We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average B&B - room Napa is not recommended” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wine Way Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wine Way Inn
Ranked #6 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average B&B - room Napa is not recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for one night and the B&B was fully booked. When we arrived Gillian Kite showed us around. They offer complimentary water, wine, tea & coffee. We did taste all three wines - but we didn't like any of it.
Our room "Napa" is the cheapest room (170 USD per night) and is located in front of the house. Due to the position of the room (facing main road) and single-glazing windows the noise disturbance was very high. We only found sleep for a couple of hours because of the heavy traffic on the main road, the all night switched-on hall light, a squeaky bed smaller than queen size, and therefore to small for two people ("a full size antique Jenny Lind bed").

In the morning we used the shower which was broken/leaky, so half of the water that was supposed to come out of the shower head was instead spraying against the cover of the douche.

Breakfast was served at 8.30am – buffet style stood on a side board. Coffee, tea, milk, orange juice, strawberry muffins, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, mediterranean-style baked beans, apple in maple syrup and some cereal. We can't say anything bad about the food.

Summing up we were very surprised that this B&B has such good reviews in several websites. We've stayed in several B&B before and were disappointed concerning the accommodation and especially the Innkeepers. We nearly saw them and they hardly spoke a word to their guests. In fact we had to search for them after breakfast in order to know whether everything is set for check-out. We didn't felt a homely or family-like atmosphere at all.

Room Tip: Don't choose Napa - it is in front of the house, facing the main road and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineWayInnOwners, Owner at Wine Way Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
For future guests reading this all we can say is there is a reason we were fully booked when these guests stayed – people like us, our place and the value we offer.

We have different rooms that we try to describe accurately so you can make choices that suit you.

Honest we are friendly and nice. It sounds like these folks had made up their minds not to like us, our place or anything else about us, it’s a shame.

Check out our other reviews or give us a call and you can make your own judgments.

Regards,

Nick and Gillian


To Karin and Sebastian: Thanks for your feedback, we are of course sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
However, you do seem to be rather exaggerating things to try and make your experience match your feelings, specifically:
1. You paid $129 not $170, a bargain for Napa Valley.
2. The rest of the room description after the piece you quoted regarding the bed says "Upstairs, at the front of the house, very light sleepers may wish to choose a room more to the rear of the house.” Personally we sleep downstairs closer to the road than the Napa room and are never disturbed by traffic. That said we understand people's sensitivities vary. Hence the above description so guests can make choices that suit their needs.
3. When you booked many other rooms were open with larger beds and away from the street.
4. The room has double windows and not single windows.
5. If you had mentioned the shower it would have been fixed immediately, my housekeeper noticed the leak when cleaning after you left and it was repaired before the next guest arrived. We are not psychic and things occasionally go wrong in a 102 year old house.


Summing up, we were very surprised at the impressions you formed and the exaggerations you made. Our read is you really wanted a larger and quieter room, chose something different because it was cheaper, didn’t like what you had chosen and then decided to make that our fault instead of yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    69
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
299
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great location and fabulous filling breakfasts. Nick and Gillian offered suggestions on walks in the area, restaurant suggestions, and wineries. Enjoyed the wine and port available all day, as well as visiting with other travelers. Look forward to returning when the weather is nicer, to enjoy the spacious decks.

Room Tip: Fantastic breakfasts, great wine and port, and very helpful hosts. We saw most of the rooms and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Wine Way Inn in Calistoga, CA was top notch in my books. The Innkeepers Nick and Gillian, are wonderful and honest people, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was very friendly. They had wine and snacks for all the guests daily, games to play and it really felt like a home away from home. It's in a great location, very close to shops and plenty of restaurants. I will say it was hard to go anywhere else to eat after eating the breakfast every morning included in stay at the Inn. The food was incredible and I felt like a queen, eating from their fine china at a formal fully set dining room table. Homemade granola, fresh fruit and pastries, baked alaska,oh my...... poached pears and fresh french press coffee. Even though the food was incredible the friendly service and generosity of all the staff was beyond what I expected. I will be back indeed!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. Helena, it was a great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aftan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Hosts are wonderful! I was very impressed with how clean the bathroom was. The breakfast is GOURMET and I looked forward to what would be served the next day. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaShoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manvel, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Nick is the best host!!! So friendly and welcoming. The rooms were nice, each room having a private bathroom. The very best part, and what sets them apart is the AMAZING BREAKFAST!!! You will not regret booking a room here. We are already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.5 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 km away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.5 km away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Way Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Way Inn

Property: Wine Way Inn
Address: 1019 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,098 - ₹ 30,042
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Way Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We looking forward to welcoming you to our historic Calistoga bed and breakfast. Choose between charming guestrooms or our new luxury suites. Enjoy waking up to a fabulous breakfast each morning, and being just a short walk from dining, tasting rooms, and shopping in downtown Calistoga. The Calistoga Wine Way Inn offers the perfect blend of charm, value and location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wine Way Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Way Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing