We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tidy, welcomng and close in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tidy, welcomng and close in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I felt welcomed and after several stays, was recognized by the staff. The breakfasts are nice and internet was always avaialble and I felt safe there. It's also quiet!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    131
    63
    17
    14
See reviews for
86
62
53
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stay here for a cheap, well located comfortable hotel in Berkeley

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnytft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at the Rodeway on seven different occasions between August and October 2011 and stayed in five different rooms during that period. My individual stays were from 3 to 4 nights each.
As others have noted the place is a good value for anyone wanting to stay in Berkeley for work or if you're visiting UC Berkeley. The rooms I stayed in were very good and varied little in quality/cleanliness and the beds seemed to all be decent and afforded me a good night's sleep. The staff was always helpful and attentive and I always felt personally secure and that my belongings were safe when I left the room for the day. The continental breakfast was average to very good (Starbucks coffee), although I always opted to carry my food back to the room because the little lobby sometimes filled up later in the morning.
I usually found a parking place in the parking lot, but on a couple of occasions after an eveing out I came back to a full lot. This was not a huge problem since there is plenty of on-street parking on University Ave that is free overnight until 9am.
I stayed at a couple of other comparable motels and I always gravitated back to the Rodeway because it fit my needs quite well.
I totally recommend this place for an economical (I always got the best deal through the Rodeway website), safe and clean place to stay in Berkeley.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms away from the street; they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oaklandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was my second, three night stay here. The rooms have been refurbished, are super quiet, have a fridge and microwave, and are a terrific value at around $65 per night. It comes with breakfast, but since I am gluten and dairy free, there isn't anything that I can eat except the coffee and juice. The staff was very helpful, and I felt safe as a single traveler. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peacefultravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed at the Rideway as the Holiday Inn on University we normally stay in was full. Most of the reviews on tripadvisor were positive and we were glad we stayed. Half the price of the Holiday Inn, and other than the rooms being somewhat smaller, hardly any difference. Spotlessly clean with everything you need to hand. The rooms are small but are more than adequate. Really helpful and very polite staff on front desk and the room cleaning staff have a great eye for detail. Great value for the money, we will be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zigazag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.3 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.4 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#10 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.9 km away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Property: Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,671 - ₹ 18,380
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing