We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!”

Review of Edingtonhill House

kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
kitchen through to dining room lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
kitchen
kitchen through to dining room
lounge
lounge
master bedroom
master bedroom en suite
double bedroom
family room
upper lounge
pool and sauna
pool hall
balcony view
driveway and entrance
garden
patio
hot tub
kitchen at night
Northumberland coast
nearby bamburgh castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Chirnside, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzanne D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this house out for a party of 14 girls on a hen weekend and it was perfect! The house is quite hard to find so leave plenty of time for arriving! The house itself is beautiful and very clean, the pool and hot tub are kept very well and the views are amazing! The house is quite close to Chirnside that has a shop for supplies and we took a trip into Berwick upon Tweed that took about 15 minutes in the car. In addition, the owners of the house were so helpful and friendly from the start. Great house, great location, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay Suzanne!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegas-sco...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wasted weekend by the owner”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

house is absolutely brilliant couldn't fault it accept its a bit hard to find. However the thing that wastes it for this property is the owner. we had a full group of 20 of is and we are in mid 20s. we spilled drinks in the hallway (which is a cream carpet...i know cream in a hall, says it all) and the owners over reacted to how expensive it was to clean it. Most of the carpets were stained as they are cream and you would expect this in a holiday home. the owners took £300 to clean the carpets and additional cleaner. we cleaned the house as best we could and they hire 3 cleaners for 4 hours so if they can't tidy the house and clean it within that time then they need to hire new cleaners. all in all great property, pain to get to, pain to deal with owners. next time its butlins

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: not dealing with the owners
Liked least: dealing with the owners
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2015
Stephen, I am absolutely disgusted with this response. The stains that you left on our carpets took more than a week to remove, the mess that your group left in the house was disgusting to the point where my cleaners nearly walked out. To say that you cleaned the best you could is laughable. Only once have I had a group make more mess. It was a pain to deal with me? Really? I think that Butlins would be more suitable for your group.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainec...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hen weekend”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this fabulous house for the weekend and were delighted with the facilities - unfortunately the sauna was out of use but it did not spoil our enjoyment of the hot tub, BBQ and lovely swimming pool. Difficult to find the house though and sat nav took everyone in a different direction but once there, we enjoyed every moment. Lovely large lounge and kitchen, ideal for socialising.
All in all, a fantastic time was had by all but lack of communication from the owner at this time (due to personal understandable circumstances) made the organising of the hen do a slightly stressful .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous facilities - hot tub recommended
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay Lorraine and apologies again for the communication problems this summer!! kind regards Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ains01
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great large house for group of people - whether family or friends it caters for all.
Excellent facilities - from outdoor hot-tub, indoor pool & sauna to the large kitchen and log Fire.
Set in beautiful countryside close to a small village and main roads - slightly difficult to find as the final travel direction ie the sign For the house itself isn't there but all in all a fabulous place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamson22
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing place for a group of friends to have a fantastic break!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There were 17 of us, all girlfriends for years who came for a weekend break, we had an absolutely fantastic time, the house is very spacious, great rooms, perfect kitchen/dining area and comfortable lounge with amazing views! The added huge bonus of the great sized pool, sauna, and hot tub just made our weekend. We were fortunate to have beautiful weather for October/November, so went for lovely walks in the surrounding woods and countryside with some of us visiting the local pub in Chirnside and meeting the most welcoming locals. We also had lovely chats with Alison's father whilst he was preparing the pool and hot tub for the days use., he was a really nice man! We would definitely return and highly recommend it!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing