We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time”
Review of Chelsea Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Garden Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Judy took great care of us. Her morning breakfasts were fantastic! Even some of our picky eaters (children) loved her cooking. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quintella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2009

Our son had given us a gift certificate for a stay at the Chelsea Garden Inn for our 50th wedding anniversary and we enjoyed our visit immensely. Our Host and Hostess were both extremely gracious and made us feel very comfortable. The rooms were clean and well decorated. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, something you would find at a five star restaurant. The Inn is located on a quiet street, however only a short walk to the funky town of Calistoga.

The area is loaded with many places to see and experience including a number of spas specializing in mud baths, a petrified forest, an active gyser and of course many wineries. There are a number of fine restaurants within a short drive. We had an excellent dining experience at the "Martini House" in nearby St. Helena, which was highly recommended by our hostess Sunshine.

Not only would I highly recommend the Chelsea Garden Inn, we plan on goiing back in the near future.

Ted and Pat

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank septsong98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Spent 3 nights with friends, taking over the whole inn. The place was perfect for this purpose as the main area has a great room that acts as the breakfast/afternoon appetizer area, living room, kiitchen--and then has one room upstairs. We were able to gather in the evening around the fireplace and really make ourselves at home. The pool area also had chairs and tables that we used when the weather was nice. I don't think I'd ever stay here outside of the group though as the husband/wife management team were not very welcoming (Harold, the husband, seemed almost grumpy/surly at times--he was finally friendly when we were leaving!! Glad to see us go?) This was the consensus of the whole group. Whereas at other inns, we've been warmly welcomed, I had to go up and introduce myself to them the first morning. Weird. Breakfasts were good except for one morning where every course was sweet. Great for the group of 10, not our style for individuals.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousseChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

That's how I would describe Sunshine and her husband Harold. They not only made me feel welcome but my cat Grace as well. Which I find to be a very rare thing these days. The breakfasts were fabulous----kept me full almost until dinner. The inn's location is off Calistoga's main drag which keeps the inn quiet, but it's a quick walk to all of Calistoga's restaurants, shops, spas, and activities. I hope to return to Chelsea Garden Inn and Sunshine and Harold in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshGirl720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

I have stayed at this B&B many times over the years, both as Scott Courtyard and under its current ownership. As usual, love the rooms, there are several that are "suites" so that it is very reasonable if you have family with you. Location is very convenient as you can walk to everything in Calistoga. Hosts have always been outstanding and the current couple, Harold and Sunshine, are no exceptions. I have to say Harold is the best cook by far. Lots of wineries to visit in the area, and food in town is great. As always, I had a relaxing time, restful, and most enjoyable thanks to the hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klsommer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.2 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
519 reviews
0.6 km away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.6 km away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
261 reviews
0.7 km away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Garden Inn

Address: 1443 2nd St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1419 (Formerly Scott Courtyard)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: ₹ 10,971 - ₹ 29,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Garden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a day of visiting world class wineries and other Napa Valley activities, return home to your private, spacious suite with gas log fireplace. Enjoy the inviting social room, or the courtyard and seasonal pool. Awake to a delicious country style breakfast and continue your wine country adventures. All rooms with complimentary WIFI, TV/DVD, A/C, private entrance and private bath, located just two blocks to Calistoga'smain street for spas, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chelsea Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Garden Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing