We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for day trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Residence Normande
Ranked #2 of 2 Connelles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 September 2014

This was an RCI timeshare that we used to take trips around Normandy for a week. First warning to all. You need a car. It is far from everything. 2d Warning If you have a car it is far from any fuel stations - a good 20 minute drive to get gas. So take advantage of refueling whenever you can. But if you do that, it is a good place to visit other place from. We went to Normandy and Mount Ste Michele but stayed there overnight. It is a pretty long drive back. There is also no restaurant at the resort, but there is an excellent one right next door at the Moulin Des Connelles, though a bit pricy. Very poor Wi-fi if you need it. For those who are trying to get away that may be a blessing but for those of us who are trying to squeeze some down time in but need to keep up, you will have to go next door to the Moulin Des Connelles. They were very nice about letting you use it if you buy a a cup of cafe. They did not require it but we did it anyway.

Room Tip: Only a couple are on the ground floor. If you have trouble climbing, it can be difficult to get to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank svargasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at La Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers; we hope that you may consider visiting us again in the future, until then we wish you safe travels.

Wendy Richardson
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2014

I am embarrassed to even admit we checked in here. We used our time share week within RCI to stay here in the hope of doing several day trips including a 2 day tour of D-Day sites. We were told room wouldn't be ready until 4 yet when we got into our room there were dead bugs. Furniture in rooms and in reception area looks like it was picked up from a donation center. We were given a room with a loft which is not safe for children or elderly. High narrow steps to bed upstairs which I could not sleep in because sheets were so itchy. No AC and screen on door was broken-patio outside was nicest thing about this place but too many bugs flying around. The staff were very pleasant but that could not make up for the nasty rooms. There is really no reason to stay in this area as food options are very limited even in nearby villages/towns. The restaurant next door at the fancier inn is traditional French but was nothing to rave about-although their staff was lovely. After one big we decided to find a place in Bayeux while we toured Normandy. If you're using time share week don't bother-this place is gross

Room Tip: Don't stay here-horrible beds! run down and ruins your time here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Dolcebellamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at La Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

We are very disappointed to read your comments and profusely apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Most of the apartments in La Residence have stairs leading to the bedroom. As you kindly noted there is no centralised air conditioning in the apartment, although a portable air conditioning unit is available if needed of being needed. As the building is situated in front of the Seine river, some insects are to be expected, yet we do our best to control this.
We are very pleased to be able to confirm that during the next few months the resort will be undergoing a number of improvements to make it more comfortable for our guests.
Again, we are sorry for any disappointment and wish you all the best on your future travels.

Wendy Richardson
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently stayed here on a 4day break and really enjoyed ourselves. The staff at reception are very welcoming and helpful, especially Marc who pointed us in the right direction as to what to do while we were there. There is nothing to do nearby that is in walking distance except a hotel/restaurant next door that was very very expensive.
Our apartment was fine, although we were very cold during our stay(that time of year that was sunny and warm one day and cold the next, but apart from that it was OK.
You can order fresh bread, croissant etc for breakfast which was lovely and they have a facility to buy groceries from reception which were very reasonably priced.
All in all a lovely break and we would definitely visit again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at La Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for the lovely comments, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We hold our staff to a high service excellence and so we are always pleased when our guests receive this service.
It is great for us to read that you enjoyed the apartment and the services we offer to our guests in site.
We do hope you will come back soon!
Christophe Daniel
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at this Diamond Property resort for 5 days/4 nights. Good place to stay if you want to adventure out to places in the surrounding area, but not what I would say as very comfortable to hang out for a long time in the room. No balcony or nice sitting area.

Pros:
*The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They could recommend many things to do in the area and was very willing to help.
*You can order fresh baked goods from the front desk for your morning breakfast. My husband also noticed you could order some other grocery items and he thought the prices looked reasonable.
*We didn't stay in the main building where the reception was, but those rooms looked a bit nicer and up-to-date compared to ours.
*We had a one bedroom and as many reviews have mentioned....there are very steep steps up and down the floors, which is a must since the kitchen and bathroom are on the main floor and the bedrooms are upstairs.
*Rooms were fine for short stays in them and for making meals. But, I wouldn't to hang out for a long time in the room.
*Game room on-site with pool table, darts, etc. Typical Diamond Resort - to play pool you have to pay extra.
*About 30 minutes away there is very large Carrefour Supermarket

Cons:
* You are not close to anything. You must drive a lot to see the different things in the area - so definitely have a car. There are not many restaurants close by. A very delicious restaurant next door, but very expensive.
*House cleaning could see some improvements. Everything on the surface appeared clean, but don't look under the beds, furniture, couches...etc. They haven't been cleaned in a really long time. Also, during our entire stay nobody ever came to tidy the room or change our towels. Normally when we stay some where for a week we get 1 tidy cleaning and 1 full cleaning. I expected with a 4 night stay we would get at least one cleaning.

I would recommend this place to others, but I would make sure to set the right expectations for guests.

I found it extremely disappointing that Diamond Resorts warns you this is not their standard properties and does not take responsibility of the upkeep/furnishings of the facility. If Diamond Resort has chosen this to be apart of the membership, then they should own up the responsibility of ensuring that it meets certain standards. With that being said, the resort was fine, but I think this disclaimer by Diamond is not very good business for anyone.

Room Tip: Beware there are very steep steps to get from one floor to the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBtrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at La Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you had a nice stay with us.
We are happy to read that our staff provided you with a high level of customer services and were sure to be helpful throughout your stay.
It is great for us to read you took advantage of hiring a car to see the local areas.
Your comments with regards to the housekeeping and standards of the property have been doted and we will be sure to address the house keeping issues.
We are sure other travelers will take advantage of the tips you have noted with regards to your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Christophe Daniel
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I am a member of Diamond International and stayed here for a week with my father. We stayed in one of the two one bed apartments that is all on one floor (as my father has limited mobility). I understand other apartments are on two floors with steep stairs.

The accommodation was clean and to a good standard, was well equiped (no dishwasher though) and there was regular cleaning of our apartment during the week. The staff on reception were always helpful and had information on what you can do in the area. They can tell you about local markets and even have a little map suggesting towns to visit and some scenic drives.

The location is great in that it is on the banks of a branch of the river Seine and is quiet and very relaxing. There is a very small pool area with hot tub (which we did not use) and a games room. There was a wii in there, football table, snooker and darts. There was a small charge for snooker and table football.

The resort also has a laundry and you can buy basic food items and order fresh bread and croisants each day for pretty reasonable prices.

The only place to eat in the village is a posh restuarant next door. The prices are steep but it gets good reviews.

You really need a car to get around but Rouen is an amazing old town and Lyon du Foret was really pictureqsue with a number of places to eat. Even in November there were lots of local markets and farms open that you can visit and buy local produce from. Monet’s home in Giverny is not far away and you can visit Les Andelys and Chateau Gailliard on a day trip out. We also went to visit the (very small) village of Camembert and had photos taken next to the sign with the village behind - a great trip and a great area of France!

Room Tip: I think 13 and 14 are on one floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NunnyNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at La Residence Normande, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are pleased to read the account of your recent stay and we hope the we will be given another chance to host you and offer you a great quality stay in the near future! Thank you for your kind words!

Christophe Daniel
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connelles
0.2 km away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
249 reviews
6.2 km away
Kyriad Rouen Sud - Val de Reuil
6.6 km away
Mercure Rouen Val De Reuil
Mercure Rouen Val De Reuil
#1 of 5 in Val de Reuil
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Best Hotel Rouen Est/Val de Reuil
6.3 km away
ibis Styles Rouen Val de Reuil
0.0 km away
Le Manoir des Deux Amants
Le Manoir des Deux Amants
#1 of 2 in Connelles
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Normande? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Normande

Address: 40 T route Amfreville sous les Monts, 27430 Connelles, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Connelles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Connelles
Price Range: ₹ 91,962 - ₹ 97,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence Normande 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for those who prefer to take their vacations in a secluded setting, La Résidence Normande is nevertheless close to Monet’s Garden at Giverny, while medieval Rouen, where Joan of Arc met her untimely end, is just a short car journey away.Members are able to use all of the facilities at the neighboring resort, Le Manior des Deux Amants including both the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence Normande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Normande Hotel Connelles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing