We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly relaxed place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chacha's Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chacha's Garden
Ranked #38 of 79 Pushkar B&B and Inns
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly relaxed place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Chacha came to meet us at the station in Ajmer which was really nice. Chacha and his wife Rane run a very friendly and relaxed guesthouse in Pushkar. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and clean. The rooms are arranged around a central courtyard which is nicely painted with murals on the walls and planted up. There a couple of tortoises that also share the courtyard! There is good homecooked food on offer. During the camel fair extra rooms are made in tents which also looked good. The guesthouse is in a good location for exploring Pushkar, and Rane gave us a map with lots of useful information on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
11
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

When looking for reasonably priced accommodation for the very busy camel festival (beginning of November) this was an excellent choice. Chacha's provided a safe haven from the noise and bustle of the festival with friendly atmosphere, good food and helpful advice.
They put on additional rooms in the form of 'tents', which were actually pretty luxurious (proper camp beds, high canvas ceilings and a safe box for valuables), and this was a lot better than we expected. We highly recommend Chacha's for Camel Fair accommodation, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: En-suite/rooms with separate bathrooms, and the tents during the Camel fair are a great option - eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This place was definitely a highlight of my stay in India - I was travelling alone and was easily able to meet other travellers in their courtyard and the hosts were also really lovely - it felt really nice to be there. And their food was amazing!! (And their kids gorgeous). Only thing to think about is possibly to bring earplugs which saved me when I was trying

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ornate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 night with a friend; overall experience was pleasant for the price as the 2 employees were very amicable and the rooms/bathrooms were decent, although nothing luxurious...When we arrived, our room was not ready, but he got it fixed up pretty quickly.

The atmosphere is very homely and low-key, despite the place being very close to the main road. That said, it is a little bit out of the way of the city (i.e. where the main bazaar and shops are to be found), which from what I remember is about a 15-minute walk away. All of the rooms at Chacha's open up into the little courtyard which is a cozy spot to relax from the (sometimes) city of Pushkar (a bit stressful at time), although if you want to sleep, be assured that if someone's chatting in the courtyard you'll be able to hear them pretty clearly.

The staff here, though few in number, were friendly and answered all my questions regarding traveling tips, etc., and take interest in getting to know you also, if you want someone to chat with. The owners were away while we were here but they left the establishment in good hands.

The only main qualm I had with this place is that it is pretty trashy in the front and when we arrived I almost couldn't believe that the entrance was where it was, with garbage scattered everywhere. If this area was cleaned up, this would be an added bonus :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmarie_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bipeep, Owner at Chacha's Garden, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, but I'm sorry it was taking you so long to get into town. If you walk the most direct way it should take 2 mins to walk to the lake, were all the shops are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, Sichuan, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

There's only one thing that makes anyplace you stay both wonderful and memorable: exceptional service. Chacha's Garden is constantly developing and changing in very positive ways. I was there a year earlier and while the accommodation had improved, the wonderful hospitality remained the same. I highly recommend Chacha's if you're looking for an experience of the best of India.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takefman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pushkar hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Radhika Palace
Hotel Radhika Palace
#7 of 79 in Pushkar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kanhaia Haveli
Hotel Kanhaia Haveli
#2 of 79 in Pushkar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#6 of 79 in Pushkar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Mama Luna
Hotel Mama Luna
#14 of 79 in Pushkar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 km away
Atithi Guest House Pushkar
0.2 km away
Bharatpur Palace
Bharatpur Palace
#8 of 79 in Pushkar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chacha's Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chacha's Garden

Property: Chacha's Garden
Address: Near Bangor School | Choti Busti, Pushkar 305022, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pushkar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Pushkar
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,415 - ₹ 1,752
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chacha's Garden is a small guesthouse with rooms and a cafe, set in a walled garden. Run by myself, Rani (Brigit) and my husband Chacha (Mukesh). I am from England, and Chacha is from Pushkar. There is a cafe, and a hall for sitting eating and talking. If you ask I might let you use her kitchen. In fact, if you ask lots of things are possible. After all this is the land of Sub Kutch Melaga! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Chacha's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chacha's Garden Pushkar, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing