We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
311
338
96
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
338
96
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner and breakfast nice hotel spacious grounds huge swimming pool tour group tour buses four star hotel great pool big hotel pool area is polite staff hotel is located ancient ruins common areas rooms are big minute drive stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We stayed here for 7 nights with a UK travel tour group visiting ancient historic sites in the Peleponnese. The hotel is in a quiet countryside location just out of the town of Nafplio. It is about a 7 Euro taxi ride each way into and back from the delightful small town.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with plenty of wardrobe hanging space and drawers so that we could unpack for the duration of our stay. We requested a room with a walk in shower in the bathroom. We also had a small, private ground floor patio with chairs and table to sit out in the sun. WiFi was free and reception was good.

The hotel caters for families and also for numerous coach tours. It appeared to be fairly full for most of our stay. It has a good size swimming pool and a large dining room providing buffet meals at breakfast and evening meal. On the whole the food was of a good quality, if somewhat repetitive when staying for more than a few days.

The staff were invariably welcoming, friendly and helpful. On six nights out of seven we had no problems with the other tour groups in residence including several well behaved school parties. We had one unfortunate incident one night with badly behaved teenage children on a school group tour who were in the next door room to ours. We complained to the hotel management who dealt with the situation, involving the rather transparent school teachers who finally sorted the kids out. The following day the hotel management sincerely apologised for the incident and upgraded us for the remaining night of our stay to a suite and also compensated us with a cash credit to our bill. This was more than fair as the fault lay with the teachers and not with the hotel.

We would certainly stay at the Amalia Hotel again if we visit Nafplio in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia_Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review for Amalia Hotel Nafplio.

We are very happy that your stay was pleasant and our staff took care of the unfortunate incident you faced with some school children, indeed out of our responsibility. We are committed to providing excellent quality services and what we did was the least we could do, to make your experience memorable.
We look forward to welcome you again at Amalia Hotel Nafplio in the future.

Sincerely,

Argyris Daouliaris
Director of Operations & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Once in a while, I revisit Amalia Hotel, a classic hotel in the vicinity of Nafplion. Over the years I have enjoyed my stay over and over again so my views are subjective, detailed yet well intentioned. The rooms and the surrounding views lovely. The scent of orange and lemon blossoms a wonder to experience during the spring time. The gardens and the outdoor pool with the nice cozy deckchairs so relaxing. Breakfast more than decent and the price pretty fair for this 4 star classic. However, there are two key pointers: rooms by the elevator or failing sewage pipes (this happened once) AND a Greek holiday date (i.e. Easter) that will bring to Nafplion hordes of families of screaming children and a staff that will not be able to manage the distribution of customers in rooms between quiet loners like myself and the family with the loud/ screaming kids next door. Make sure you clarify your requests well in advance and insist on being given quieter rooms. The staff overall courteous and obliging. The fresh orange juice and espresso treat at breakfast lovely.

Room Tip: Please see the review above for more details.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia_Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for writing a review for Amalia Hotel Nafplion.

We are very happy that your stay was pleasant and you appreciated the serence and beautiful environment we are offering as well as our services. We are trully sorry, you were disturbed during your stay by some children making noise in the public areas. Please undrestand that it is our concern and duty to guard our guests quietness and serenity, but unfortunately sometimes it is impossible to do so, when parents do not behave responsibly regsarding their children behaviour.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again at Amalia Hotel Nafplion in the future and secure a very quiet environment for your relaxing stay..

Sincerely,

Argyris Daouliaris
Director of Operations & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Please can anyone thinking of booking this hotel please be aware it is also run as a hostel for hundreds of screaming rude teenagers from all over Europe on school trips. The hotel management should be utterly ashamed of themselves for encouring normal tourists to stay here knowing full well the swarms of unruly kids that awaits them. The kids teachers/guardians do NOTHING to control them. Infact i suspect they find the children's disrespectful behaviour amusing. On a separate note the rooms are smelly and dated and the dinner buffet (who still does buffets in 2018?) is appauling.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank rubymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia_Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Amalia Hotel Nafplio.

We are very sorry to read about your frustration and disappointment for our hotel. We are having a unique goal to provide quality services to all our guests. We evaluate the problem with the noise as an isolated incident. The hotel had taken steps to provide to the students rooms in a separate wing and to have continuous surveillance 24 hours a day. This is no excuse but similar problems can happen and we are extremely sorry for this. We are always doing our best so that our guests have a comfortable stay!
Let us hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Amalia Hotel Nafplio in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Argiris Daouliaris
Director of Operations & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We where in an organised tour of Greece and this 'hotel' was one of our overnight stops. Believe me unless your doing a tour avoid this place it was FULL of incredibly badly behaved children if you enjoy no sleep, screaming, whistles blowing, loud noises and behaviour I was highly shocked at then this is your place.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia_Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Amalia Hotel Nafplio.

We are very sorry to read about your frustration and disappointment for our hotel. We are having a unique goal to provide quality services to all our guests. We evaluate the problem with the noise as an isolated incident. The hotel had taken steps to provide to the students rooms in a separate wing and to have continuous surveillance 24 hours a day. This is no excuse but similar problems can happen and we are extremely sorry for this. We are always doing our best so that our guests have a comfortable stay!
Let us hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Amalia Hotel Nafplio in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Argiris Daouliaris
Director of Operations & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

My wife and I stayed three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Amalia Hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was a banquet -- excellent. The landscaping around the hotel was quite attractive. The staff was most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandKathy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia_Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for writing a review for Amalia Hotel Nafplion.

We are very hapy that your stay was pleasant and you appreciated the serene and beautiful environment we are offering, as well as out staff, food and quality services.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again at Amalia Hotel Nafplion in the future.

Sincerely,

Argyris Daouliaris
Director of Operations & Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews