We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in an perfect location to explore...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Number 4 Cottage, Mounthooly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Number 4 Cottage, Mounthooly
Cottage garden in full bloom Side Garden in full bloom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Front of Number 4 Cottage, Mounthooly
Cottage garden in full bloom
Side Garden in full bloom
Tea on the new deck
New deck to front of cottage
Cosy Cottage Living Room with Beams and Wood Burning Stove
Large modern dining kitchen with Smeg dishwasher
Large bathroom with bath and shower
Little red WC
Barn doors
Large double bedroom (ground floor)
Lamp in large double bedroom
Twin with upholstered headboard (ground floor)
Lamp in Twin (ground floor
Bedroom 2 - window
Twin bedroom (attic)
4 star graded by VisitScotland
The gate on Number 4
Walk to Kelso along the River Teviot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Jedburgh, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
David G
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage in an perfect location to explore the Scottish Borders”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We recently stayed at Number 4 and would thoroughly recommend it. The cottage was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. When we arrived (it's easy to find with the clear instructions) we were tired after a 400 mile trip so were delighted to find some treats like wine in the fridge! (and essentials like milk, eggs and tea bags). The cottage is very well equipped and clearly a lot of thought has gone into ensuring you have everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. We had a couple of cool evenings during our week so it was lovely to light the log burning stove. Number 4 is in an ideal location with Kelso, Jedburgh and Melrose within 15-20 mins and only 1 hour from Edinburgh. We all really enjoyed our stay and should we visit the Borders again, we would definitely stay at Number 4.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, very well equipped and beautifully presented
Liked least: Master bedroom mattress was a bit firm for us but that's all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Hi there, thanks so much for your kind review and delighted you enjoyed your time in the Borders, and found the cottage to be well located for exploring. Yes, love the wood burner too, and starting to really come into the season for it now! Hope we can welcome you and you family back some time soon, kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamily20...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Warm Welcome with little extra's ( milk, tea, wine etc ). Everything you could possibly need.
Large comfortable bedrooms. Well equipped kitchen. Patio furniture very useful on sunny evenings. Ideal location in the Borders...ideal for Edinburgh and Holy Island both within an hours drive. Would definitely return. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: adults - beds....kids - wifi
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your time in the cottage and took full advantage of the central Borders location! I also hope we might tempt you all back some time soon, and that the free wifi is enough of a draw for the teenagers! Also hope some of the walks were a success, even if the weather was a bit mixed- always the cosy wood burner to come back to. Kind regards and thanks again for taking the time to post the review, Sarah and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the kids did too. Lots to do in the area for kids in Jedburgh at at the nearby Harestanes visitor centre. We think the deck at the front is a real asset too, and yes, it's great to see the sun go down on it with a glass of wine. Hope we can welcome you back some time soon with the family, kindest regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OZ-FAMILY...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE HOME YOU WANT IN THE LOCATION YOU'LL LOVE.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house is well laid out, and well appointed. The surrounding countryside is just as you expect Scotland to be. Only a few minutes out of Jedburgh; which is filled with restaurants and several historical attractions. Many smaller villages in surrounding area. If you are looking for a comfortable cottage in the country, close to a good selection of restaurants, yet only an hour or so from Edinburgh - then this is the place. Our party of three adults and two children (both 11 year old boys) - enjoyed our stay and would certainly come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to list
Liked least: We only booked for a week.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review. It was lovely to meet you all and hope you enjoyed the Borders and your trips to Edinburgh. So sorry about the DVD player and hope our back up was okay. All now working again! Hope the rest of your tour was a success and that we might tempt you back to explore the Borders again, kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutdoorEd
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quality Accommodation”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fantastic cottage everything is exactly as the photos and description on the web.We walked into a lovely clean,welcoming cottage which is really well equipped.The owner provided the travel cot and high chair we requested (both were excellent) and all sorts of extra goodies, logs, eggs, board games, bottle of wine, hair dryer and even milk in the fridge.
The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfy, constant hot water, clear instructions on how to work things, attractive garden with outside furniture and a gas BBQ available, perfect for a relaxing break.
The cottage is located next to the Caddy Man restaurant where we had a good traditional Sunday lunch all very convenient.
The owner is really helpful which makes booking and arrangements pre arrival easy, we have no hesitation in recommending this property to future guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exceeds expectations
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2014
Hi there, very many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm so glad you all had a great time and the facilities for your little guest were appreciated!The restaurant is lovely and family friendly so really glad you were able to enjoy that too. Hope we can welcome you back some time in the future (and have noted the wifi router number on the welcome sheet!), kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing