We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Done Right!”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Done Right!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Fogcatcher Inn in Cambria does it ALL right! Pleasant staff at check in (plus two cookies this time). Clean! Comfortable beds! Good included breakfast! Great location! Near to very nice restaurants in downtown Cambria. Close to Hearst Castle! This is our "go to" place to stay each time that we get to visit Cambria and the California Central Coast!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatDarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    544
    141
    55
    22
See reviews for
592
880
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

It was so nice to check in after a grueling day of driving and be met with such warmth, friendliness, and enthusiasm. Our room was nice, though it felt a bit small and tight. We put on the gas fireplace in the morning, which was charming (and warmed the room up, of course). The beds were too squishy for my taste.

The complimentary continental was exceptionally good (make-your-own waffles, eggs, potatoes, sausage, etc.), with a good-sized breakfast area.

The pool and the hot tub were both pretty dirty, with sand in the pool and tub, and gross, yellowy junk in the hot tub froth. I'm sure it's hard to keep these clean when people are walking on the beach, wearing sunscreen, then coming back and getting in the water, so maybe the hotel needs to add a rinse-off shower to the pool area.

The reason to stay here, of course, is for the wonderful coast across the street.

I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Von_Shmavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A fabulous Inn. Beautifully decorated and very spacious rooms. Our family of 4 only stayed 1 night, but would have enjoyed more time. Location across the street from Moonstone Beach is incredible. Quiet and very clean our evening was perfect. The included breakfast was delicious. A huge assortment of foods and drinks. The Fog Catcher Inn is the place to stay. Thanks to Jane and all the friendly employees!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiritHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed two days after coming from the Bacara Santa Barbara on a road trip up the coast. We had no expectations but from the moment we called there was a confidence we found the right place. It's not Bacara but its not trying to be. It's quant and charming which is not code for old and small. Our room had a fireplace and sitting area... We really just enjoyed the slower less pretentious 4-5 star feel of this hotel...and we felt the price was really fair too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losjacksons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The staff was very professional and kind. It was like being on a honeymoon. The large king ocean view room with a fireplace was warm, so clean, and inviting after a busy day of sightseeing. Each time we returned, we found another towel animal on our bed. We particular liked the swans in a heart. So sweet.

The hot breakfast was included and very good. Furniture was a little older but quaint and comfortable.

We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
834 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,647 - ₹ 24,003
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing