We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning House”

Review of Edingtonhill House

kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
kitchen through to dining room lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
kitchen
kitchen through to dining room
lounge
lounge
master bedroom
master bedroom en suite
double bedroom
family room
upper lounge
pool and sauna
pool hall
balcony view
driveway and entrance
garden
patio
hot tub
kitchen at night
Northumberland coast
nearby bamburgh castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Chirnside, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynsey M
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning House”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for my hen do and had an amazing time. The house is huge and beautifully decorated. Everyone fell in love and no-one wanted to leave. The pool is amazing as is the hot tub and sauna. The hot tub was topped up early on Saturday morning ready for another day of relaxing. There is nothing I would change about this property it was just superb. Only down side was that we all got lost :-( There is no sign at the turnoff to the properties and we all had to double back on ourselves. Some were lost for up to an hour! We tied a pink ribbon at the entrance to help others still to arrive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was my favorite room, my dream kitchen. Loved the pool too.
Liked least: Trying to find the place.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There were 16 of us who stayed at Edingtonhill house to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday. The house is a bit tricky to find, so pay close attention to Alison's directions. Advisable to arrive when it is daylight as most of our friends got lost trying to find the house. The house is fantastic- very large with plenty of space for everyone. The kitchen is well equipped and the living room is spacious, comfortable and there is Sky TV and plenty of DVDs to watch. The dining room is large enought to accomodate everyone. There is also mini table tennis in the utility room. The swimming pool and sauna were excellent and the hot tub is the biggest hot tub I have ever seen! There is a BBQ however we did not use it considering the time of year.

The swimming pool and the hot tub are attended to daily. The hot tub is topped up daily but on the Saturday of our stay it did not appear to have been topped up very much. I contacted Alison (the owner) by text about this and she replied promptly to let me know it had and if we needed it topped up further to let her know and she would arrange. Alison was very helpful about any queries we had about the house. There was a small hamper on our arrival with tea, wine, biscuits etc which was a nice touch.

Apparently there is a nice Thai restaurant (from trip advisor) that does takeaway. It is in Duns but unfortunately the chef was off sick when we were at the house. We ordered chinese takeaway from a takeaway in Duns- I cannot recall the name of the takeaway (there are a few chinese takeaways in Duns). The food was ok, but you do need to go and collect it yourself.

Overall the house is fantastic and the pool/sauna/hot tub add to the whole experience. The only negative is the late check in time of 4pm. Check out is 10am, however we paid an extra £50 to check out at 12 midday on the Sunday. There is the option to pay a further £50 to check in from 2pm. You need to strip the beds and put all dirty towels in the utility room which is fine if it helps turn around times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool/sauna/hot tub
Liked least: Late check in time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms, cleanliness & facilities
Liked least: Trying to find the house in the dark when we first arrived
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgowpa...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We hired this house for a friends 30th birthday for the weekend and everyone agreed it was amazing. The house is massive, has beautiful big rooms and everything is of top quality. There were plenty of bathroom facilities around the house and all the en suite's were massive. All my friends agreed that it was perfect and we're all desperate to go back. Would highly recommend and the owner, Alison, couldn't be more helpful and accommodating. It's a perfect place for a large group or family to spend some quality time together and have fun - indoor swimming pool, sauna and hot tub, what more could you ask for?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing