We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

It was a awesome experience to see so many stars including several falling stars. Dennis is a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
S3170WJdaniela
,
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Excellent Star Gazing

Thank you David for sharing your passion with us. Very knowledgeable and intriguing evening. Will... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
vandyeagle10
,
San Diego, California
via mobile
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
80
1
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
80
1
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews andromeda galaxy light years naked eye star clusters ask questions his laptop viewing site stargazing tour interesting facts his knowledge unique experience planets dennis universe nebula telescope astronomy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2021

Unfortunately, we were disappointed with Borrego Night Sky Tours.

We attended the program in October 2020 having booked it months in advance. We followed the instructions and all COVID precautions that we were sent in advance such as 'Do not arrive before 7pm', 'Check out the sight earlier in the day so you know where you're going', 'Bring chairs and wear solid shoes', 'Bring hand sanitizer and face covering', etc. The directions given to Borrego Springs and the specific sight were very helpful.

The instructions also said that when we arrive, we would be directed where to park. We sat in our car for 10 minutes waiting to be instructed while Dennis was still setting up. He didn't once turn around to see we were there (Along with 2 other cars). After a while we called out the window to him to ask where we should park. Still nothing. We decided to park where we were and get out the car. We later discovered that Dennis is very hard of hearing.

The next issue was Dennis was having a problem with something on his telescope and asked if any of the men could help as it required some strength with removing something. Fortunately, someone in our group was able to help. This happened twice. This delayed the program somewhat.

Unfortunately for us, we had a VERY bad sky the night we visited. We would have been none the wiser, however Dennis decided to repeatedly tell us how bad it was (About a zero on a scale of 1-10!). We were peeved that we had spent money on a hotel room to stay overnight and this was our 'main event'. Knowing what the sky and conditions were going to be like, could we have not had a phone call 2-3 days prior so that we could have rescheduled? We felt like we completely wasted our money.

The location in Borrego Springs is up a small road out in the middle of nowhere, however the 'glow' from surrounding cities like L.A. and San Diego was disappointing. We've been on other star-gazing programs that had better, darker skies.

We took turns between the lecture part of the program to look through the telescope. (I looked through the telescope approx 5 times). I honestly felt like he didn't trust me walking up to the telescope, like I was going to fall over and knock it down! Due to the poor conditions, the images were somewhat fuzzy.

I didn't find the lecture very exhilarating and any time questions were asked it was very clear Dennis was so hard of hearing that I realized it was best not to ask questions. About 15 minutes into the program, I realized this was not going to be the evening that I'd hoped for and really couldn't wait for it to be over.

Note: We ate in town at a Mexican Restaurant prior to the program near Christmas Circle. There are no restrooms at the tour site, so make sure you go beforehand. Other dark sky programs we've been on have offered snacks and drinks, which makes it extra fun, but nothing like this was offered.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank dwfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

Dennis was awesome! He shared tons of knowledge, took all covid precautions and answered all of our questions. The viewing site was easy to find, his schedule was right on track and it was the most fun 2 hours we’ve had in awhile. I highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank sabyns2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

Dennis was informative, engaging, and funny! He took serious covid precautions to provide us with a fun and safe experience! He followed it up with a great summary email and furthered my interess!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank 967georgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

We decided a bit last minute to buy the Borrego Night Sky Tour with Dennis. We had one night left in Borrego and we both love learning about space. We rarely get to see stars living in downtown Chicago. It was hands down worth the cost. We ended up with only 4 of us so we were spoiled in being able to ask as many questions as we wanted, and take long looks into space. Pretty awesome to not only see everything, but Dennis is passionate about his work and incredibly knowledgeable. I hope to do it again someday in another season!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank ShanaeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

This is a rare opportunity to see the stars and learn about then from an expert. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank MNMaryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews