We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spacious place, better for families or long stays”
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We visited this place as a single night stop and to be honest it's not what this is designed for. The suites are huge and there's loads of activities for families, obviously not really appropriate for us as a couple, but you could live here in snow season with the kids and have an awesome time. Decor was a little folksy but the rooms were clean and tidy. Good value too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexiflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

I asked for a top floor (3 floors total); We were assigned the 3rd floor in the 2nd building (only 2 buildings). The room was a corner room which had additional windows backing onto the residential street. Can not view lake from resort. Wonderful daily activities in the main check-in area. Had free Internet access from check-in area which was handy for checking emails and airport business. In the middle of several restaurants and lake activities. Rent a bike and explore for a day. Take the ski lift to the top, with or without your bike. Take the Steam Boat Tour for 1.5 hours. Rent a kayak on the north shore (much calmer and especially rent in the morning hours). Lots of squirrels. Never saw a bear. Trash recepticles aren't even bear protected. Day trip to Arrowhead Lake & Little Green Valley Lake. The drive from Ontario Airport to Big Bear in the mid-morning of June 10th was very interesting. Lots of fog. I mean can't barely see the white or yellow lines type of fog, but lots of pull outs for people not comfortable driving in. You finally drive out of it, but be prepared for the fog. The rooms were perfect. 2 full baths. 1 full bedroom with queen pull out in the living room. 2 gas fireplaces-very nice. The kitchen had everything you would need. Hit a grocery store in town and stock up on necessities. Bathroom has hair dryer. Towels are replaced each day. Sheets once a week. 1 parking spot per room, No A/C. But windows and plenty of fans in the room were more then sufficient. Used the heated swimming pool twice - nice. All to our selves and clean. Had a hot tub, but didn't try. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPBluejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I really enjoyed our stay over Memorial Day weekend (especially Annie). Courteous staff, clean rooms, nice spa. However, if you need maintenance, the red headed lady at the desk wasnt to helpful. My step son was a lil persistent and we got them to come out. The maintenance man was so nice and helpful. The televisions could stand to be updated. Overall visit was great!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnk021409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My husband and I just got back from our early May stay at the Snow Lake Lodge in Big Bear Lake, California (just below the base of Snow Summit Ski Resort); we stayed in Room # 112.

We found our room an agreeable size for up to four people; our condo was warm, spacious, clean and comfortable. You entered the condo into the foyer… this space separates the two halves of the condo and acts as a buffer; there is plenty of room for coats and boots there. From the foyer you can turn left into the bedroom or right into the living room/kitchen area (the couch folds out into a bed). Each of the two halves of the condo had their own separate bathroom (full sized), flat screen TV, DVD player, fireplace and their own separate heating unit. Our living room looked out over the wooded lot next door, our bedroom overlooked the parking lot (with some trees and a bit of an open space beyond). The kitchen area has a microwave, oven, stove, dishwasher and a normal-sized refrigerator. The kitchen’s pantry and drawers hold a good array of cooking / dining needs and there was a nice sized table with four chairs.

Things I liked about Snow Lake Lodge:
* The friendly, helpful staff… especially Annie at the front desk!
* A computer in the guest lounge by the front desk with free Internet usage.
* The heated pool/hot tub
* 2 nice, modern gas grills for the guest’s use.
* A good array of games and DVDs to check out from the front desk
* This property has a wonderful location within the community! You have your choice of eateries, drug and/or grocery stores all within a 3-minute drive of the lodge.
* Most of the rooms have been recently refurbished and modernized.
* Comfortable bed!!!

Hint*… Phone the front desk at the Snow Lake Lodge before coming up the mountain. Road conditions are sometimes an issue when coming up the mountain to Big Bear. In our case we found out that Highway 330 was closed indefinitely and that we should use the alternate Highway 38… this saved us a lot of confusion!

Staying here in the off-season is wonderful! There was plenty to keep us occupied in the Big Bear Lake community! Suggestions for springtime day trips (for those interested):
* Moonridge Animal Park… we honestly were prepared for a “hokey” little zoo… but we found much more than that! Most of the animals in the park are local animals that were injured too severely to go back into the wild. The volunteers are knowledgeable and friendly… we spent a very pleasant morning there. I had NO idea that Big Bear Lake was a nesting area for the Bald Eagle!
* Hiking… we made picnic lunches and hiked Gray’s Peak, Cougar Crest and the Castle Rock Trails. They were all wonderfully maintained and lent beautiful views! Note* this May there was a significant amount of snow on all three mentioned trails… when we commented on the snow, we were told Big Bear sometimes had snow up until June.
* Big Bear’s Discovery Center on the North Shore is very interesting.
* Big Bear Lake’s Downtown Shopping Area has some cute stores.
* The Gold Fever Trail is a self-guided automobile tour of the Holcomb Valley… its highlight being the Metzger Mine. The trip takes about 3 hours and gets to be a bit of an off-roading experience… it was a nice drive… but we were lucky to be in my husband’s truck and not my car! I am thinking they must grade this road closer to summertime… but I suggest checking with the Discovery Center before attempting this drive.

We enjoyed Snow Lake Lodge and Big Bear Lake, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJoisygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Great little stop off on our road trip. Head to the supermarket five minutes down the road, stock up on whatever takes your fancy and chill out in front of one of your two log fires.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleUKEddie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 km away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
423 reviews
2.3 km away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
72 reviews
1.8 km away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 km away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Address: 41579 Big Bear Boulevard, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: ₹ 5,449 - ₹ 7,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing