We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air con = no sleep”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very unique. Still uses keys (not cards) for room entry. The rooms were large with a real vintage beachy style.
Worth noting that there was no one at the hotel overnight.
The biggest issue we had was no air con so it was impossible to sleep in the warm weather, I was actually debating going to sleep in the car with the ac on.
Breakfast was ok, I didn't appreciate the tip jar on the side for the woman making waffles, just made it feel a bit cheap (which is definitely NOT what I would say about the hotel as it cost a small fortune).
The welcome was super friendly, the lady who checked us in was such a delight, she was the highlight of our stay.
Sadly the lack of sleep means we wouldn't return or recommend to others.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robynprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. You must have been here during our recent heat wave! It was definitely not a normal situation and there are few places in Cambria that ever need air conditioning, but this last wave has us reevaluating that for the future. If you need a fan, we do have those available. Many guests asked us about tipping the breakfast cook, so we just offered a way to do that for those who wish to, nothing is expected from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed here on labor day weekend and had the front room with patio looking over the beach. It was fairly expensive but worth it if you like to sit watching the water,sunset,surfers,cars,walkers along beach. At night the sound of waves were comforting. It was a hot weekend so we slept with slider door open. The room, while not over the top, was clean and the bed good. The TV was not HD so I needed to get use to viewing. We spent most time outside. They provide a breakfast from 7:30-9. The food was fresh. Oatmeal and fresh fruit and made to order waffles were a hit. We got out breakfast and went back to our patio to enjoy the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. There is nothing quite as special as those ocean front rooms for the full experience! Breakfast can always be taken back to your room to enjoy, and believe us, that heat wave was quite unusual! We all were surprised by it and we do have fans for guests who need them, just check with the front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

+ Perfect location right at the sea / beach
+ Lovely rooms with authentic interior
+ Friendly staff
+ Free parking right at the hotel

- Bit too expensive
- Breakfast can be improved (choice and capacity)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank petersuperior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We offer our continental breakfast as a complimentary addition to your stay. For those in search of a more robust selection, we are happy to recommend local restaurants which do amazing breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Found this gorgeous Inn on booking.com and was not disappointed with our last minute booking.
Beautiful seaside village, location, Inn, rooms were excellent - very modern with amazing views. Breakfast was really good and foc. Directly opposite the beach where you can watch the surfers we were lucky enough to be in Cambria on Farmers Market day where we bought fresh produce & wine to have a picnic. Was one of our favourite stops and one we would definitely go back to!
Staff were really nice too

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. Cambria is a delightful discovery and we are pleased your journey brought you here. Sounds like your honeymoon was a fun adventure, that seems like a good omen for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

A very charming hotel, just by the ocean. Easy access parking, comfortable beds, lovely decor. The breakfast was ok, but the breakfast room was way too small. There was a very nice lady in the reception who greeted us kindly at our arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review of Sand Pebbles Inn. We had no idea we would be so popular for breakfast when we decided to offer waffles to our guests. We offer a complimentary breakfast, but when the breakfast room is crowded, you can always take it back and enjoy in your own room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
0.7 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.6 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
599 reviews
0.2 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,158 reviews
3.4 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: ₹ 8,227 - ₹ 19,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing