We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”
Review of Sharpsteen Museum

Sharpsteen Museum
Ranked #9 of 77 things to do in Calistoga
Attraction details
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This museum had excellent diorama displays of Calistoga's early days when it was a thermal hot springs resort for the wealthy of San Francisco. There was also an extensive display of early typewriters made by Remington, Royal, Underwood and others. Additionally displayed were a collection of beautiful antique evening bags and an early days cottage complete with bedroom, dining room, kitchen and equipment. The gift shop carried a large collection of books on the early days of the Napa Valley, Gold Rush, Bad Girls and local lore.

Thank EvaT1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, General Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Eva, thanks for taking a glimpse into the history of Calistoga with us at Sharpsteen Museum! We’re thrilled to know how much you enjoyed not only the exhibits, but also our gift shop, and we’d love to see you again next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"donner party"
in 5 reviews
"walt disney studios"
in 4 reviews
"stage coach"
in 3 reviews
"great displays"
in 2 reviews
"disney animation"
in 2 reviews
"real oscar"
in 2 reviews
"native americans"
in 2 reviews
"love visiting"
in 2 reviews
"northern napa valley"
in 2 reviews
"visiting calistoga"
in 2 reviews
"robert louis stevenson"
in 2 reviews
"calistoga area"
in 2 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits"
in 17 reviews
"docent"
in 9 reviews
"animators"
in 11 reviews
"history"
in 49 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2017

Museum gives history about the beginning of Calistoga. They also rotate some other displays. When we were there they had old typewriters.

Thank JennPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Jenn, thanks for checking out Sharpsteen Museum and our new exhibit - Still QWERTY After All These Years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We visited the museum at the advice of the local visitor center staff. I was impressed with the contents and presentation of their many artifacts. You can learn about the interesting history of the area and see lots of great relics of the past. They explain the fascinating Disney connection to Calistoga and even a completely furnished period cabin is included. The friendly staff offered additional explanations as well. I highly recommend starting your Calistoga visit with an hour at the museum. You will appreciate the area much more after this interesting stop!

Thank GNGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

GNGator, thank you for your review and generous recommendation! It’s a delight to know you enjoyed learning about our city’s rich history just as much as we love sharing it, and we would love to see you again next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This is a small museum with some interesting exhibits. You can go thru it in less than an hour. It is a worthwhile stop to get some local history.

Thank nabglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, General Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Nabglow, thank you for visiting! Our exhibits are changing regularly, so we hope to see you again next time you’re in Calistoga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016

I am one. The Sharpsteen presents a brief overview of the development of Calistoga by the white man - the notable attraction is the diorama of the original Indian Springs resort. It is quite small; during our visit, much of the space was taken up by a button exhibit. $3 admission.

Thank Yog-Sothoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn B, Manager at Sharpsteen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Yog, thank you for visiting the Sharpsteen Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharpsteen Museum also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Sharpsteen Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing