We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage with brilliant views!!”
Helvellyn Cottage in the Lake District - Pets Welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Helvellyn Cottage in the Lake District - Pets Welcome
Living room with woodburner, leather sofas and great views Main bedroom with king sized bed and stunning views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Helvellyn Cottage in the Lake District - Pets Welcome
Living room with woodburner, leather sofas and great views
Main bedroom with king sized bed and stunning views
The twin bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen with seperate utility room
Fell views from the front windows
The view from the front door
Cottage garden with views across Ullswater to Place Fell
Pets welcome!
Close to Ullswater - Englands most beautiful lake
Pretty much the closet cottage to Helvellyn in Glenridding
Helvellyn and Red Tarn in Winter - a must see!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandrac12...
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage with brilliant views!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't fault our first visit to this cottage, Warm cosy cottage, and dog friendly. Everything as the website said. Warm welcome when we collected the keys, they took us to the cottage to show us around. Wood burner was lovely bonus .Welcome pack was a lovely touch with a nice bottle of red wine .Fantastic cottage and brilliant walks direct from the door without Moving the car. Brilliant week to celebrate our sons 18th Birthday . Bonus of good weather with snow still on top of the fells. Hope to return later in the year ! Thank you Rob & Emma x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy bedfordshire
Reviewed 14 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ngrrk
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, nice cottage”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Firstly, the area around here was my favourite area I went to after a week in the Lake District. It has a nice combination of not being too central but central enough and on the edge of a beautiful lake with lovely walks right off the doorstep. The cottage was nice but probably not as nice as I had been expecting after reading the previous trip advisor reviews. It is well equiped, and it is comfortable so really these are minor quibbles but after spending some time renting cottages in New Zealand this would rarely only rank as average. The booking process was swift and easy and the hosts respected our privacy, and although we didnt need to contact them, we were left in no doubt that they would have been quick to sort any problems out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Not quite as nice a cottage as I had expected
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepatts
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I didn't believe it could be sooo nice”
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband, two children (age 7 & 9) and a dog to stay at cottage number 1 - honestly I thought the cottage would be a bit small and we would spend the week tripping over each other - but no it was bliss.

The cottage is in a fabulous location (we could have not used the car all week), there are several low level and high walks straight from the cottage.

We walked every day - I thought we would eat out every night but the cottage was so nice to come back to we only ate out twice. There are a few shops in the village but they are not great I would take enough food next visit or apparently ASDA deliver!

The towels and bedding are beautiful (the sort of thing you would have in your own home - not the sort of thing you would expect from a holiday rental) The kitchen was well equipped with a nice big fridge.

With regards to the mattress in the main room - it must have been replaced because we found it very comfortable.

The cottage is a great get away from it all as we had NO mobile signal BLISS! only vodaphone get a reception.

The owners were very welcoming and even came to remove a tick from our dog for us.

If you are thinking of booking this property - not think about it DO IT you will not be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: That we only stayed for a week
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandgaz
Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cosy cottage with a real homely feel,the woodburner a must on a cold chilly day after a days walking. Emma & Rob provide a wonderful personal service taking you to the cottage and provide a lovely welcome pack .Location is perfect,just far enough out of the village to give it that getaway from it all feel with some great walks from the door step, the car has never been used so less on a holiday.The Travellers Rest pub,a short stroll down the hill is worth a visit or two! Would definately recomend Helvellyn cottages to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing