We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The staff and amenities are great. The only downside is there is no ocean view. The bathroom was a little odd with no closure to the room over the jet tub. A screen of some sort should be available. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SpainTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We decided to stay in Cambria to see Hearst Castle when Irma changed our plans for West Palm Beach. We will definitely stay here again. The staff was great and the room was terrific. The sound of the ocean coming through our windows all night made for a restful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johndX2566MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We live in Cambria but are doing a remodel so needed a room as our power was off. The room was very nice and clean. Check in was very easy and the staff was friendly and accommodating. They welcome you with chocolate chip cookies yummy! They have a wine bar downstairs and included a coupon for 2 glasses of complimentary wine but we were unable to make it down. We did however use the lovely rooftop jacuzzi. There is also a steam room up there but it was incredibly hot in there. Next time we stay (which is next week) I am booking a massage in their spa. We have stayed in other hotels in Cambria that have ocean views but El Colibri has made up for their lack of views in many other ways and they are literally a stones throw away from the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melindab747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We chose El Colibri based on its small town, ocean location and proximity to the Central Coast wine country. We booked a King Suite via phone. We had our choice of rooms at booking and requested a 2nd floor, corner unit. Upon arrival, only 1st floor rooms were available. The rooms are "tired", and fresh air would be nice to enjoy overnight, but we couldn't leave 1st fl windows open for security. No safe and beds in need of replacement. For $270/night, you can find better.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 796jayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy L, General Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thanks so much for selecting our hotel and spa and for sharing your feedback.

We do share at check-in that we strive for your stay to be perfect and are available for assistance 24/7 for questions or concerns.

My apologies your expectations were not exceeded. The hotel is 8 years new and we just completed a lovely complete refurbishment of all carpet and guestrooms in June- perhaps not quite to your taste.

On your return please feel free to join other guests to swing open those windows to enjoy the ocean air and wonderful sights and sounds of nature as the first floor is 4-7 feet above ground.

Safe is available on request as well:))

Take care and thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.
Cathy
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We loved El Colibri. It's well named, hummingbirds are often busy in the trees near the door. We were attracted by its decor but afraid it would be too costly, then to our surprise it was quite reasonable with a web discount. Our king deluxe room was huge, super quiet and comfy and super clean. El Colibri is also right on the board walk, wonderful for taking a walk to Moonstone Beach, and it's also the most convenient of all the Moonstone lodgings if you want to walk into Cambria town for a great dinner or tasty breakfast (although I think the quiche on Colibri menu is delicious and a bargain compared to getting the same quiche in town). This place had a discreet and deluxe, atmosphere, romantic and yet it woould also be tasteful for business people or families. Desk staff was super friendly and informed. We vastly preferred its atmosphere to lounging around the pool with a bunch other people with drinks in our hands... We wished we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lilawheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
596 reviews
1.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
1.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,150 reviews
2.5 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,857 reviews
1.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Colibri Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colibri Hotel and Spa

Address: 5620 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: ₹ 8,662 - ₹ 16,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Colibri Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your El Colibri Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colibri Hotel Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing