We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly experience !”
Greeting the day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greeting the day
Front walkway Entry hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Greeting the day
Front walkway
Entry hall
Stairs to Asia Suite
Asia Suite with great queen bed
Asia Suite
Asia Suite dresser
Asia Suite bath
Library as a sitting room
Library with queen bed
Treehouse
Treehouse
Hall bath
Kitchen towards dining room
Kitchen towards front window
Living room
Back garden from deck
Back garden from deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berkeley, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lavienros...
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Heavenly experience !”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband planned to visit UC Berkeley in August 2014 during which he wanted to spend most of the time in reading and writing at home other than the appointed meeting. As such, our needs were somewhat different from those of other holiday makers and the last minute booking in the holiday season was very difficult among downtown holiday apartments which had been actually fully booked. I eventually found NBHH which is a guesthouse outside the downtown but this turned out to be fortunate of us. Terry was very quick and conscientious in responding to my inquiries before and during our two-week stay which became a heavenly experience for us. We liked her house which is charmingly decorated by her selection of artworks giving peaceful and serene ambience. Terry was quite helpful in providing more-than-expected information as well as attentive in spotting our needs and interests. She booked Chez Panisse for us and spent her time taking us to a local farm, farmer’s market celebration, supermarkets and a picnic concert in San Francisco, each of which could have never been easily accessible for visitors like us. Soon we liked North Berkeley much more than the downtown, because of nice neighborhood, peaceful environment and stunning view of the bay area which we enjoyed like locals. Do I want to return? Yes, indeed, we actually re-booked Terry’s house rescheduling the rest of our itinerary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpfulness of the owner
Liked least: unstable wifi in the private room (okay at the common area)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSB1980
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay ... highly recommend!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our stay with Terry was a very pleasant experience. We were in Berkeley looking for an apartment and she was very helpful in our search. She worked closely with us to help identify the best areas to live and what the price range of each area should be. When we found a place to live, she was very helpful with information about where we would could go to furnish our new living space. During our five day stay, she was very friendly and approachable, answering any and all questions we had. She also went above and beyond to help us get rental applications filled and submitted late at night. We highly recommend staying with Terry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terry, the owner. She goes out of her way to help with virtually anything!
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill O
Lakewood, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A warm, comfortable and welcoming home-away-from-home environment created by an equally warm and gracious owner, Terri....I visit Berkeley 2-3 times a year, have stayed in various places and have found my new second "home" in this lovely hillside spot. Thank you, Terri, for sharing your sacred space and the persimmon chutney was delicious! See you soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Oct 2012
Please note that the Asia Suite has a private, en suite bath. When the lower-cost Library and Treehouse, where this guest stayed, are both booked, guests know in advance that they will share a bath. We are exploring adding another!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UAE
Reviewed 29 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing