We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
5
17
12
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
17
12
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsd day beachesmont saint micheloutdoor poolgrocery itemssteep stairslaundry roomthe riverpleasant staypeaceful locationresorttownsapartmentgpsinternetregionparisrouen
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Enjoyed a week here. Had a great time visiting the surrounding towns and the larger city of Rouen. Lovely parks with views of the Seine. Good places for a walking tour & on short rides we really got to see the farms and villages of this part of Normandy. Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Karma Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Thank you, please visit us again soon!

Kheira Bekhira
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

If we had not stayed this far out of Paris we would not have been able to get the real feel of the country side villages. Along with it was very close to Monet Gardens and this is a must see while in France. We also visited the Normande Beaches of WWII and Rouen where Joan of Arc was put to death. We feel that it gave us a very good experience even though we had to travel to Paris which we did on several occasions.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 672sharonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Karma Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

It is lovely to know that you had such a good say and we hope you would not hesitate to return with another visit and hope we will not have to wait too long. Thank you for your kind comments!

Kheira Bekhira
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

My daughter and I had an absolute wonderful time staying here and exploring the nearby towns and countryside. As mentioned, you must have a car, and bring food. My research here helped make this a memorable experience.

We had come from Amsterdam by rail to Paris, then took the local train to Rouen (a gorgeous ancient city worth spending a day there) where we picked up our car. We opted to get a GPS and would advise others to do the same. (If you have the data on your phone no need I suppose). The drive from Rouen was about 45 minutes or an hour if I recall. But before driving out of Rouen stop and get food at one of the supermarches in town. They are well-stocked with regional treats as well as anything else you'd expect. Wine.

The resort itself is nothing super fancy, but it was clean, comfortable and in a beautiful setting on the river. (We were there in December, so it was winter but I imagine during the warmer seasons it would be cool to get ahold of a canoe and paddle around.) The staff was among the most welcoming I've encountered in my travels. And yes, it's true, you can order fresh baked breads and pastries for the morning. We did. Awesome.

As mentioned here by others, talk to Marc or other staff about places to visit. Honfleur on the coast was amazing. As was Les Andelys, Lyons-la-Forêt, and we drove to Mont St. Michel for a day as well. (We did it in one day there and back no problem but we are used to long car trips living in the Western US).If you go to the Mont you must try La Mere Poulard, the omelet is an out of this world experience.

So the place itself was accommodating. We had a two bedroom, the beds were comfortable. The kitchen is small but workable. It had what we needed to get by, but we kept it fairly simple. There is no salt, no sugar, nada...so bring what you need. There was no oven, but a two burner small stove and a small fridge. Eat lots of cheese and yogurt, drink wine and calvados, eat fresh baguette with various patés and you'll survive. There are delicious cassoulets in the frozen section at the supermarches.

There is no wifi internet service, but a rudimentary pc setup with access. I had to book a hotel for our return to Paris, and was allotted an embarrassing 20 minutes for my daily ration of internet time. It's 2015. Enough said.

All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would recommend this place to those planning on being away much of the day exploring the region.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank secretmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Karma Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we are very grateful to you for taking the time to offer your comments to your fellow travellers and our potential future guests. We hope that it is not the last time we had an opportunity to offer you our hospitality and that in the future we may see you again, until then we wish you all the best on your future travels!

Kheira Bekhira
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014

Total waste of our RCI exchange. I can't believe this place is even in the exchange. My iPad disappeared from our room. It is so far away from a store and no reason for anyone to come out there. Absolutely the worst place to stay in

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesusloveyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Karma Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the service we offer and we assure you that it is our absolute priority to ensure that our guests and their belongings are safe and secure, therefore we would like to ask that you reach out to us directly so that we may investigate this issue further.

Kheira Bekhira
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

First, be forewarned that there is nothing within walking distance, even if you consider yourself to be a sturdy walker. Google Earth the location and you'll see that there's no village. The staff here is excellence and very helpful. They give a good introduction to the area on Sunday along with maps and list of day trips.

A car is essential. Driving isn't difficult but a GPS is fairly essential. Keep in mind that many of the back roads are only one lane wide so you need to move over to let oncoming cars go by. I recommend buying some groceries before you get to the timeshare. About the closest place to load up is Les Andyles (coming from Paris) and they have one grocery store at the square and a couple of others heading out of town. Remember that stores closed about 5 on Saturday and are not open on Sunday. It's really not much of a problem. The resort carries a selection of emergency food supplies such as pasta/sauce, bread, milk, eggs, coffee, wine, cheese. You can also order bread for breakfast by 7:30 the night before. Internet service is incredibly expensive (like $50 USD/week or $12/day) and we chose not to get it at all, which was difficult, but we managed. The spendy restaurant next door is only for dinner and only by reservation.

We stayed in a remodeled two-story, one-bedroom unit, the style of which is located in the second, older building. It was spotlessly clean but unbearably hot when we got there as the heat had been left on. We made ample use of the fan in the upstairs bedroom and opened the skylights (which have no screens). By the next morning it had cooled down. Downstairs is the efficient kitchen with all dishware, small refrigerator, 2-burner cooktop. No dishwasher. The table and chairs are down there and it tends to feel a bit claustrophobic. (Since we like to catch the TV news, we carried food upstairs.) The WC is in a separate room, which is convenient but, if you are a big person, it is a tight squeeze getting into the room with the door. The large bathroom had a window, nice big tub with hose/shower, good sink, heated towel bar. Getting upstairs via the quasi-ladder would also be dicey for anyone with physical limitations. It's doable, but take it slow. The living room furniture was tidy and well worn but it was all fine. Overall upstairs, there is good storage with three large cupboards. The main bed is a bit thin and bouncy. One of us finally moved to the twin bed that is also in the room as the other gets up frequently in the night for bathroom trips (we always bring our own flashlight and it would be helpful if the timeshare provided one). Overall, I wouldn’t want to spend much time inside here, but it was a very good place to base from for day trips.

The resort has some game rooms that people were using, as well as both an indoor pool and large outdoor pool across the footbridge onto a narrow stretch of land. There's a children's play area and, in summer, I'm sure this facility gets good use. I think they really ramp up for summer. We enjoyed being there in more of a down time (late September). We didn't make use of any facilities as we were on the go and seeing as much as we could. The weather was beautiful.

The nearest town that we really enjoyed was Les Andyles, which had decent shops (no souvenir shops), a beautiful cathedral, and castle (Castle Gaillaird) ruins from which you can see forever - great photo opps of the lazy Seine and charming Les Andyles (afternoon light is best). For two days, we decided to drive to Mont St. Michele early in a morning, overnight in Bayeux to see the tapestry and cathedral, and spend the next day on the D-Day beaches coming home quite late. These would be very challenging and exhausting to do on day trips. We also saw the adorable Honfleur, the picturesque old-town Rouen, the ruined abbey at Jumieges, Monet’s Giverny (seen before arriving at the timeshare), Lyons-la-Foret - with several trips back to Les Andyles - as well as driving many of the back roads of Normandy (they don't waste space on roads, devoting it to farmland instead). Wonderful, beautiful area filled with tiny, picturesque villages.

Room Tip: Be sure to let the hotel know if you have mobility issues.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Axelant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Karma Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

We are pleased to read that you found our team second to none although we regret that the resort’s location was a little too out of the way for you. We hope you noted from our responses to other reviews that our aim is to deliver lasting and meaningful memories. We have a very strong commitment to keep our premises up-to-date and we go through an extensive and well-thought restoration programme in order to ensure that our resort is always presented at its best and we assure you that all our apartments will be soon of the same high standard. Nevertheless we are happy that you considered our resort to be a good base from which you could explore the area. We hope we may see you again soon!

Kheira Bekhira
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews