We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly as Promised and Reviewed”
Review of Blue Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exactly as Promised and Reviewed”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our one night visit to the Blue Dolphin Inn as part of our visit to nearby Hearst Castle. We chose the Blue Dolphin strictly based on Tripadvisor reviews (as we now do for most of our travel). We could not have had a better visit. Our arrival was met by an extremely welcoming and informative front desk clerk who detailed our visit and surrounding points of interests, including several restaurant selections. Our room was ready and available. I had pre-ordered wine and a cheese/fruit platter which were waiting in our room. They were both excellent. We had selected (and I recommend) a room with an ocean view. Being able to open the window and be literally a stone's throw from the ocean was remarkable. We sat at our window with our wine and watched the sunset. Picture perfect would be an underestimate. There may be less expensive spots along the beach in Cambria but I cannot imagine a better experience. Our fellow reviewers were right on with their reviews. I did note a few older "less then thrilled" posts but whatever issues the Blue Dolphin may have had (if any) are non-existent now. Throw in a nice breakfast delivered as promised to our room and there is no issue on giving this establishment five stars. If going to Hearst Castle (about 6 miles north), give yourself about 30 minutes just to be safe if you are taking a pre-arranged tour. We did not explore much of the small town but it looked very nice and had we more time we would have explored it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FellowTraveler604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    157
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
110
584
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We came to this area for a weekend wedding and this was the only place that would give us a one night stay on the weekend. The room had a beautiful ocean view and breakfast was included. WiFi is free too! We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Another delightful find thanks to TA. We stayed at Blue Dolphin on the last night of our USA holiday and we wanted something memorable, which we achieved!

The check-in staff (Mallory?) was very helpful, showing us the features and workings of our room and suggesting dinner options. We stayed in the Estero Bay room, with fabulous views over the ocean from our patio, and a stunning sunset.

The room had very superior furnishing, with a picturesque and functional gas fireplace. The delicious cookies and espresso machine were much appreciated.

Our breakfast box was delivered at a time of our choosing and enjoyed on the patio as we watched the coastal walkers.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms with patio are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I am giving this hotel a poor rating because the staff was so rude when we were checking in. They simply were unaccommodating to our needs. We had one simple request from the lady (Julie) at the desk. We wanted to check into our room early so we could change into our riding clothes for a scheduled 3:30 lesson. But the answer was "no." And not because there were any other guests asking to check in early, but simply because housekeeping cleaned the rooms "in order" and she could not have them do our room" out of order." When this desk clerk left her position early because she did not feel good, another girl came to relieve her and was filled in on the details. This 20- something year old girl would not budge either and seem to take pleasure in being rude to our pleading. It was a disgusting display of power and the hotel should never have someone so inexperienced on staff. At her delight our room was not even ready at check in time 3:00pm and we waited (slowly losing patience with her cavalier attitude) and finally we checked in to our room at 3:20 leaving us ten minutes to change and get to our appointment. That said, the room was a stark contrast to the staff, it was lovely!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dondies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
296 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the Blue Dolphin Inn based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The reviews are correct. This is a very nice hotel. We got the Jr. King Suite. It had a separate sitting room which made the bedroom smaller. The TV's in the sitting room and bedroom were pretty small. The only issue I had was the shower was to low. My wife is only 5'2" tall and it was too low for her too. Our daughter and her husband had a Standard King next door. Their bedroom and bathroom was bigger then ours. They had a large TV and their shower head was higher. We also noticed a floor fan. I don't think they have air conditioning. We didn't need it in May so it wasn't an issue. However, if your staying there in July or August you might check the weather and inquire about AC. We'd definately recommend The Blue Dolphin Inn.

Room Tip: I would recommend passing on the Jr. King Suite and just getting the Standard King. It's roomier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haztaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
0.2 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.1 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Inn

Property: Blue Dolphin Inn
Address: 6470 Moonstone Beach Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#3 Family Hotel in Cambria
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,565 - ₹ 25,128
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect place to escape and enjoy everything Cambria and Moonstone Beach have to offer, Blue Dolphin Inn is the ideal place. Tastefully appointed guestrooms providing every detail offer a sophisticated environment in this adult-only property. Blue Dolphin Inn is situated steps from the beach and seaside boardwalk that runs two miles along the coast. Take in the scenic sunsets while sipping a glass of renowned local wine. The six full oceanview specialty rooms feature places in the world where dolphins are found in abundance. The lower full oceanview rooms provide spacious patios to delight in the scenery and coastal breezes. The upper level full oceanview rooms allow unparalleled seascapes. Breakfast is individually prepared from a selection of foods designed to fulfill every appetite. If a celebration of any kind is in order, Blue Dolphin Inn is a perfect place to recognize an accomplishment or milestone. Grab a loved one or meet an old friend for an unforgettable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Hotel Cambria
Blue Dolphin Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing