spotless "home away from home." From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel like family members. We happened to be visiting when the hosts' family was there as well due to a holiday, yet we were never slighted in their attention to us. We were made to feel as welcome as family in every way. We visited for hours during the wonderful hors d'oeuvres. And the food was so excellent, one night we didn't even go out for dinner. The beautiful, warm, inviting living room and meeting room made us want to linger. Champagne was served our first night because it was our anniversary, with the rest shared at breakfast the next morning. Jim and Jan delighted us with the history of the restoration, and with great recommendations in town. Bikes are part of the amenities provided, so we took a lovely run along a back road. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Jim and Jan, owners of this B & B run a beautiful establishment. We had the upstairs suite that had room for three guests and our own spacious private bathroom. On the landing outside the room was a guest library, comfortable couches, and a computer for guests' use. There were two additional guest room downstairs and a nice common room where we had breakfast. Jan made delicious breakfasts for us each morning and never the same thing. in the evening she served some light finger food and wine. A small frig held soda for our use. This is a newly built house with spacious grounds, two dogs (Chandler loves attention) and chickens running around the house. We had their fresh eggs for breakfast! Within walking distance to town and all the restaurants and shops, but you are looking at fields and mountains for the front porch (with a swing) view. We were visiting the Hearst Castle in San Simeon and this was about 10 minutes away by car. Jim and Jan are gracious and welcoming, making this B & B very inviting. My wife is more of a B & B person than I am, having had some less than wonderful experiences, and I would without hesitation go back to Fog's End.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Joe and Jan have created a modern, super comfortable masterpiece. No creaky floors. No noisy pipes. No bathrooms down the hall. No random drafts. Or overgrown vines. Just a beautiful, comfortable, very functional, well-tended and appropriately private home for us to share. Quite an accomplishment. It is even nicer because Jan is such a great cook.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hummingbird92662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews