We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in north Berkeley! We'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brick Path Guest Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Berkeley B&B and Inns
cucinista24
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in north Berkeley! We'll be back!”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here only one night on a week's vacation in the Bay Area. I would gladly stay there again. We had the fireplace room, which is spacious, with a very comfortable bed and nice private bathroom with shower. There's a reading area near the fireplace with two comfortable arm chairs, and excellent sound separation from other guest rooms. The nearby street is busy during the day, but I've never slept better. The delicious continental breakfast (fresh fruit, scones, yoghurt, muesli, good coffee, etc.) was nicely served on the patio, though alternately,we could have had it in our room. Very pleasant innkeeper, attentive to guests' needs, and if we had not already had dinner plans, a very short walk to Solano avenue, for some great restaurants and shops. Good value, and I think nicer than other similarly priced accommodations in the East Bay or San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cucinista24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
31
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I am a former resident of this area and had been back many times to visit. The Brickpath is a gem and a lovely surprise ! I loved the room that Wendy Sprague, the owner of this B&B. had put me in for this visit. It has a separate entrance, a wonderful and warm bedroom with a small desk, a small kitchenette, a spacious bathroom, and a view of the courtyard. I came from a busy and hectid work week and am so grateful for this beautiful and calm space! On top of all this, it is located within walking distance to Solano Avenue, one of my most favorite neighborhood in Berkeley. I can walk out to this area literally in five minute to my favorite bookstore, cafe, ect...It is heaven on Earth ! And Wendy is most kind and helpful in everything that I had asked and requested information for. The Brickpath truly is a calm, private, and rejuvenating oasis in the middle of Berkeley. I truly recommend it to anyone who would like to have a relaxing time away from home, yet have access to everything that a small and charming city has to offer.
Rose T. Nguyen (Ventura, CA.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I’ve stayed at The Brick Path several times, sampling all the rooms over the past several years. I always LOVE coming back here.
My most recent stay was in August of 2011. What I like most about it is its calmness, which greets one throughout the gardens and is further echoed in the serene furnishings in the rooms – nothing overdone, simple and tasteful. And the location is ideal with Solano Avenue a mere 3 minute walk away -- a major commercial street with plenty of good restaurants, coffee spots, bakeries and boutiques. I always take the opportunity to take a good long walk in the Berkeley hills, which are right there, with winding streets and narrow paths throughout as well as interesting architecture and lots of gardens to view.
Wendy, the innkeeper, has created a truly lovely environment and is very attentive to her guests needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyM928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I have stayed at The Brick Path six times in the past seven years. When i leave, I want to return! It is a perfect get-away with a garden setting, luscious breakfasts, luxurious bedding, smart decor, and a delightful and helpful proprietor, Wendy Sprague. Lots of planning went into making this such a exceptional place. It's close (1 1/2 block) to shops of all kinds (book store, gourmet grocery store, stationery store, shoe store, Peet's and Starbuck's, and more). Don't miss this fabulous destination!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbb12549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here while visiting friends in Berkeley. We strayed in the fireplace room, which indeed has a working gas fireplace and even a piano in the room. The owner made us feel quite at home. The location is great, just a few blocks from a great neighborhood of restaurants and stores and it was within walking distance of our friends' house. The B&B has a really nice garden with areas to sit.

All in all, the best place we stayed on our trip. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
3.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.5 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.7 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.1 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
4.6 km away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brick Path Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brick Path Guest Suites

Property: The Brick Path Guest Suites
Address: 1805 Marin Ave, Berkeley, CA 94707-2414
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,011 - ₹ 12,272
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate and welcoming, Berkeley Brick Path Guest Suites is located in North Berkeley, just around the corner from Solano Avenue, one of Berkeley's best neighborhood shopping areas, and approximately two miles from UC Berkeley. The Brick Path offers two attractive suites - The Tuscan Suite and The East-Meets-West Cottage - and beautiful yards and gardens. Both rooms have modern private baths, separate guest entrances, high-speed wireless Internet, and exceptionally comfortable queen-size beds. The Cottage has a full kitchen; The Tuscan Suite has a kitchenette. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing