We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the hotel to stay when you go to Cambria!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“This is the hotel to stay when you go to Cambria!”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have stayed in the Pelicann Inn hotel twice and had an amazing time! The room is big with comfortable beds and great ocean view! The last time I stayed, the jacuzzi wasn't work for a couple of hours and they got us an upgrade to a suite with ocean view! Great staff! And of course, I can't forget to add the complementary wine tasting and desserts at evening served in the dinning room and the continental breakfast! Definitely the best place to stay if you visit Cambria!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina251001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    263
    62
    23
    19
See reviews for
225
578
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My wife and I got to stay at this fantastic hotel for a much needed parent's night out! We had a balcony with an ocean view, wine tasting right after we checked in, and the best breakfast at any hotel we have ever been at. The hotel is directly across from Moonstone Beach and we saw the most amazing sunset. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Pelican Inn. Thank you from two tired parents that have now been revitalized by your great hotel and our special night out.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and watch the sunset over the water from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosleepjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We have stayed here for the last five years. Each time we come back the place gets a little more depreciated and it becomes less of a deal. There is no attention to detail, the towels are threadbare, the furniture old, and when you return to your room and turn on the TV ( not a flatscreen ) you will be watching the Spanish language channel, which makes you wonder what the heck the maid was doing in your room. The beds are just OK, the foyer had dirty floors and the bathroom old, cracked tiles, dripping fire sprinkler, and old old old fixtures. This place needs a million dollar makeover and some contemporary input. Internet worked well, there is little to no cell reception anywhere on Moonstone drive. The staff is friendly and the breakfast / wine hour are very nice. My wife wanted to go somewhere else but as usual I was hard headed and checked in at the Pelican...boy was she right.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us and truly appreciate your comments. As the NEW owners and management of the Pelican Inn & Suites we purchased the property with a full understanding of what needs to be done. Beginning in March every guest room will undergo a transformation with new carpet, drapes, beds, flat screen televisions, linens and more. We look forward to having you return to the NEW Pelican Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Great friendly staff, great breakfast, they are starting a remodel this year which should make things look even better. Gas fireplace is nice amenity for damp foggy mornings. Stay in an ocean view room it is worth the extra money. We stayed for a week and it was worth it. Moonstone beach is wonderful walking everyday.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view but expect a premium price and second floor is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky15465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake havasu, arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have been coming to Cambria for the past 3 years to celebrate our anniversary - this year it was our thirty-first and the best one yet thanks to staying at the Pelican Inn - this was our first time at the Pelican Inn. They provided a wonderful breakfast and in the evenings wine, cheese and dessert. Our accomodations were fantastic - we sat on our balcony -across the street from the ocean and relaxed with the sounds of the ocean and views of fantasic sunsets. We had a fireplace which we did not need as the weather was perfect. We walked across the street and were able to walk along the wooden walkway and see all the wildlife on land and in the ocean and it was also just a short walk into the quaint town of Cambria (make sure you go to Linn's for great pie) The Pelican Inn is FIRST CLASS and has a feel of luxury. A special thanks to the general manager - Mr. Charles Yates as he told us about the elephant seals giving birth just a short drive down the coast - it was amazing. Mr. Yates and the staff at the Pelican helped make our 31st anniversary so very special and we will be back to the Pelican next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.6 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,886 reviews
0.1 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
854 reviews
1.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
312 reviews
0.3 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Inn & Suites

Property: Pelican Inn & Suites
Address: 6316 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Family Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,919 - ₹ 22,099
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one with the sea at our coastal retreat, located just off scenic Highway 1, the gateway to Big Sur. Our Cambria vacation packages offer a variety of ways to simply let go and relax on the shores of Moonstone Beach. Indulge in pampering seaside accommodations with private terraces and spectacular ocean views and enjoy hot breakfast every morning, among other perks. Our hotel provides easy access to beautiful beaches, renowned wineries, exquisite eateries and even the legendary Hearst Castle, the inspiration behind the movie Citizen Kane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Pelican Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Cambria
Pelican Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing