We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$116
View deal
Booking.com$116
Priceline$116
BestWestern.com$116
Hotels.com$116
Travelocity$116
Hurb$120
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveller rating
434
339
162
72
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
434
339
162
72
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican restaurant amtrak station attached restaurant convention center room was clean waffles downtown bakersfield pleasant stay stay there again free breakfast parking lot very nice hotel road trip one night stay bw pet motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2019

Check in was easy. Nice staff. They explained that breakfast would be down the hall in a restaurant. We had some trouble getting our room door to open. It was one of those electronic key things. It clicks green but when you try to open it it's seems like the the inside safety latch is on. We hadn't been in yet so I doubt that it was. I was about to give up when my wife gave it a try. She finally got it to open. At 3 AM we heard the manager outside trying to help another man get in his room. they were having the exact same problem. The room was okay. Large King with a small couch. Good fridge and micro. The bed is pretty firm. Definitely could use one of those pillow top mattress' like they had at the BW in Corning. We had room #140. "Elephants above us." Next time we'll ask for the top floor. There's only two floors and the stairs are short, no elevator.
They don't serve breakfast in the hotel anymore. You walk through the lobby to a mexican restaurant next door.
25 minute wait in line for breakfast. Breakfast was okay. About 7 choices on the menu. No prices listed. Don't know what they do if people walk in off the street to eat. Eat what you pick, leave a tip and you're gone.

Room tip: 2nd floor.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thank you for your feedback as we continue to strive for the very best in customer care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

Very nice hotel. Clean, great location. Really nice pool. Love the “makeup” light with fan!Also love the ready to use body wash, shampoo and conditioner dispensers. Also plenty of towels to use. Comfortable beds.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jasminestar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thank you for your feedback as we continue to strive for the very best in customer care. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

We stayed one night with our pet. Very clean room , smelled great and it was a quiet hotel and we enjoyed our stay . There was grass where our dog could potty and the grounds were very clean and well kept . The staff was friendly and accommodating. The restaurant was fabulous as they prepared our dinner even though they just closed when we arrived , the food was excellent. We would stay here again !

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thank you for your feedback as we continue to strive for the very best in customer care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

Nice older hotel that has been remodeled but still needs work on the noise. Dog area very small. There was no freezer in the refrigerator, HVAC very loud, the light over the bathroom sink not helpful and the shower head needs to be cleaner.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank gkmusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

Thank you for your feedback as we continue to strive for the very best in customer care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

We were attending a Toby Keith concert at the Rabobank arena and picked this hotel because of the proximity , it’s only a 5 minute walk ! perfect. !! Hotel is dated but rooms are spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. Complimentary breakfast at restaurant next door was very good. Overall a very good value.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank radar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We take pride in the added historical texture our hotel brings to the fabric of Downtown Bakersfield and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews