We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be better!”
Review of Chateau de Vie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Vie
Ranked #1 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I cannot express enough about the level of luxury you get at this place. We stayed here 3 years ago, just my hubby and I, in their upper King suite. And we have just stayed at this place again with our 2-year old daughter in the King cottage. Wow! Wow! Wow! The place is so clean, pretty, authentic. The bedding is comfy. The fixtures are new. The bathroom in the King cottage is huge. The house is beautiful, just like a small noble home. You can walk freely anywhere in the house, including kitchen, and take whatever you want from there whenever you want. Wine is constantly available in the kitchen. Cheese is also available. Upon request, they will serve you a plate of cheese, fruits and crackers with wine. And this will be done at any time in the afternoon, regardless of what their web site says. Breakfast deserves a separate paragraph...
The breakfast is so full of amazingly prepared fresh food! You get home made scones, muffins, omelet, egg benedicts, fresh green salad with vegetables not from Safeway, but from the farmer's market, juice, coffee, tea. I am now on a very strict diet due to a health issue, and Philip accommodated each request of mine, even more. They do say that breakfast is served at 9, but you can get it earlier or later, whenever you want. I remember 3 years ago we were on a honey moon, and did not come out for breakfast. Philip knocked at our door at 12pm and proposed brining food into our room. Can you imagine??? Where else will someone be so patient and caring about you?
The owners, Philip and Peter, live in a separate little cottage, so you feel almost like owners yourself.
The pool is heated to 80-82F, Jacuzzi will be heated upon your request to the temperature of your request up until 12am. The sign there says Jacuzzi will be heated from 4pm, but they will do it any time in the morning.
The surroundings are beautiful also. The vineyards are pretty and very neat. You can take a nice walk in them and enjoy fresh air and the view of the hills.
You can visit the Old Faithful Geyser which is 5 minutes drive from the Chateau. Another 5 minutes of drive will take you to a very nice Petrified Forest.
Calistoga downtown is right there as well, just 3 minutes drive from the Chateau.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We picked CDV because it was practiucally the only place we could find in Napa Valley that was a B&B right on a vineyard- and it exceeded expectations! Having breakfast in teir outside patio facing the vineyards was fantastic- but what we didn't excpect was that the food would be as delicious as it was and that we'd also be provided with wine (including their own wine) and cheese platers in the afternoon! Philip and Peter were also great, attentive hosts and gave us wonderful tips on what to see and do in Napa. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikiJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We traveled to the Napa area and stayed at our first B&B the week before Memorial day. You cannot go wrong booking a room at Chateau De Vie. Philip and Peter are extremely gracious and accommodating.

Our room was the smallest room they had (no others were available at that time), but it was immaculate and the bed was very comfy. Extra amenities are provided for you in your room, which was very nice.

The room has no Television, but Wi-Fi is available. This is a very relaxing setting.

The grounds and view are beautiful and the house is very inviting.

The B&B is close to many wineries, which make it convenient in the event you do too much wine tasting!

An added touch is the complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvre tray they prepare for you.

The breakfast is to die for! The portions were large and my husband and I did not eat until the evening. The presentation of the meal was that of a 5 star hotel.

When you visit Chateau De Vie, you actually feel like you have been transported to a European setting.

I would also like to add that their Cabernet is actually very good.

Thank you, Philip and Peter for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Book early to get the room you would like. The carriage house is the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruizinjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

It's hard to believe, but the CDV is, if anything, better than the reviews capture. I know that I don't have the education or the vocabulary to adequately describe just how exceptional, beautiful, relaxing, and yes, though overused to the max, utterly charming this getaway place is. The grounds are impeccably and beautifully kept as is the house, while the hosts, Peter and Philip, have the ability to strike just the right note with all their guests - from those that want complete seclusion to those that are naturally more social. They seem to draw out the best in everyone - a rare and valuable gift. Their recommendations for dinner and wineries are simply outstanding - be sure to take advantage of this service when you're visiting. And the breakfasts!!!! Philip is an inventive and adventurous chef with just the right touch of convention so that every dish he serves is a culinary triumph. I mean, I didn't want to brush my teeth after breakfast so that I could savor the taste longer. We've been visiting Napa Valley every couple of years or so since the early 80's and loved every minute of every stay, but we finally found the ultimate Napa Valley experience, and can't wait to go back to the Chateau de Vie.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house, beautiful, private, well described by others, and the other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The 4th time is a charm because every time is a charm. A funny thing happened to my wife and i this year. We take an annual vacation together, away from our kids. We once again chose to stay at CDV in Calistoga. The reason this is funny is because my wife and I don't like to do the same things twice. We like to try new things. Quite frankly, we love to visit Napa Valley, but there are tons of other places we love to visit as well. Why do we choose to spend our annual get away in Napa Valley? It is 100% due to CDV! If you were to pick it up (along with its landscape and surrounding vistas) and move it to Syria, we'd be going to Syria once a year. If you are looking for a relaxing get away, do yourself a favor, stay at CDV. You won't regret it. It is the perfect blend of location, atmosphere, and service. The owners are special at what they do.

Room Tip: Staying in the Carriage House or 3rd floor are your best bets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenoDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
12.7 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
3.4 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
31.2 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Embrace Calistoga
Embrace Calistoga
#4 of 27 in Calistoga
288 reviews
3.4 km away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
564 reviews
34.5 km away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Vie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vie

Address: 3250 State Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-9711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: ₹ 14,679 - ₹ 27,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from downtown Calistoga, surrounded by acres of vineyards, Chateau de Vie welcomes you into a world of understated elegance. As you enter our gates, lush formal gardens of lavender and quiet sophistication greet you. Built with old European charm, the Chateau has been enhanced with rich earth and jewel tones. Influenced by California unique heritage and the Napa Valley’s beauty, the Chateau has been furnished with your comfort in mind. Comfortable queen and king size beds, lush towels, oversized robes and the finest in linens.Quiet personal attention… magnificent views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vie b&b
Chateau De Vie Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing