We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful getaway”
Review of Riad Dar Etto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Etto
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent a week here and had a wonderful, relaxing time - we were after a peaceful retreat and we had just that. It is quite remote, but once you've done the journey a couple of times in a taxi (to and from the main town for example) it's easy to direct to, plus the riad can arrange airport transfers and taxis for you. It's very quiet here and relaxing, we had one of the more basic rooms but it was lovely, traditionally decorated with plenty of space and en suite. Breakfast every day was lovely and was at whatever time you surfaced, perfect and chilled. We ate outside on one of the many terraces. We seemed to be the only couple staying for the longest time, with most people coming for a night or two but it was nice to meet the different people passing through. We ate dinner there wvery evening and the food was absolutely out of this world - we still look back and think how amazing it was. Delicious. Great staff, we weren't too hot on our French but we managed to cope ok. They arranged an excursion for us to go beach horse riding which was beautiful and also a lovely hammam within the complex.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurenbroadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Must start by saying how beautiful this Riad is, with a lovely pool and Bedouin tent outside great for chilling out away from the sun! The staff and owner were really friendly too, and even gave us a lift into Essaouira. As other guests have mentioned the breakfast was superb, rivalling a four star hotel.

However, unless you have your own transport it is very isolated. Went for a walk and the area around is very run down with rubbish everywhere. This Riad is literally an Oasis in the middle of an underdeveloped almost derilect village. The room we had (downstairs to left of stairs) had a bairly functioning shower with unclean dusty bedding. No alcohol available, would have been nice to have a glass of wine with dinner!

Overall nice, friendly Riad, but pick your room carefully and bring your own entertainment!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickeybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was a fantastic riad and well worth finding. It was hard to find with no signpost off the main road and we had to ask three people before anyone knew it! It's off the essaouira agadir road. From essaouira cross the river and on entering the next town look for the Swiss flag on the "k" restaurant ( I think that was the name of the restaurant) and by the "vivant poulet" shop. Go along the road opposite for about 1km and you will see a sign where you turn right and its there.

We had a great welcome and a lovely suite on the first floor with a door into the roof terrace. The pool was cool and refreshing and a the house was top class. Quite a new building with much character and a really nice atmosphere.

The owners and staff fixed a punctured tyre for us, taking it off to the village to be done and the hanged the tyre back for us too. Car was washed for us and overall a fantastic level of service.

Breakfast was the best we had n our travels

A must see in the way into Essaouira is the walk to the river from a car park just over the bridge five mins from the Riad. W watched around 17 Eleanor's falcons flying around both in their ing and evening. A fantastic display for any birders or tourists to watch - no binoculars needed! (Moussiers redstarts from the breakfast table too!)

Many thanks for a fantastic last night to our stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Dar Etto after two nights in Marrakech before our Riad in the Medina oc Essaouira. We wanted quiet and relaxation and that's exactly what we got. The chap running things day to day speaks very little (no) English but despite this we were treated incredibly well from the moment we arrived after bumping in an ancient Peugeot 205 down the rocky road to the Riad! We had a lovely dinner prepared for us at little cost and our room rearranged to provide us with separate beds. It was a shame the pool was a little too cold to use in April but the building and setting were great and we got to read by the pool in the sun waiting for out camel trek to pick us up the next day. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and I thoroughly recommend the riad for a short stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We cannot recommend this place enough as the space was stunning and was incredible value for money. You do need to be prepared to pay for the distance out of town but we knew this beforehand and can certainly confirm that you should pay no more than 50 dirhams. The taxi is booked by the riad on the way into town so there is no confusion over price. Be firm on your return journey as we did have to barter down from 100 dirhams but did secure the 50 dirham rate in the end. We thought it was well worth the additional hassle of being out of town as the riad is so tranquil, quiet and secluded that it added hugely to our holiday experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghazoua
12.9 km away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
278 reviews
6.1 km away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
849 reviews
3.2 km away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
1.1 km away
Villa Daba
Villa Daba
#20 of 75 in Essaouira
266 reviews
1.7 km away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Etto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Etto

Address: Km 8 ghazoua, Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira > Ghazoua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ghazoua
Price Range: ₹ 2,602 - ₹ 3,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Etto 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Etto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing