We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
493
212
72
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
212
72
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barunderground parkingsteam roomfree glass of winemoonstone beachhearst castlebeautiful hotelshort walk to the beachmain streetnight staya lovely stayour honeymoonenjoyed our staystaff was very friendly and helpfulget awaypaso robleswe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We decided to stay in Cambria to see Hearst Castle when Irma changed our plans for West Palm Beach. We will definitely stay here again. The staff was great and the room was terrific. The sound of the ocean coming through our windows all night made for a restful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johndX2566MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We live in Cambria but are doing a remodel so needed a room as our power was off. The room was very nice and clean. Check in was very easy and the staff was friendly and accommodating. They welcome you with chocolate chip cookies yummy! They have a wine bar downstairs and included a coupon for 2 glasses of complimentary wine but we were unable to make it down. We did however use the lovely rooftop jacuzzi. There is also a steam room up there but it was incredibly hot in there. Next time we stay (which is next week) I am booking a massage in their spa. We have stayed in other hotels in Cambria that have ocean views but El Colibri has made up for their lack of views in many other ways and they are literally a stones throw away from the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melindab747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We chose El Colibri based on its small town, ocean location and proximity to the Central Coast wine country. We booked a King Suite via phone. We had our choice of rooms at booking and requested a 2nd floor, corner unit. Upon arrival, only 1st floor rooms were available. The rooms are "tired", and fresh air would be nice to enjoy overnight, but we couldn't leave 1st fl windows open for security. No safe and beds in need of replacement. For $270/night, you can find better.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 796jayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy L, General Manager at El Colibri Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thanks so much for selecting our hotel and spa and for sharing your feedback.

We do share at check-in that we strive for your stay to be perfect and are available for assistance 24/7 for questions or concerns.

My apologies your expectations were not exceeded. The hotel is 8 years new and we just completed a lovely complete refurbishment of all carpet and guestrooms in June- perhaps not quite to your taste.

On your return please feel free to join other guests to swing open those windows to enjoy the ocean air and wonderful sights and sounds of nature as the first floor is 4-7 feet above ground.

Safe is available on request as well:))

Take care and thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.
Cathy
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We loved El Colibri. It's well named, hummingbirds are often busy in the trees near the door. We were attracted by its decor but afraid it would be too costly, then to our surprise it was quite reasonable with a web discount. Our king deluxe room was huge, super quiet and comfy and super clean. El Colibri is also right on the board walk, wonderful for taking a walk to Moonstone Beach, and it's also the most convenient of all the Moonstone lodgings if you want to walk into Cambria town for a great dinner or tasty breakfast (although I think the quiche on Colibri menu is delicious and a bargain compared to getting the same quiche in town). This place had a discreet and deluxe, atmosphere, romantic and yet it woould also be tasteful for business people or families. Desk staff was super friendly and informed. We vastly preferred its atmosphere to lounging around the pool with a bunch other people with drinks in our hands... We wished we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lilawheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay at El Colibri Hotel and Spa! It was very hot in Cambria during our stay and the first room we were given had a weak air-conditioner, so they gave us an upgraded room because they wanted us to "be happy"! :-) Air-conditioning worked very well in that one. Best spa and steam room we've ever experienced. Love the location close to the West Village and shops and restaurants and an easy walk on the walkway to Moonstone Beach. Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V9691XCdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews