We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step beyond the typical Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ippuku

Ippuku
Ranked #122 of 695 Restaurants in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A step beyond the typical Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

If you are familiar and comfortable with the typical American version of Japanese restaurants, this one will push you to farther limits. Dishes like winter-vegetable tempura, a variety of types of yakitori, bacon with mochi rice will expand your horizons concerning Japanese food. We also had whole cooked squid, minced chicken. A few dishes didn't grab me, but most of them were delicious and had surprising textures. They also have a wide selection of sake and shoju. I have been to Japan a few times, and there were tastes here that I did not have time to encounter in Japan either. You may want the waiter/waitress to walk you through the menu for suggestions. The next time I have a Japanese visitor in Japan, I will take him to Ippuku for an expert opinion. But I feel confident in asserting that someone of adventurous culinary tastes will enjoy a unique experience!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nealjking_njk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Yakitori!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Enter the restaurant and it feels as if you've been transported to an authentic Yakitori in Japan. The carefully skewered chicken thighs, squid, and chicken neck meat were all delicious. The age dash and kara age were also yummy. We'll be back to try the ramen and chicken tartare sometime soon! The variety of sho chu is amazing. Be prepared for an expensive, high quality dining experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FOODandTRAVELfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unique Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

A brilliant Japanese restaurant in downtown Berkeley. The dishes are unusual, excellently prepared and presented. I had some items from the robata grill and they were superb. The tempura was crisp and perfect. The staff is professional, friendly and very knowledgeable and the decor feels 'authentic' Japanese . I was really impressed and delighted to have found this jewel. However do not go there for sushi as there is none to be had. A welcome change from the usual fare !

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remopigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“For the adventurous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is an exotic addition, even to jaded Berkeley's dining scene. The interior is right out of a rustic Japanese inn, where you slide your feet into a cutout under the table from a bench. The menu is not Westernized, so some things will work for us gaijin, some not. The menu is featured around grilled items, particularly chicken, including skewers with all parts of the chicken. For the particularly adventurous, there's even chicken tartare. Less interesting for me was the grilled octopus, but the serving of sliced marinated steak and a concoction of baked mochi and bacon got my vote. There's also a happy hour for their wide range of bar selections, a "shochu school", so more opportunities to study and learn about new food and drink!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalUrsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ippuku also viewed

 
Berkeley, CA
 

Been to Ippuku? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing