We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid food and nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vila Restaurant

La Vila Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 158 Restaurants in Soller
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Vila Restaurant is already considered a reference for the fine food in Sóller. For lunch we offer a snack menu, and for dinner we have a fine menu always made with fresh, local and seasonal products, where you can eat a la carte, or have our tasting menu which changes every monday. We offer aswell a wide choice of selected wines, everything served with an excellent service.In winter we set the service in our magnificent art nouveau salons, and in summer you will be delighted in our peaceful garden or in our terrace in Sóller's main square.
alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good solid food and nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Good food in a nice central location though nothing really amazing

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank girlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at La Vila Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    93
    37
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

They have a set priced taster menu which changes weekly, well worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lambgoreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at La Vila Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fornalutx, Islas Baleares, Spain
2 reviews
“An excellent place in Sóller”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have been dining at this place and we felt really good ...
They offer a different tasting menu every week, indicating that they always serve varied and fresh products. We tested last week and were very pleasantly surprised. The cold tomato cream with warm goat cheese was really good, then a salmon with a crust of mustard seeds with a saffron tapioca, excellent, then a roast beef seasoned with a sauce of red fruits and some mushrooms that were incredible, and very good dessert too, was a puff pastry with cream cheese and a homemade cherry jam ... really have been very much pleased and recommend this place, since not only the food was good, service was very professional and appropriate. Our evening was unforgettable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oaky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at La Vila Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well really....who are they kidding”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Starter of wheat with a cheese sauce and 4 tiny prawns on top - that'll be 21 euros please! Supposed to be Soller Langoustines. Overcooked on a boiling hot plate. Awful service - took ages to order or even get an aperitif and the menu is short, expensive and claims to be "fusion". Well if that means the weirdest combo's ever then so be it. Poor cooking, really awful menu and were told terrace "closed" even though there were peoplke eating there. All the fresh produce available locally and murdered in this restaurant. Eat there at your peril.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at La Vila Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Well, there are some very strange things about your comment:
It is not clear to me if you ate the menu, or a la carte, because you mention both things. The starter you mention is as follows:
Prawns from Sóller, sautéed wheat and cream of cheese from Mahón, and its price is 15.70€, and this is our most expensive starter, because prawns from Sóller are something exquisite and very expensive. And everybody who tastes it says its an fantastic combination!! But anyway, we always ask how the dish is, just after serving each one of them, so why didn't you just tell the waiter and we would have changed it, if it really wasn't of your taste??I would like to be able to understand from where you get the price of 21€? If you write something, please be fair and tell the truth. Of course all our dishes come out from the kitchen in a hot plate, otherwise they would get cold quite quickly... is this something new for you,maybe?
And this dish is not in our tasting menu, and the tasting menu is served only for the whole table. So, only if you ate a la carte, you would have been able to choose this starter. But you talk very badly aswell about our tasting menu, and you haven't had the chance to have both things... A menu that costs 27€, and includes an appetizer, a starter, a fish, a meat and a dessert, do you really mean that this is expensive??
So your review is clearly very inconsistent. Because the only way that you could have eaten a la carte, and the tasting menu is if you would have come twice, which according to your review, you wouldn't. I can accept a negative review, and from it i would always find out what can we learn and do better, but your review is very inconsistent.
The first thing we always offer when clients sit down is an apperitif, always always always.
You say we claim to offer "fusion", but i don't know where you get this word from, because we have never used it, or anything similar either... What we offer is gastronomic mediterranean cuisine, always with fresh and local products, and nothing about fusion....
What you write about "terrace", i understand you mean our garden, and yes, often it is full, but please use the correct words, not the words of your convenience to harm. In any case, we could have said "full", but not closed!!
That's all i have to say about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levanto, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dinner x 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This Restaurant serves delicate menus with very good wine menus.We had one menu of the week with wine menu .Every serving was perfect..the local wine was the best local wine we have had in Spain.Second time ala carte menu with a perfectly made Negrito fish. Go and eat there!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DenmarkAnne_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at La Vila Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vila Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Vila Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing