We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
23
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverattention to detailb bsjudysunsetmontrealpillowshomegemnbdrivevacationhouse
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Upon reviewing Sunset on the River, one needs to include another "B". Sunset on the River would be classified as a B-B & B, meaning Beautiful Bedroom, Beautiful Breakfast and Beautiful Hosts. When you drive into the driveway you first notice the beautiful home, surrounding property and magnificent backdrop of the Saint John River. We were cheerfully greeted at the front door by Tom and later by Judy in the foyer. You can tell upon entering the home that it is immaculately cared for with lots of attention to detail and family values. We were shown to a beautiful corner room ( Mactaquac Room ) that was over sized for what one would think of in bedrooms.There was also a full bath that included a Jacuzzi tub for one to enjoy. The bed was dressed with quality bedding and you were given a choice of full down pillows or foam, which was a nice added touch. With a nice breeze off the river, we had a wonderful and very relaxed sleep. In the morning we were again greeted by our very friendly hosts and served a splendid breakfast starting with a large glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, followed by a fresh and enjoyable fruit parfait topped with fresh yogurt, which was followed by a lovely omelet made with all fresh ingredients and two lovely maple sausages, and amble cups of coffee. When we did not touch the lovely fresh muffins....only because we were so full...Judy was quick to wrap them so we could take them along with us. The bonus for us was the enjoyable conversations we had with Tom & Judy on this day as we were lucky to be their only guests.
Unfortunately for us we had only the one night to spend at the Sunset on the River B-B & B, but we can assure you that as the Sunsets on the River we shall return, the very next time we are in this area.
The added photos are with a cellphone camera so picture quality is poor...sorry for that. Rooms were far nicer than my photos.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms at Sunset on the River would be a great choice, all are lovely
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealSnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We did have some trouble finding this place since it is outside Fredricton. If you look at the picture on tripadvisor, it would help you to locate it. The hosts were very welcoming. Pleasant room with a river view and a jaccuzi (which we didn't use). Breakfast was fabulous! A good fruit yogurt combination and lemon/mushroom eggs benedict (which I even liked though eggs benedict are not my favorite). It is very convenient to King's Landing settlement if you're visiting there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davetnr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Tom and Judy are exceptional hosts, and generously share their beautiful home. We had a memorable three days and have never felt so relaxed and welcome. Judy prepares the most wonderful breakfasts with great ingredients.
The accommodation was luxurious with fabulous views of the river and the beautiful garden, and amazing sunsets!
The best B&B we have stayed in and we would recommend that you make a detour to visit and meet Tom and Judy. We hope to visit again next time we travel to New Brunswick.
London UK

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Third trip to this amazing B&B. Hosts , Tom and Judy are so accomodating, friendly and make you feel right at home.Rooms are beautiful, spacious, comfortable, immaculate, with a view of the river.I recommend the Macdequac room, very large, with a nice jacuzzi. If you enjoy serenity, you will love it here, very relaxing and beds are cozy. Breakfast...what an experience....truly gourmet (ex; gran mariner french toast, hot fresh muffins, yogurt with fresh berries, eggs beni with dill and lemon sauce......etc...etc...) so delicious........not to mention the beautiful table setting, classical music and river view. What more could you ask for. Thank you Tom and Judy for a great stay, we will be back soon........People, check the reviews.......try it you will love it guaranteed........

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elgiovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Of all the B&B's that we have stayed in this in our opinion is the Gold standard of the business. Tom and Judy Spink are your hosts, their home is right on the St. John river, with a beautiful view. Their home has been built and laid out with B&B in mind. The rooms all have a river view and are of the highest quality throughout. Their breakfast's are excellent, fresh fruit and baking, cooked just like Mom would.
If you can't feel at home the moment you walk in the door by their welcoming demeanor and engaging personality, then I might suggest you are better off in a hotel.
We have stayed there now twice and both times it has felt like we are in our own home.
I recommend this B&B without reservation to anyone who is in need of some pampering, and a great value for your money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnarly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews