We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Review of Super 8 Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Berkeley
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 26 April 2012

this motel was practically perfect. great beds. beautiful bathroom, all new facilities. Manager Tony was very helpful. reasonable price. recommend strongly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cub29576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for being a part of the Super 8 family, its brings us joy to provide excellent service to you- please come back soon we will give you 10% off on your next stay. Have a very SUPER day and please come back to enjoy the super breakfast and hig speed internet we provide as well.

With much respect,

management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 343 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was skeptical when I read this was the most upscale Super 8 of all time, but the reviews were right. The price is right and the location is convenient for touring town as well as the entire Bay Area. The room was a bit small, but you gotta see the shower - black, by the way, is the way to go - no grime.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

We are SUPER happy you enjoyed you stay with us and welcome to the SUPER 8 family! Brings us joy to hear you enjoyed the bathrooms, price and service overall. THanks for taking the time out and posting a good review, please come back again we will give you 10% off on your next stay for being a SUPER GUEST! THanks have a bless day!

with much respect,

Management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place was awful. The hotel room was dirty and the customer service was awful. I do not know what all of the positive reviews are talking about, because when I stayed here it was terrible. The person at the front desk was completely unreasonable and completely disrespectful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I know. Please stay away from this hotel if at all possible. There are plenty of cheap, respectable places to stay nearby. Avoid the Super 8 at all costs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

I am so sorry this is, "WRONG POSTING!" THIS IS THE WRONG SUPER 8! We have NO RECORDS you stayed at our hotel Please if you read this review please remove this review thanks! I am sorry you experienced this at one of the Super 8's I could offer you a 20% discount on your next stay please stay with our Super 8's give us another chance to prove we have agood service. Im sure it was a misunderstading at the Super 8 you stayed at! I am sorry on behalf of all the Super 8's! Please come back and feel the magic at the Super 8!

With much respect,

Management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I am the new student at Berkeley Campus and it was my first stay in this hotel. Everything was good experience: clean, service, location (near to campus, bart train, restaurants, everything). It is newly furnished apartment. Customer service was at best. Tony personally helped to show my room and explained me the service i would get during my stay. Every morning I got superb breakfast, awesome service and good rest. Overall, this is the only motel i would recommend to everybody in bay area. Love it.

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and newly furnished with free cable and coffee..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

We simply want to be the best at giving good service and put smiles on all of our guest. It brings us joy to give excellent service and brings even more joy to see a guest happy after they check out. please come again and we promise to achieve greater heights, inorder to give even better serive. thanks

Have a blessed day and with much respect,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Whereas the reviews are correct the Super 8 Berkeley is a quaint establishment that serves its purpose. However, I was unhappy with the customer service, it all began when I arrived. I arrived around 12:00 AM since I caught the last flight out, to say the least I was tired and was expecting to be greeted in a professional fashion. First off I rang the night bell several times before I was buzzed in by a gentleman who was in his sleeping gear, (that did not bother me as it was late and this was not a five star establishment).

What bothered me was the fact that he hastily asked for my identification and credit card without greeting me. Then he proceeded to take me through the regular hotel protocols in a hurried fashion, whatever questions I did have for him at the time were washed away when I felt rushed out. I asked him to direct me to the location of my room and he said "just go outside you'll see it". The room was more than adequate nice and sweet with all the amenities that are listed below. The room was cleaned thoroughly twice, overall it was clean and a well kept establishment.

Fast forward to the day I was due to leave, as I was walking out of my room at 10:59 AM (check out time is 11:00 AM), I hear the phone ring as such the case I did not answer it as I had a feeling it was the front desk. When I arrived there I viewed the gentleman proceeded to put the phone down and asked if I was ready to check out. Apparently they wanted me out of the hotel as fast as possible. He promptly took my key and, after a few awkward moments I asked if it that'd be all and he stated yes, never asked if I needed a receipt or anything of that sort just said, not even a good bye, all I received was a nod.

I will not be visiting this establishment when I visit the East Bay again. Horrible customer service!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.4 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
335 reviews
2 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
3.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
1.5 km away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
369 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#19 of 20 in Berkeley
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: ₹ 6,675 - ₹ 26,701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing