We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious, yet stylish”
Review of Bancroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bancroft Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, yet stylish”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I was visiting Berkeley for a conference at the university, the campus of which this delightful hotel adjoins. Once a private clubhouse for women, it is a delightfully quirky place.

Yes the rooms - and the bathrooms in particular - are not that big; yes there is little cupboard space in them; and yes there are only stairs to take you up and down. But the rooms are spotless, many with great balconies; the staff is unfailingly courteous and cheerful; and the (free) breakfasts are fun and generous. It sounds very Californian to say it this way, but there is no denying : the vibes of the place are very, very good. And the Art Deco look is superb.

One very impressive factor : we stayed five nights. Around 5 .30 our final morning we were woken by some thunderous noises from the heating pipes- which unsurprisingly we complained about. We were told immediately that we would not be charged at all for that night's stay - "you are in a hotel to get a good night's sleep, and our pipework denied you that, so why should we charge you?"

There is also an automatic $10 discount for a dinner at the excellent restaurant next door - a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewjameswarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancroftHotel, General Manager at Bancroft Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us while at the conference, and your kind words. We strive to give the best customer service possible, with this historic building we have to work in. Some people see our smallish rooms as a downside, where as I see it as one of our best features. While recently renovating the rooms we did our best to maintain the historic nature of the hotel, while adding many eco products, like organic cotton bedding, and recycled content carpet tile. These items (and others) are designed for comfort and style, but also for guests to dig deeper and explore for their own homes.

On a side note we fixed the boiler after your stay, turns out a pump blew that circulates all the hot water for the heaters! Up and running the next day!

Thank you very much for choosing the Bancroft Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    39
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
23
30
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I had a room on the 3rd floor (be prepared to lug your bags up steps-- no elevator). Everything is tiny, musty and pretty reminiscent of a bad, heavily used dorm-room. The toilet is small and rickety, the shower had really bad water pressure, the fixtures kinda work, the radiator is grumpy and busted, there are patches of badly cracked paint on the ceiling and in the bathroom, there's a 12" x 12" square on the ceiling that is duct-taped up with blue tape. yikes. Everything is run down and pretty low-rent.

That said, the bed is pretty comfortable, and the location of the hotel is terrific.

Be sure to request a QUIET room. One side of the hotel is apparently significantly noisier than the other.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iron_monkey_fist666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Another hotel in Berkeley was overbooked and they asked us if we'd switch to the Bancroft. Grumbling a little, we accepted. We were very pleasantly surprised by the attentiveness of the staff, the spacious room with arts and crafts accents. The property is directly across the street from the Berkeley campus. The continental breakfast featured freshbaked pastries from a coffee shop owned by the same management. Their impressive living area/ballroom space is sparcely furnished and they don't have an elevator, but the staff is willing to take care of your bags, up and down. They are less expensive than our original booking and, at least during this "school's out" timeframe, they offered discounts to nearby restaurants that were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i10q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The staff members were helpful, the room was very clean, and the continental breakfasts were better than most. The hotel is small, quiet, and has charming interiors. It is heritage listed. The room I stayed in was small, but large enough for my needs. There is a great coffee shop next door, and the northern end of the UCB campus and Telegraph Lane are in close walking distance. The large hall and lounge on the ground floor is a wonderful space, but is under-utilized.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I always put the mom-in-law up here when I lived in Berkeley and now when I visit I stay here, too. It's quaint and small. No real amenities and a little rundown, but it's great to sit on the rooftop and gaze out at the Bay. Location is also supreme, right across from campus and next to Strada. Depending on the rate, it can be a good value, too, although never cheap. Hotel Durant is more luxurious, but creeps me out and Henry Blake's is a loud, raucous bar you have to deal with if you stay there. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Berkeley.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvg_loves_cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,246 reviews
0.2 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
0.7 km away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
1.5 km away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
5.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancroft Hotel

Property: Bancroft Hotel
Address: 2680 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1717
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,788 - ₹ 14,535
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bancroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancroft Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing