We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, healing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rigdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rigdon House
Ranked #8 of 24 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A relaxing, healing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights at the Burton Inn in Cambria. We went with a group a friends who had arranged to occupy all the rooms of Burton Inn for this Group Getaway. Burton Inn was the perfect place for us to stay. Located just off Main St. in the East Village of Cambria, it was easy to walk to shops and restaurants whenever we chose. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Terry, the proprietor, went out of her to way to make our stay enjoyable and by the last day we all felt like we were leaving a close friend. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast...delicious scones, bread, muffins, fresh fruit, wonderful oatmeal, juices, coffee and scrambled eggs prepared us with the energy needed to head out for our day's activities of hiking on the beach and bluffs. Each evening we came home to a Social Hour of sipping local wines and a few nibblies.
Terry made recommendations for activities and restaurants. There is a nice parking lot alongside the Inn for easy parking. The wi-fi was fast and reliable. Each room had a small refrigerator, microwave, TV. Our room was located on the backside of the Inn so we did not have any street noise. Some said they could hear the delivery trucks coming into town if they were on the front of the inn. We would not hesitate to recommend this location and would certainly return again.

Room Tip: There are two buildings...the newer building has two room suites that were very spacious. Back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank signora2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    73
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
54
168
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have been traveling to the Central Coast on business for a few years now and Terry & Jim always magically transform these trips into mini vacations. From the moment we walk in the door we feel welcomed and relaxed. The rooms are all large, comfortable and well appointed. The towels are big and fluffy, the beds are dreamy and the water pressure is awesome(very important to us). They have a wonderful employee, Maria, whom we also look forward to visiting with. She makes a great breakfast and always has a cheery smile. There are also some unexpected treats here....social hour in the drawing room starts around 5PM. Guests gather and share their experiences along with some local wine and nibbles. We've met folks from around the world here and always come away with wonderful stories. The location of the Inn, the East Village, affords us an opportunity to step back in time. It's an historic neighborhood and lends itself to wonderfully restored buildings, great shopping and our favorite restaurant....Robin's. If you haven't dined at Robins you are definitely missing something special. We sometimes eat lunch AND dinner there on the same day. Yes, it's that good! The Burton Inn is our kind of place. We cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Terry and Jim make this a destination place. It had been three years since my last visit and they are as charming as ever. The rooms are still fabulous and well appointed. The wine social is always interesting and enjoyable. The location affords easy access to Main Street and its shops and restaurants. It is the only place I stay on my sojourn to the Central Coast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglepaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemah, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The room we had was spacious. The location is close to some tourist shops and acceptable restaurants. It is also fairly close (within about 40 minutes) of several wineries. The internet price we got was on par with the chain brands.

But.... No way is it a 4 star hotel as described by Travelocity. This is a family run business with some quirks.

Here's the rant...

There is NO security. The rooms use metal keys for access. If you check out and the owners don't happen to be around, there's no secure key-drop. You leave the keys at the unattended desk.

The door to our room in the 'newer' section of the inn had no sill or seal around it. One could easily stand on either side of the door jam and look around the door through the cracks. You could actually stand in the hallway and see the bed with the door closed!

While I approve of disinfectants, our room smelled strongly of chlorine bleach. And, there were two light bulbs out in the bath. The dated shower-tub has very high walls. If you have any problems with your hips or knees, this will cause you problems. The bath is straight out of the 70's.

The selection at the breakfast buffet is pretty weak. As well, the owners water their dogs from it. This may seem fine to you dog lovers. But, there's a reason your vet checks your pets for parasites. I don't want dogs being watered from my drinking water source in the area where I eat.

The free wireless internet is slow and has a very week signal. Don't count on using Netflix or doing any serious downloads. There's a meager selection of old videos for free in the lounge, but no books.

Our room was on the front of the building and we got a lot of road noise at all hours.

Next time we're in Cambria, we'll try a different place.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room away from the front of the building. Eat breakfast at the lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryWorldTraveler, Owner at The Rigdon House, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
The Burton Inn is an approved AAA three diamond boutique hotel. We have twelve 600sqft luxury suites and each are provided complete privacy and security. It is with heavy heart that a customer, or worse yet, a competitor would write such a slanderous and malicious review. Their rants are not even original but borrowed from previous reviews written on google and yelp – almost verbatim. None of which are true. We have requested that Trip Advisor maintain the integrity of their site by removing this fraudulent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at the Burton Inn mid-week and had most enjoyable stay. Ideal location - you can walk to a number of very good restaurants close by and enjoy dinner at restaurants and not have to drive back to the hotel. The wine social at 5 pm gave us an opportunity to chat with the owner and meet other guests at the hotel. Continental breakfast the next day was enjoyable. Great place to stay.

The

Room Tip: Room 19 was spacious and quiet. Only draw back was it was on the second floor and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
3.6 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.2 km away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.2 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
3.0 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rigdon House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rigdon House

Property: The Rigdon House
Address: 4022 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-3002 (Formerly Burton Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,242 - ₹ 20,550
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rigdon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famed Cambrian landmark dating back to 1865, The Rigdon House showcases impressive two-room suites with more than 600 square feet of comfortably elegant space, our suites offer guests all the comforts of home. Family suites provide parents and their children uncompromising comfort with private bedrooms and cable TV. Located in the beautiful village of Cambria, The Rigdon House is a delightful hotel, set in the midst of fine dining, shops, and unique galleries. Indulge yourself with the timeless historical elegance of one of the most celebrated hotels in Cambria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rigdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Hotel Cambria
Burton b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing