We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed in Yountville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Should have stayed in Yountville”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I were staying in the Napa area for a week and decided to spend 4 days in Yountville and 3 days in Calistoga. We thought it would be fun to stay in the different areas to get a different feel of everything. Our stay in Yountville at the Villagio was perfect and amazing, great free breakfast and walking distance to fabulous restaurants. The pictures of Solage looked great and the reviews were good, but this hotel just wasn’t for us. I felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. The hotel was clean and very the pools were and large. The $10 Spatini’s were not worth it and the spa which is rated so high was by far not the best spa I have ever been to or even in the top 5. The mud, the water and the rest spa experience that they offer was much overpriced and all done on your own. The spa was 10 times nicer at Villagio and I didn’t even get a service but used their sauna and was treated with more respect than at Solage where I paid $200 for services. The service was very stuffy and uptight. The $40 breakfast was horrible, 2 pieces of mushy French toast for $15 was a big disappointment. If it was good I would not mind paying the prices, but when you pay that much for breakfast it better be good. We canceled our dinner reservations that day to Sol Bar and went to Jo Le instead and were very happy that we did that. We needed to get out of that hotel. If I was able to cancel after we checked-in I would have, but it was already paid for and I would have lost my money. I would suggest staying in Yountville and making the drive to Calistoga for the wineries nearby, it’s only about a 20 minute drive and you’re much closer to better restaurants and more to do.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Isabella091108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Solage. I genuinely appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your experience. We continually strive to enhance our service standards; your feedback plays a critical role in that process.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experiences at Spa Solage and Solbar. I have shared your comments and suggestions with my leadership team and together we have created solutions to ensure that you and future guests will not encounter the same challenges again.

It is my hope that your travel plans will provide for a return visit to Solage. If I can be of assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate in calling.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    149
    42
    26
    25
See reviews for
128
528
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Definitely overpriced for what it offers. Charging for every small detail. Food was so so, nothing to write home about. Average at best, service not very friendly. i think you can get better value at other places. They act very stuck up, but I don't think they offer what they claim to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romaniangirlamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, Director of Sales at Solage, an Auberge Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your experience at Solage. Please note that attention to detail and friendly, professional service are paramount to our company culture. We will be sharing your comments with our team to ensure they are aware of your perceptions so we may make immediate corrections. On behalf of everyone at Solage thank you for joining us during this special occasion – we hope you will have fond memories of your time with us for years to come.

Warm Regards,

Renee Risch
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was our first visit, and the service was excellent. We had a cottage with a king bed/down comforter, fireplace and pebble stone floor shower. There were robes and slippers in the room. There were also complimentary cookies, chocolate sauce, dried apricots and marshmallows. Each cottage comes with 2 bikes. The main pool is heated year-round at 88 degrees. The fitness center, while small, is well-equipped. There are complimentary yoga, spin and pilates classes in the am. I had an excellent 50 minute message for $135 at the spa. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. The restaurant is excellent but has very small portions sizes, which is standard for your higher-end places in CA. Solage is located close to downtown Calistoga, but you would still have to drive. It is a smaller place and caters more to couples on romantic getaway trips (although there is a kids pool).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynstersf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yountville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Second stay at Solage has yet again proven to be perfect.

We love the individual style 'cabin', outdoor patio to relax, bicycles to explore the area and the accommodating staff.

Dining and facilities are top notch.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivettetrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I went there for 4 days in March 2012. As usual, I spent too much time focusing on the not so good comments on TA before we went. I can say that our own personal experience was great though. It is for sure not cheap, but you also get what you pay for I guess. I was a little disappointed when we first got there to see we were at the "back of the lot", but as I was checking in, there was a rather loud wedding going on (to be expected), and we were more than happy to get something that was peaceful and quiet. The distance was no problem, and was only a short walk, or literally 30 seconds on the bikes provided for each cabin.
The restaurant was nice, but again pricey. I would say it's a nice place to start your day with breakfast, but there are so many choices in Calistoga (5 minute bike ride) that I would probably choose to dine in town.
Some people commented on it being a long way from Napa, but if you have a car, it's not a big deal. I would say that the area around Calistoga is as nice or nicer than Napa. Has lots of great wineries, and is just as scenic.
My wife had a spa treatment and said she had a great time (she's been to many so she would know)
The room itself was different, but very nice. Not huge, but cozy with great beds and pillows. Love the loose coffee and filters, and selection of teas, including a "sleepy time" tea that put me out every night. the bathroom space was nice with some of the best smelling toiletries i've had in a hotel. My wife HAD to buy some at the spa before we left. The cement floors in the rooms can be a little cool, but slippers are provided. The rainfall shower was great, although it never seemed to get quite hot enough for us.
Just one last comment that I have to mention pertaining to what others were saying about the grounds and landscaping at Solage. It is not "undone" but rather planted to fit in with the natural surroundings. I'm not sure f people wanted to see all grass, but I thought they were beautiful with cacti and lavender. it in perfectly, and smelled great.
All in all I would highly recommend this for a great getaway to the Napa Valley.
Feel fee to contact me if you have any questions.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 19 which was a little further (but quieter) from the main bar and front desk. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadacoast2coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
27.2 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
17.5 km away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
27.9 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
27.4 km away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
40.0 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solage, an Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solage, an Auberge Resort

Property: Solage, an Auberge Resort
Address: 755 Silverado Trail, Calistoga, CA 94515-1100 (Formerly Solage Calistoga)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price range (per night): ₹ 40,937 - ₹ 77,786
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solage, an Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solage, an Auberge Resort brings a comfortable, enlightened experience to Napa Valley with luxury accommodations and an award winning spa and restaurant. • 89 recently upgrade guest rooms and suites• Michelin-starred resort restaurant, Solbar• 20,000 square foot award winning Spa Solage• 130-foot landmark adult pool and hot tub, family pool and three geothermal mineral pools• Over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor function space ideal for weddings and meetings. • State-of-the-art gym with Yoga/Movement studio offering a variety of complimentary fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Solage, an Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solage Calistoga Hotel Calistoga
Solage Hotel Calistoga
Calistoga Solage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing