We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ouch !”
Review of Little Sur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Sur Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ouch !”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Little Sur Inn recently , and are still feeling pain from the uncomfortable, very firm beds. Price was great for the room, lovely room with fireplace , helpful desk staff , nice breakfast....probably will not return due to sleep discomfort.....

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with partial ocean view are a good choice, or if you can afford it, the front oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Annie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
We are sorry to hear of your discomfort with the mattress in your room. Little Sur Inn takes the quality of each of our guests' stay here very seriously. Only through feedback from our guests are we able to learn where improvements or changes need to be made.

Little Sur Inn had recently purchased new mattresses for the rooms. Upon receiving input from guests such as yourself, we have learned that these mattresses tend to be on the side of too firm for the majority of our guests. We are currently in the process of replacing these mattresses with new ones in order to achieve a level of firmness to appeal to the majority.

We hope that by making this improvement to our rooms that you will again allow us the opportunity to provide you with a more quality and improved expereince in the future. As always, we value and appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Little Sur Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    156
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
110
283
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Little Sur Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday. The room was clean and well maintained and the bathroom was large with great amenities.
We had reserved a room with a partial ocean view, and it had a much better view than we were expecting. A lovely touch was that the room’s heat is maintained by a gas fireplace in the room which we found extremely cozy.
The continental breakfast was just right to start the day with coffee, cereal, toast, juice and a variety of pastries before a walk along the beach.
We found the staff at the front desk to be incredibly friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay at Little Sur Inn during future trips to beautiful Cambria!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimAndDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and both times have been surprised at the rude treatment by the front desk staff. Once my trip was for a family reunion and the other was for a romantic getaway. Not sure why we came back, but I guess the fear of the unknown hotel was was greater than the displeasure of the known hotel. Won't be making that mistake next year when we return.

Rooms are fairly outdated, which is fine, but the price doesn't fall in alignment with the status of the room. I get it, you're ocean front in a quaint little town, but next time, I'd rather just stay inland and not pay the higher rates for subpar rooms and service.

Also, as other visitors noted, the hotel makes no qualms about overcharging your credit card and forcing you to call to argue before "kindly" refunding. I love Cambria, but Little Sur - not so much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lulu_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesurinn, Owner at Little Sur Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
We sent you a message via your TripAdvisor account to give us the specifics of your concerns so that we could properly address them, however, to date we still have not received a response from you.

Little Sur Inn never randomly charges any of our guests' credit cards. As stated on the Registration card you signed at check-in Little Sur Inn is a pet free and smoke free property, any guests' violating these policies will be charged accordingly.

Having 2 of the newest hotels in Cambria, Little Sur Inn was built in 2001 and just celebrated our 10 year anniversary. Being family owned and operated, we take pride in insuring all rooms are clean and fresh at all times, including the exterior. Our pricing has always been in line with other comparable hotel properties in our area.

We apologize that you weren't completely satisfied with your recent visit and hope that you give us an opportunity to provide you with a more memorable experience in the future.

Best Regards,
Little Sur Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

What a find this is! We loved it! Friendly, helpful desk people, immaculate rooms, good location, attractive pricing, continental breakfast that stays open to 10 AM. What more could you want?
But a word on Cambria gas stations: I don't want to say they are gouging people, but both the Chevron and Shell stations in town were charging $4.49 for unleaded gas on the same day I bought it in Morro Bay, 21 miles or 26 minutes away by Highway 1, for $3.91. 58¢ per gallon, really!!

Room Tip: The top of the parking lot, the office, most of the rooms, and any handicapped access is on the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rendahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed two nights in late September, 2011 in one of the upper floor ocean-front rooms. The view of Moonstone Beach was well worth the extra cost. The room itself was large and clean. The bed was okay, but I would have preferred a pillow top over the firm mattress. The bathroom was large with a jetted tub and separate shower stall. The room came equipped with a fridge, small microwave and coffeemaker. The hotel provided a continental breakfast which featured bread (with toaster), small pastries, bagels, cream cheese, assorted jams, instant oatmeal, corn flakes and milk, yogurt, fruit, coffee and orange juice. There are dining tables inside the lobby and a wonderful garden patio outside with additional tables and chairs. The hotel had an excellent Wi-fi signal--an important consideration that is often exaggerated by hotel websites. There is a seafood restaurant next door (we didn't try it) and a bar and grill less than a half-mile down the road. Moonstone Beach has a charming boardwalk alongside the road with many stairway access points to the beach below. We had a great time at the Little Sur Inn and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Upper floor ocean front rooms are worth the extra cost and seemed to stary warm all night long even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali-Beach-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.8 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
0.4 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.3 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
922 reviews
0.5 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sur Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sur Inn

Property: Little Sur Inn
Address: 6190 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,163 - ₹ 25,555
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Sur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Sur Inn is a family-owned oceanfront Hotel located on Moonstone Beach Drive in the resort village of Cambria. We are a pet-free and smoke-free property. Most rooms have either a full ocean view or partial ocean view with a fireplace in every room. Relax in a jacuzzi tub in the full ocean view rooms. Every room has free internet access, Flat Screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Sur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Sur Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing