We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, and this area needs such a place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplendido Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good, and this area needs such a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I'm going to resist the temptation to write as though I'm an amateur travel writer for one of the well known magazines, and simply stick to lay terms, if you like to read something a bit more poetic, don't read on.

Myself, my fiance and our baby girl stayed here in early May for a long weekend of 3 nights - very impressive. Been to Soller many times and have been meaning to stay here and I'm really glad we did, it is lovely. Stayed on the 3rd floor in a room which faced the (cobalt blue?) marina, which offered great views or should I say 'vistas'?

The terrace and pool area is a real triumph, given that it is built into the terraced landscape directly behind the hotel, it will not have been the easiest to implement, but it looks superb,and the vistas from up here are even better. Also we were dreamily wowed by the ochre coloured.... (alright I'll stop it)

One thing I liked which I have to say I havent seen in a hotel before, was the two seperate dining rooms for people with & without children. Great idea. We had the baby with us so had to use the kids room, which as a parent actually makes you feel much more relaxed, if your kids are making a lot of noise at meal times and the couple next to you are on a weekend away for two, you will feel self conscious (certainly we do) but you want to feel relaxed so this has to be applauded.

They also have a family spa area for kids seperate to the main one.

The bar area is a nice space and offers a good drinks selection (you get a welcome drink here on your first night) the staff are mostly all friendly and offer good service, one or two are a bit cool and off-hand, but most are great.

I also liked the library on the top floor. Interesting selection of books, a Technics 1210 and some 12"s to play at your leisure, great touch.

The restaurant was pretty empty when we were here in early May, but so was Soller. The food was good, and nicely presented but because of the lack of folks in, it rather lacked atmosphere.

One particular mention must go to the breakfast selection, this was without exaggeration, among the best hotel breakfasts I have had; varied choice, really good quality products, good selection of cooked items if you want them and lovely service by the girls who work there. Faultless.
Oh and those cobalt blue vistas were in all thier glory from the family breakfast room.

Apart from the usual superlatives, one thing I would applaud this hotel for, is its ability to cater to couples who want an upscale, romantic boutique hotel, but also families who want the same. It gets that difficult balance pretty much spot on.

In the title I commented Soller needs places like this, and it absolutely does, it needs the quality but not overpriced restaurant, it needs the on-trend, not-stuck-in-a-timewarp bar, and the mostly unpretentious service offering from Esplendido. Frankly the locals who compete with it, really ought to take a leaf or two from its book.

Next time we're here we will have an easy choice of hotel.

Room Tip: For those dreamy vistas, get a room facing that crystal clear, inviting, cobalt blue sea.... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoundhayParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    109
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
188
330
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

What an amazing hotel. Gorgeous light, bright, scandi inspired decor. Very retro themed, beds are so comfortable. Large too. Lovely light duvets and linens top quality. Very large bathroom, done top spec. Every single corner of the hotel is a design treat. It feels like youre in a spa perhaps, all white walls, staff in trendy white t shirts with espendido on front. We had room 116 which was a terrace overlooking the beach. You could watch the old fashioned train to Soller trundle past - its like a tram. we said we would do it every day but were so relaxed we couldnt be bothered.

Too pools, one family themed and one adult only at the top of the hotel, complete with infinity pool and amazing view. Waitress service for all drinks throughout hotel, including pools. we had our lunch served to us on our sunbeds com plete with little TV dinner type table. Loved this - it was such a treat. Spa looked fab but again I couldnt be bothered! Seperate dining areas for families and adults only, with wonderful breakfast.

Really enjoyed all our food, casual fare and not too silly (foam of pea puree etc).

you wont want to leave this hotel, not for dinner, or ever!

The only problem we had was both sides of our room were smokers so sitting on the balcony, or even in your room with doors open, was usually so unpleasant we gave up. Hotel should have smoking floors not just rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Second time we have stayed here and it still sets an exceptional standard. Took a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the bay/port and its worth every penny. Simply stunning to wake up in the morning and be greeted by such a view; even better the sun sets in the evening on the terrace (room 302 has an enormous terrace) - there can be no better site for 'sun downers'. The fridge is re-stocked every day with complimentary water and the room is serviced twice a day.
Breakfast continues to be awesome with omlettes made to order; sit and sip freshly squeezed orange juice, read the papers and take your time over an Americano in the 'adults only' bistro. Lots of families in the hotel as well but the staff cope with charm and 'nothing is a problem'.
The pool areas are well staffed, fresh towels available and cater to your every need. We didn't use the Spa but you could only assume that it operates to the same standard.
In summary the staff have perfected the art of being unobtrusive but just appear like magic when you need assistance!

Room Tip: Room 302 - a bit dearer but worth it for the view and sunset experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The most wonderful hotel in a truly gorgeous location. Outstanding service, staff cant do enough for you and the food in the restaurant absolutely delicious. It has to be one of the most wonderful mini breaks we have ever had and I for one cant wait to come back. Highly recommended. The whole area is just delightful.

Room Tip: Sea view facing rooms with a terrace are highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at Esplendido for 3 nights at the beginning of May. There was 13 in our group- 7 children and 6 adults. Ages ranging from 18 months to 70 and the hotel catered for the needs of all of us.

The staff really stand out here, they are all friendly, helpful and cheerful which gives the place a very pleasant atmosphere.

The hotel is very well maintained- from the pretty pots of white flowers at the entrance to the poolside bar- all kept very clean.

There was a mix of guests staying at the hotel, couples, families and business travellers- even the other guests were all very pleasant - perhaps because this place caters for everyone and has separate areas for just adults and for those with children.

The food was very good, breakfast is an excellent selection but equally lunch and dinner in the bistro was very good as were the more casual options at the poolside bar.

The location of the Esplendido is ideal as it is situated about halfway along the seafront and has a selection of bars, restaurants and shops either side. There are a few supermarkets along the front too so you can stock up on basics if you need to.

We used the babysitting service provided by the hotel and were very impressed, the children were very happy with their sitters and the mums all felt happy to leave their children in their charge.

Please feel free to ask me any questions about the hotel if I haven't covered it in this review.

Highly recommended hotel!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank EVT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.5 km away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.2 km away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.5 km away
Es Port Hotel
Es Port Hotel
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
SENTIDO Porto Soller
SENTIDO Porto Soller
#4 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#5 of 37 in Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Property: Esplendido Hotel
Address: urbanizacion Es Traves 5, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,040 - ₹ 29,412
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller, Majorca
Hotel Esplendido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing