We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dont let the website put you off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Craggan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Craggan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Garden of England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Dont let the website put you off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Craggan is actually quite a clean and bright place to stay and eat, unlike the impression the website gives.

The Craggan isn’t actually in Tongue, but is about 5 miles away on the western side of the Kyle of Tongue. In fact it is quite easy to drive past it without knowing you have gone past a hotel as it is hidden back from the road.

We had a nice view out from our room, which was a little small but not too bad. They have though managed to get a sink in the room, and as none of the rooms are en-suite this is a big plus.
The rooms are also reasonably well sound proofed so whilst you will hear some noise of people going to or from the bathroom, you don’t hear any noise from their bedrooms, nor do you hear any noise from the pub below. Yes it is a reasonably basic room, but has a nice feel to it and is well priced, so we were quite happy there.

The food in the restaurant though is of a much higher quality, being fantastically well presented and well cooked. We were very impressed with the choice on offer, but were even more impressed when we actually got to taste it, as it was fantastic and not very expensive either. The pub itself doesn’t feel posh or top quality, but the food really is, and would be well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    31
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
59
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We came upon this small hotel by chance whilst wandering in our motor home. It is truly a gem of a place with superb meals and hospitality in an area of tranquility and beautiful sea views. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The only place in Tongue that serves food between 2pm and 5pm. Came here for a late lunch and was instantly impressed by the warm, smiling reception I got here from the waitress. I arrived on a bike and she asked (obviously genuinely interested) where I'd just come from. Great big portion of haddock and home-made chunky chips with a side of mushy peas and tartare sace - delicious when washed down with an ice-cold Guinness. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvanhee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent a night at the Craggan as part of a tour round Scotland on 2 Harleys.
We were made very welcome, the place is spotlessly clean, the locals are friendly, the service was prompt and friendly, and the food was nothing but memorable. Add in the incredible views, and I would be back again if it wasn't so far. Do yourself a favour and try it - Kate, the host, makes you very welcome. Oh, and did I mention the great beer?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Visited this place as was staying in a nearby b&b. Very surprised. Doesn't look anything much from the outside but the food is fantastic. To start I had Oven Roasted Apple & Pear with Pan Fried Goats Cheese and a Sweet Chilli Sauce. Delicious. To follow I had Pan Fried Loch Eriboll Scallops with Sauteed Potatoes, Tomato Salsa and Sweetcorn Puree. Beyond delicious. The scallops were big, fat and juicy and really well cooked. Kate Mackay is a lovely host and Amy worked her socks off out front but always with a smile. Great cooking from a young team in the kitchen. If you're in the area then go. It's wonderful. And some great craic in the bar area afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadget52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
4.8 km away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.7 km away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
5.0 km away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Borgie Lodge
Borgie Lodge
#4 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
34.5 km away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
29.7 km away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craggan Hotel

Property: The Craggan Hotel
Address: Melness | Lairg, Sutherland, Tongue IV27 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Craggan Hotel Tongue
The Craggan Hotel Tongue, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing