We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have been staying at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for years. This place is too good to be true, but it is. The location is excellent, just two blocks from the main shoping area. Good resturants and best of all the food market, Calmart is excellent with salad bar, fresh everything. Our choice is a room with full kitchen. If there is a grillmaster in your family, the hotel maintains two spotless gas grills and a spotless charcoal grill. The property is large with lots of lush gardens, a indoor pool, outdoor pool and spa. The on site full Spa, with the callistoga mud baths and excellent spa services is a real plus. The best is always last, it is the staff. Many have been there for years, and the owners alway reinvest in their hotel. Love it.

Room Tip: We have stayed all over the property and have never had a bad room. Remember a room with a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Phillip,
Thank you for your very kind comments and your continued loyalty to the Roman Spa. I'm glad you enjoy our kitchen rooms, indeed they not only provide additional space in the room, but as you mentioned our local grocer, Calmart does an excellent job of offering a wide variety of options for picnics, barbeques, and gathering for breakfast or lunch at our patio tables throughout the property. Our gas and charcoal grills are indeed quite popular and our housekeepers do keep them spotless by cleaning and scrubbing them every morning. I'm glad you enjoy our spa and our services, and your gracious comments about our staff are always appreciated. All of us at the Roman Spa are here to serve our guests, providing them with an experience that exceeds their expectations.
All of us look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 392 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights and loved it, great place to soak in quality hot spring pools, which thankfully contain only a minimum amount of chlorine. The hotel rooms do have a pedestrian, motel simplicity that will irk some, but we found our room to be perfectly adequate, the bed very comfy, and we loved the quiet ambience at night, which made for long, deep sleeps. At the end of the day, I'm at a spa hotel like this for the rest, health, and relaxation benefits, not for fancy hotel room frills. I saw a lot of older folks during our visit, regulars who have been faithfully coming to Roman Spa for years. We, too, hope to make regular future visits. Other notes: The hotel is perfectly situated just off Calistoga's main strip, lots of great dining options a stone's throw away. In many ways this hotel, its no frills simplicity is reflective of the laid back, Bohemian vibe of Calistoga, which is the antithesis of the more snooty, more expensive, more artificial feel of Napa town. If you appreciate this distinction, you'll have no trouble falling in love with a place like Roman Spa Resort. Oh, and we loved the palm trees and lush gardens surrounding the pools and property; you really are in a kind of oasis when staying here. 

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayfarer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return in the future. We strive to provide the type of experience you described, cozy, comfortable, and unpretentious. Although you describe a pedestrian, "motel" simplicity in our configuration, I do believe our garden filled surroundings with numerous small gathering areas, barbeque and picnic area provide a casual country ambience that a typical "motel" would not offer. Many of the properties in the Valley offer external entrances versus the big City internal corridors, a benefit most appreciate with our Mediterrean climate.
We look forward to your return and the ability to serve you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Let me start by saying the only reason this place didn't get 5/5 is it could use a bit of an update BUT we would absolutely stay again - updates or not. Read on if you need more...

We stayed the first week of April (1-5th). Roman Spa was delightful. The beds were very comfy, sheets and towels super soft and rooms very clean. Making our arrangements was a joy as everyone is so accomodating.

The heated spa pools were awesome. Not big enough to do laps but plenty big enough to float about and enjoy the healing effects of the hot spring water. We stayed here because of the hot spring pools and mud bath. The mud bath was a total trip! Really glad I did it but not something I need every week. Everyone in the spa was very nice and professional.

The grounds were very beautiful and well kept - this is such a great base to explore the northern part of Napa. We are in our mid 30's w/o kids. I'm not sure this is a great place for kids and families but that said there were a few during our stay and most were well behaved. Some weren't and I very much appreciated the front desk folks reminding them to settle down. The vast majority of the guests were in there 50s - 60s but as many of the reviwers wrote they probably started coming when they were my age. I would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone. Great time, lovely people, peaceful and serene.

Room Tip: I liked being on the first floor near the pool but not on top of it. Room #140.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sejalshah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and we appreciate your thoughtful review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our grounds which we take great pride in with the hundreds of varieties of annuals and perennials planted throughout the property; as well as the rooms, the spa, and the helpfulness of our staff.

You mentioned that we could use a bit of an update, as you could see during your stay we are working on an entire building remodel which will carry over into other buildings over time. This remodel is extensive both inside and out and will provide an enhanced level of ammenities and decor for those desiring features beyond a standard guest room.

We look forward to serving you again in the future and hope you can return as many do, year after year, making the Roman Spa their favorite geothermal retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at The Roman Spa and Hot Springs resort for two nights following my running of the Napa Valley Marathon. What a wonderful way to recover from my 26 miles and to celebrate my 60th birthday!
The grounds are well maintained and our room, which was directly across from the main pool area, was very comfortable. My wife and I enjoyed soaking in the three different geothermal pools for hours on end. Each pool is a different size and temperature. She had packed some plastic wine glasses (great idea!) so we could enjoy some delicious red wines from the Valley poolside. The weather was beyond "good" and floating in the main pool and watching the palm trees sway in the breeze was the best!
My legs have never recovered so well! We will return with our extended family members in that the hotel has numerous garden sitting areas along with the poolside areas where any family member would find their "favorite spot". We did not use the BBQ area this trip but did go a couple blocks to the supermarket and picked up some delicious sourdough bread and cheeses. Fill up the wine glass, tear off some bread and cheese.....think I'll go for another soak in the hottub!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for spending both your birthday and your marathon recovery with us! Congratulations on running the marathon, it is quite a feat that deserves a celebration! Indeed, the restorative geothermal waters help soothe those sore and tired muscles after such a long run. We look forward to seeing you again with other family and friends enjoying our grounds and barbeque area in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort is Heaven on earth in Calistoga. The rooms are very comfortable, and spacious, the pools are always warm and relaxing, and the employees always have a friendly smile. The grounds are neatly appointed with flowers, wisteria, tables and chairs, and a BBQ area. The kitchenette rooms almost make the Calistoga restaurants a moot point--almost. Everything you might need is close at hand. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Scott,
Thank you for your review, it really made our day. We are so glad that you are able to truly relax and enjoy our property to the fullest. We continually work toward exceeding expectations and take great pride in what and how we do things at the Roman Spa. We look forward to your next visit and serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.8 km away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
0.1 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.5 km away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: ₹ 14,443 - ₹ 21,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and revitalize at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort in Calistoga, the vacation getaway of the Napa Valley Wine Country. A hot springs paradise of invigorating waters intimately set among flowering Mediterranean gardens, private patios, splashing fountains, and a staff dedicated to your ultimate relaxation and pleasure. This is the perfect Calistoga hotel and spa to explore the wine country, stroll through Calistoga, sample Napa Valley's best restaurants, or pamper yourself with intimate spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing