We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Sand Pebbles Inn is perfect in every way. We stayed in #219 - a corner room with a full view of the ocean. The Inn is very clean, the beds are very comfortable, the shower head delivers a wonderful shower, the fireplace makes the room cozy and the cookies and chocolates left in the room were delicious. The in was very, very quiet. The complimentary full breakfast is the best I have had at an inn (other than traditional bed and breakfast places). There were waffles cooked to order, scones, pastries, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, many different kinds of cereal, bananas and other fresh fruit (strawberries and melons). Coffee is first rate and a delightful choice of teas of the very best brand. The staff is friendly and helpful. Look no farther - this is the best place to stay in Cambria. There are six rooms with a full ocean view and if available, those are the rooms you should book. However, because the Inn is just across the street from the beautiful Moonstone Beach, even without an ocean view, you are close and can just walk outside and across the street to soak up the views. Be sure to take walks along Moonstone Beach on the two mile boardwalk and then take an easy access to the beach and look for beautiful rocks. Try to time your walks with low tide as you will see many more rocks.

Room Tip: There is a room map on the web site to help you choose the rooms. Also, if you call the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellowmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkEads, General Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Mellowmax,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at Sand Pebbles Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
The Team at Sand Pebbles inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    198
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
189
442
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

I was looking for an inn near Hearst Castle and found the Sand Pebble Inn by using the Internet and Trip Advisor reviews. The place is absolutely charming and right across the street from Moonstone Beach. Our room was beautiful, with a gas fireplace that made the room nice and toasty on a chilly March night. The bathroom was huge and was supplied with very high end products. Breakfast (all cold - except for freshly made waffles) while not hugely elaborate, was very satisfactory and made an already good value a really excellent value. I don't know if they always offer rooms for $124, but it was worth every penny! In addition, Cambria is a lovely town. I'm sorry we didn't have more time to explore. Note that the inn is not walking distance to the area of town with shops and restaurants.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StarlightCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We came for our anniversary and had a magnificent time in Cambria. The complimentary breakfast offered by Sand Pebbles Inn is a plus, there is a wide variety of items to choose from. Location is perfect right across from the boardwalk.

Room Tip: We had a room with limited view but it did not matter because right across the street you have the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHC380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Had a perfect two days. Quite cold so the fireplace was perfect. Chocolate and cookies each night as well as a wonderful breakfast. The sunset on Moonstone beach is great as well as the walks to see the Otters and the drive to San Simeon to see the Elephant Seals. Our second time at Sand Pebbles and will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Excellent service from reservation to check-out. Beautiful location steps from the beach - love the noise of the waves. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff had nice little touches all around - afternoon drinks in the lobby, cookies and chocolate in the room, and flashlights for late-night beach walks. We ate at the Sea Chest down the street on the desk clerk's recommendation and it was superb. Fruit and freshly made waffles in the morning topped off our visit. Very reasonable price off-season and convenient to Hearst Castle. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BicoastalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.7 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.4 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 6252 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,281 - ₹ 20,980
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated atop Moonstone Beach, the rooms and accommodations at Sand Pebbles Inn are perfectly appointed for all types of travelers. Our location is situated right off famed California Highway One, and convenient for people traveling up or down this magnificent coastline. Families or friends will find our mid-scale boutique property wonderfully convenient to everything Cambria and the Central Coast has to offer, including world famous Hearst Castle, just ten minutes to the north. Our staff will happily share local knowledge to help you discover the lesser-known Cambria attractions. Our full oceanview rooms provide the most extensive views of the Pacific Ocean and Moonstone Beach. Most rooms have partial ocean views and are only steps from the two-mile boardwalk overlooking the beach, tide pools, and daring surfers. The property is tastefully appointed with coastal influences and treasures found on the beach. Settle into our pillowy soft beds and enjoy a movie from our collection of free titles. Laugh with your family as you play a game of Monopoly from our selection of board games. No matter what your reasons are for visiting Cambria, Sand Pebbles Inn will surely add to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Cambria
Sand Pebbles Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing