We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Dairy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dairy
Stone steps leading down to the Dairy Open living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
The Dairy
Stone steps leading down to the Dairy
Open living space
Fully equipped kitchen
Lounge with French Doors leading onto the Private Garden
Couch is a sofa bed
Couch is a sofa bed
Dairy from its private garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan J
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having walked past this property quite a few times it was our first stay here for a week. We just loved it! From our arrival to the Dairy it didn't take long to settle in, lovely private garden with camping chairs which were well used for a glass of wine or beer and even when it rained the canopy meant we were sheltered.
The bedroom was really warm and cosy too and ladder no problem, bed was very comfortable.
The Dairy has lots of space inside with a different view out of each window. Many extras were included which included a jug of fresh milk and coffee/tea and biscuits - thank you.
We will definitely be returning and looking forward to our next stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Departing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Many thanks for the review. Looking forward to seeing you again. The Dairy is now fitted with a wood burning stove adding to the charm.
Best regards, the Patterdale Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KScott171...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome accomodation, location and facilities”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from an amazing stay at the Dairy. Hard to express the high quality of this accomodation and location. Great for walking, sailing, cycling , sightseeing and pure luxury to return home to . Highly recommend this accomodation we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful luxury accomodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thanks for the kind words. We are very proud of it. See you again. The Patterdale Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona B
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Lakes Retreat”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Idyllic location, great house! Everything you need for a few nights of escape! Very cosy...especially when the weather turns!

Definitely a great place for exploring the Lakes! And Sean was a great host!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thanks for the review. Hope to see you again. Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned home from a fantastic stay at The Dairy - Patterdale Hall! We hadn't been to the lakes before and now, after a stay here, we will most certainly be back (hopefully in the near future).

The Dairy is a quirky and fun place to stay, the ladder up to the bedroom was fun, especially after a few drinks at the local pub! The kitchen is good; microwave, toaster, kettle, oven, grill, etc... Also oils, condiments, tin foils, milk and lots of other basics were available in the kitchen, which we thought was a nice touch.

In the back of the Dairy is a private garden with camp chairs, a BBQ and a picnic bench, we enjoyed a BBQ here on our second night and absolutely loved the feeling of being hidden away from the world in (what felt like) the middle of the woods.

The staff at the main property were very kind and helpful. We were shown around the Dairy upon our arrival and given some tips about what to do during our stay!

Glenridding and Patterdale are both a short walk from the property, lots of beautiful well marked footpaths and trails within walking distance too. We ended up at a 65ft waterfall (almost by accident).

A brilliant place to stay, we will most definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thanks for the review, we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, the Patterdale team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deantain
Lenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky but nice”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really lovely helpful staff on site. Plenty of room for two downstairs - bedroom is comfortable but very small - and would be good for the unfit or those who don't like ladders!
Kitchen well equipped with cooking utensils etc.(no w/m or tumble drier though).
Octagonal living room, nice tranquil gardn area with a friendly deer sticking his nose over the fence a couple of times

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The steep steps into and out of the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you for the review. We do have some very friendly deer. Best regards, the Patterdale team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing