We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$116
View deal
BestWestern.com$116
Priceline$116
Expedia.com$116
Hotels.com$116
Travelocity$116
Hurb$120
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
441
345
163
72
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
345
163
72
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican restaurant amtrak station attached restaurant convention center room was clean waffles restaurant next door downtown bakersfield pleasant stay stay there again free breakfast parking lot very nice hotel road trip one night stay las vegas bw
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2022

It was a good place, price wasn’t bad BUT could be better. The only thing is their building where their rms are doesn’t have elevators so that I didn’t like. I had to switch floors because of that fact. I would recommend them putting elevators in to make it easier to bring up big heavy luggage to the other floors.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank AlexanderLubbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022

Hi AlexanderLubbe,

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! We appreciate your compliments and we take high pride in the peaceful ambiance that we can provide to our guests. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we continuously work on bettering our services. We will do our best to make sure your next stay with us is completely satisfactory. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2022 via mobile

One of the worst hotel experiences of my life…. We arrived late and checked into our room. The room and sheets were clean which was nice. As soon as we laid down you could hear the people above us stomping around as the floor creeks. We did our best to ignore that until the belligerent guests in the neighboring room started screaming at each other and slamming their room door. I woke up 4 or 5 times through the night because the walls are paper thin, YOU CAN HEAR EVERYTHING. In the morning the house cleaning was standing outside our door at 7am speaking loudly to each other and laughing. I would never stay here again even if it was free, I worked the next day on 4 hours of sleep. 2 stars because it was clean, other only 1 star.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Teo916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022

Dear Teo916,

First of, thank you for sharing your feedback and for the great comment on our hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. However, I want to apologize for the noises that disturb your rest, All Front Desk Clerks are instructed and trained on how to handle these types of issues and I'm very sorry they failed to correct this problem for you.

The management of the hotel was not expecting such an event as it never happened before. Rest assured that it will never happen again as we will provide a better stay to our guests. Thank you and I am hoping that you can give us another chance to prove our service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2022

We booked this hotel not knowing anything about Bakersfield and although was a nice hotel once we got there travelled through some interesting parts of the city to arrive there. We also had difficulty on a Sunday night finding a restaurant that we felt comfortable eating at. Friendly and accommodating staff at check-out but not so much at check-in. Breakfast left much to be desired as it consisted of a choice of three box meals...

Room tip: Rooms are on a central corridor and they were quiet at night.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X6339SFjohnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2022

Dear X6339SFjohnv,

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! We appreciate your compliments and we take high pride in the peaceful ambiance that we can provide to our guests. We hope to see you stay with us more in the future as we promise to push our services better to provide you the most pleasant stay that you can find. We thank you that you highlighted our strengths in your review. May you return again soon and feel comfortable just like the last time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2022

We planned our trip to pass through Bakersfield. We like the Best Western Plus brand, and chose Hill House even though it's a couple of miles off the freeway. We had an enjoyable stay, it was quiet at night, the breakfast was very tasty. Located where it is, it's not the most convenient location for the freeway traveler, but the directions to get there from the 99 freeway were easy enough to follow. If one is going to the convention center, a hockey game, or the railway station, and need a place to stay, this is a great location.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank OnAir57859349490
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2022

Hi OnAir57859349490,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our location and services were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2022

I surprised by how nice the rooms were. The furniture wasn't outdated like most BW, and the bed was super comfortable, and the room was cleaned extremely well. I have to go back next week and will stay again.

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bryant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2022

Dear Bryant B,

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! We appreciate your compliments and we take high pride in the peaceful ambiance that we can provide to our guests. We hope to see you stay with us more in the future as we promise to push our services better to provide you the most pleasant stay that you can find. We thank you that you highlighted our strengths in your review. May you return again soon and feel comfortable just like the last time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews