We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, as usual!”
Review of Cambria Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambria Shores Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our 13th stay at Cambria Shores. We started coming here several years ago, lured by the location and the dog friendly policy. Although this is an older, u-shaped motel property, it underwent a major renovation 2 years ago, so all rooms have new baths, furnishings, fireplaces and flat screen tvs. Most rooms have a partial ocean view. The redo added 2 rooms at the end of the north wing, with room 25 having an inside door to 24, to afford a suite configuration. We stayed in 25 this week, a more spacious room with 2 exterior doors, one to a private patio with table and chairs. 25 has the most panoramic ocean view. All of the units on the north wing have private rear patios with partial ocean view, but most patrons seem to prefer the community areas, with adirondack chairs, to have their dogs intermingle. The remodel included a complete landscaping, using many native plant species that bloom in different parts of the year. Still has plenty of grass for your dog to roll in. Location is ideal, about midway along Moonstone Beach, and just steps from the seaside boardwalk. Breakfast (oj, fruits, scones and muffins) are delivered in a basket, and hung outside your room promptly at 8am. (Bagels were provided at one time, I wish they would return to this.) Good gourmet coffee is always available in the lobby, as are daytime cookies; 5pm happy hour cheese, crackers and vegetables; and evening brownies. If one prefers not to drive to dinner, two good restaurants are a short walk away.
My wife and I have traveled extensively, and have stayed at many varying types of accomodations. But there is something that is very special about Cambria Shores, from the quiet, comfortable rooms, the fabulous scenery to the wonderful hosts and staff that always treat us as old friends. We depart sadly from here, but look forward to the next visit. Our dog feels the same way.

Room Tip: The remodel was done in phases. Rooms on the south wing were first, and have showers only. The north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SantaClaritaWinedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

We were looking for a good location, close to hearst castle , close to the water and that can accommodate 3adults in one room. We read all the review for this inn on trip advisor and were not dissapointed . The location is very good. The inn is lovely, and the service is very good. We booked the mini suite behind the front desk. Since we were there for only one night there really was no need to splurge on sea view, and we veer pleasantly surpized that they have a couple of lovely spots to sit by a table and have the fantastic view at sunset. The room was very nice, it did accommodate the three of us, a bit tight but ok for one night. It was a bit noisy until all the guests checked in. Since it's a small inn it didn't take too long. I would recommend this place if you are looking for a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay close to hearst castle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Canada209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have been traveling to Cambria for the past 16yrs. We found this place last year when we decided to travel with our dog. This place is wonderful, very clean and comfortable. The staff is so very friendly and helpful. Even if not traveling with my dog in tow i will stay here. I have stayed here twice now and totally love it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here for four nights, and were very happy. Rooms very clean, bed and pillows comfortable, newly renovated with lots of nice features (we were impressed with the pebble floored bathroom and the waterfall shower head). There are around a dozen similar motels along the beach here, and we found this one to be the most reasonably priced, but the service was top notch, and there was absolutely nothing to complain about.

That said, we had a family of four in a double queen room and we were a little tight. Room size is about average, but we often find with teenagers a suite works better, so the problem is more of us finding the most suitable room than the room being at all small. In this case we gave up the extra room we usually look for in order to stay in this most beautiful location without breaking the bank.

This hotel is one of the only pet friendly ones, but you would never tell in the rooms. They do a good job establishing the rules with pet-toting guests, and it was quite fun checking out all the happy little pooches leading their humans around by the leash.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnJmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Conveniently located across the street from the beach and the boardwalk. A lovely place to have a glass of wine and watch the sun set on the ocean. The little kitchenette was a nice ammenity along with the bottle opener and wine glasses. We enjoyed the gas fireplace and whirlpool tub. The continental breakfast served to our room in a basket was a great way to start our day!

Note: the rooms all have any ocean view, but it is across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MLSBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.7 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.3 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
1.2 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
978 reviews
0 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
838 reviews
3.4 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Shores Inn

Address: 6276 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price Range: ₹ 9,873 - ₹ 19,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cambria Shores Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA Three Diamond Property. All of our rooms have custom furniture, flat screen TVs, upgraded white linens and amenities. All rooms have rain showers and / or soaking tubs and deluxe rooms have whirlpool baths. Come relax in our beautiful rooms, and enjoy our amazing succulent gardens. Attention all Dog Lovers... We are one of the Top 46 Fido Friendly Hotels reviewed on their world tour in 2008. We are very proud of our V.I.P. program, amenities, special attention and love your 4 legged family receives. Four paws up! We do have three rooms set aside for people that do not have dogs, or have severe allergies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cambria Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Shores Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing