We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
3
4
0
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
0
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My daughter held her wedding at the Triple S Ranch and it was wonderful! The main house is so charming and the barn was the prefect place for the reception. The bride and maid of honor stayed in the house, the rest of the wedding party stayed in the cabins. I highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BFly823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I didn't stay overnight at the Triple S, but from what I saw, yes, the reviews below are accurate. The place is very rustic --truly camping in a cabin, and not for everyone. BUT the restaurant was open when we went the 2nd weekend in November, serving perfectly cooked comfort food and completely acceptable wines and drinks in the bar, with its cheery, roaring fire in the fireplace and its jukebox full of Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline and --you know--Journey, just because Napa's an SF outpost.

We were there tasting possible menus for an upcoming wedding, so the owners pulled out all the stops. We chowed down on generous portions of: deviled eggs, perfect mac 'n' cheese, wedge salad and onion rings. These were listed on the menu under "appetizers" but they were large portions and each was completely delicious. The onion rings are the best I have ever eaten, period. Also, in another throwback touch, the meal opens with one of those dinner plates of crushed ice covered with crudites a la 1950s...olives, carrot sticks, celery, radishes...such a cute touch that really takes you back (or makes you think of Mad Men). For entrees, we shared portions of fried chicken, prime rib and a halibut filet that was perfectly grilled...halibut is so often over or undercooked when you eat it at a restaurant, but this was done right to the second. And other folks at the table were similarly enthusiastic about the chicken and the prime rib.

Short form: GO if you're looking for comfort food! --But remember that funny Napa / Sonoma issue: if you want an upscale wine, it's best to bring it along with you. While this is changing, it's still true that many restaurants won't bother to stock an extensive wine list since they expect that customers may come in toting the bottles they purchased after wine tasting in the region. At Triple S, the house wines are fine, but only that. Still, the food is really worth going for.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Elithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

The add said, " The Ranch was Bare Bones Rustic!" and thats what were looking for. We spent this past weekend at the Triple S Ranch and it was great fun. We took our three dogs and they loved the acerage to run around and sniff out rabbits. My husband and I saw a Doe and her fawn grazing in the fields. We picked fresh plums and berries off of the property and had them with our coffee and danish the next morning. The property owners were very nice and accomodating to us and our dogs. There was a lake just up the road we took our dogs to for a swim both days. We like to camp with our dogs, but this time we wanted to sleep in a bed and have our own hot shower and toilet. And that is exactly what we got. The restaraunt isn't quite open to the public yet. The owner said it will be in a couple of weeks. So we decided we wanted to cook a steak outside of our cabin. We went into town to the Calistoga Market and purchased two beautiful ribeye steaks; the market had steamtables of gourmet food all ready to enjoy and to go, so we picked up a couple of the baked potatoes and a wonderful greek salad to share with our meal. And since we were essentially camping, we had to have somores. So we picked up the fixins for those too. We wen't back to the Ranch and had a wonderfully gourmet cookout in front of the cabin and ate somores for dessert. The dogs were so tired from their big day that all they wanted to do was sleep and sleep they did. The owners were very busy working on the property there was mention of renovations to the cabins so they have a lot of work to do but in the mean time this place is a mecca for quiet, relaxing time either by the pool or just walking throught the property its self or just sitting on the porch of your own little Ranch Cabin sipping on an Ice cold beer straight from your own ice chest.

Cheers!
Hope to see you there

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdvteamrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

OMG....so we were there this last weekend for a wedding at the near by Maycumus Ranch (which was AMAZING), yewt stayed at the triple S ranch/Resort....the Triple S ranch, nicknamed the Triple Shady Ranch after this weekend, was far from hotel and resort (as the sign says when you enter). The place is run down and rotting. The beds were dingy and dirty, along with the bathrooms. Shower shoes required, if you enen dare to wash with the lead smelling water. Minimal lighing and no mirrors. There were bugs everwhere in the "cabins" and when we woke a toad was in our neighbors cabin toliet. The list is endless....although we had a blast and laughed the entire time....all 16 of us probably won't ever return to the triple Shady Ranch Resort! "A step up from camping ",is how the lady described when we "checked in"...oh yha, check in was an envelope taped to a fence with our names on them with the keys inside. Spooky place!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank TravelenWildcatStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2004

Lots of potential: too much deferred maintenance and the buildings would benefit from design expertise. Dinner at the restaurant was above average although the chicken lacked flavor. Service was friendly and helpful and there were special touches such as bottled water outside every cabin and breakfast delivered in a basket every morning. Also, it is an excellent place to stay with a dog(s) -- opportunities for walks in the idyllic natural environment.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discover25923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews