We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Museum!”
Review of Sharpsteen Museum

Sharpsteen Museum
Ranked #8 of 77 things to do in Calistoga
Attraction details
Reviewed 4 September 2017

This place is a real gem! Not only do you get the story of Calistoga, you get Mr. Sharpsteen's version of Disney animation. The docents were very friendly and enjoyed telling stories about the development of Calistoga. Do NOT bypass this place if you're in Calistoga!

1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Mark, we are truly grateful for your generous review and recommendation. Thanks for experiencing the history of Calistoga and Disney animation with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"donner party"
in 5 reviews
"walt disney studios"
in 4 reviews
"great displays"
in 2 reviews
"disney animation"
in 2 reviews
"real oscar"
in 2 reviews
"native americans"
in 2 reviews
"northern napa valley"
in 2 reviews
"visiting calistoga"
in 2 reviews
"robert louis stevenson"
in 2 reviews
"calistoga area"
in 2 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits"
in 16 reviews
"docent"
in 9 reviews
"animators"
in 11 reviews
"history"
in 48 reviews
"information"
in 11 reviews
"illustrator"
in 4 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017

If you are a history nerd, this is definitely worth a visit. The exhibits are somewhat homemade, but charming and fascinating history of Calistoga's founder Sam Brennan and the characters that followed him. We spent an hour there.

Thank AmieeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

AmieeandJohn, Thanks for visiting us at the Sharpsteen Museum. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our exhibits and learning more about the history of Calistoga. we appreciate your kind words and five star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

More California (and West Coast) history that you probably don't know about. I found it very interesting as a self guided tour but also had a nice conversation with the gentleman working there.
They didn't charge admission but accept donations. Even a modest contribution will be the best value you get in Calistoga.
Easy free parking at the museum, give it an hour of your time.

1  Thank khub79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Khub79, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting us at the Sharpsteen Museum and learning about the history of California! We hope that you learned some interesting things and will come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Mr. Sharpsteen, the man who started the museum, was an animator for Disney and even received an Oscar. Mr. Sharpsteen would come as a boy to this area and found the history of the area important and fascinating so he made this museum. As he was well acquainted with animation, he knew where to get materials for miniature dioramas and models so the museum had several. There are also original animations from Sharpsteen's career, information about the native Americans and controversial character Sam Brennan and the role he played in starting a resort up here.

And as if that wasn't enough, you can learn about Robert Louis Stevenson who honeymooned here with his wife Fanny.

They sell lots of books on the history about all of these people and General Vallejo. We love our visit and there are public bathrooms right outside.

Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Lynette, thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review. It’s great to know you truly enjoyed your visit to Sharpsteen Museum and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Small collection, but very interesting. The typewriter collection was cool and the diorama was amazing. Volunteer docent was very nice and shared good info that added some context.

Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, General Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Lydia, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your five star review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our typewriter collection and our Docent did a great job showing you around and sharing additional information with you. Thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharpsteen Museum also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Sharpsteen Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing