We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Convenience”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfort and Convenience”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Only stayed one night at the Rose Garden Inn, but had a pleasant experience. Staff was friendly and welcoming -- the complimentary coffee/tea and cookie on check-in were appreciated. The room I stayed in was roomy with every convenience (including refrigerator and small refrigerator). The decor is faux Victorian which can be a bit overwhelming for a minimalist like me, but considering the theme of the property it made sense. Garden well taken care of. Bed was comfy and the off-street parking was helpful. Only downside was that in my room (201) the floor in the bathroom slants down so some of the water escaped from the accessible shower and flooded the floor. Written warning about this would be helpful!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    115
    59
    47
    49
See reviews for
84
107
39
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Was an alright place to stay for the proximity of businesses in the area; however I would not stay again. Was expecting a little more of an upscale experience. This hotel was recommended by an acquaintance, but when researching the property at its website and on others the photos don't provide an accurate picture of the condition of the property. I consistently had muddy water from the faucet, dusty upholstered furniture and a few other very small things. Luckily my stay was very short. My stay wasn't unpleasant, the staff was friendly however if I revisit the area I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have stayed here twice and have been satisfied both times. This is not a large hotel that is part of a chain. We most often stay in large chains - Hilton, Marriott, etc -- but have stayed here because of the location and value. The rooms are not fancy, but the beds are comfortable, the in room entertainment (direct TV) good, and there's free parking. You can also walk to local restaurants, a Whole foods market, and other stores. The breakfast is ok, but is included in room price. There are no elevators, so if you don't want to/can't carry your bags up flights of stairs, ask for a 1st floor room. The court yard garden with flowers and benches is very nice and pleasantly fragrant when the flowers are blooming.

Room Tip: we got a large king room with a fireplace, microwave, and refrigerator for $159/night. there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmg1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

It was horrible experience.
They did an obvious mistake with customer receipt, wrong name and last name and the number of guests. The manager had awful attitude responding that and he was not accountable for correcting this mistake.
They do not care about customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: It was horrible experience. They did an obvious mistake with customer receipt, wrong name and last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Berkeley hotels

bay area, california
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I just stayed here on Saturday as I was seeing Michael Franti at the Greek theatre on campus and didn't want to drive back home after. Good location for walking to the Greek - safe area.
I had a queen bedroom in the main building. It is definitely older, but the room was nicely decorated and aside from the age, there was nothing wrong with the room - lots of pillows and the bed was fine, no strange smells and everything was clean. Satellite TV with the guide feature was a nice bonus, and while the TV is still an old CRT it worked without any issues. It also wasn't very noisy in the main building where we stayed, and the neighborhood itself seemed quiet.
Overall the hotel itself is what you would expect. The biggest thing I noticed was the great customer service. We arrived a half hour before 3pm checkin but that wasn't a problem. The man who checked us in was very friendly and really seemed to care about the customer experience. We got their early and parked in the hotel parking, but I noticed that if you did have to park on the street they gave full details about what streets to park on and what the restrictions (street sweeping, etc.) were. I really got the impression that the customer experience is really important here - even though we never needed anything extra. I would definitely stay here again if the price is competitive to the other place in the area - it was this time.
Wifi is the only thing that wasn't good - it is available and free, but the signal in our room was too weak to make it useable. But we didn't really need it so it wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashcalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,264 reviews
5.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 km away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
774 reviews
0.9 km away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
259 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,716 - ₹ 21,311
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing