We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pushkar Lake Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 73
US$ 70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 174
US$ 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 129
US$ 85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Country Side Resort(Pushkar)(Great Value!)
US$ 22
US$ 20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 30
US$ 26
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 88
US$ 75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 68
US$ 59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
33
32
30
30
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
32
30
30
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspushkar lakenice view of lakerooftop restaurantquiet locationchecking outbeautiful placerooms are cleanpalacecommissionbalconiesholimarketindianlinensmrrsfestival
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I wasn't really looking forward to this . Maybe it was the no meat/fish/eggs/booze constraint that the whole town shares. Maybe it was because there isn't a universally well-rated hotel in Pushkar. Maybe it was because having set myself the task of photographing the lakeside, I expected to find a very grubby environment and maybe a bit of hassle alongside some ageing hippies.

Whatever, it was fine. The hotel might not have been the swishest we stayed in but it was certainly clean and far from tatty. The restaurant , once I got over the fact that I wasn't going to get my nightly Kingfisher, was actually pretty good, The hotel is right on the lakeside with splendid views fro the roof and from the walkway outside our room. The staff were kind of variable and if the people at front desk had the attitudes of those in the restaurant, then this hotel woild be a better place. I hired a guide for a couple of hours who taught me the rudiments what I needed to avoid (eg don't take flowers from Holy Men) and how to get what I wanted, and we had a good time in Pushkar.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

- Close to the lake and the Brahma Temple
- Affordable rates
- Good food
- Decent rooms
- At the time of the annual Pushkar Camel Festival the property is ideal to stay to be close to the fair ground

Room Tip: Please book early if you're planning to go to Pushkar for the Camel fair. The rooms are sold out a couple of months before the start of the festival
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scoutfinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This property is away from all the noise.It has a beautiful view of the Ghats from the 3rd/4th floor. It is walking distance to the Brahma Temple- the only one in India.It is also close to the Prarikrama Marg . You can hear the bells at various temples along the Ghats at dawn and dusk, as they ring them during aartis. It has ample parking and is a heritage site.But. It is not a "palace" as the misleading name suggests. It is named a palace since it is a century old haveli or mansion/private residence belonging to a maharaja to house his guests.They have tried to preserve that old era feel. While it is successful to an extent, it certainly does not have a "palace " feel. It is a clean and comfortable property, but not at all luxurious. The room decor is still of the bygone times- old furniture with old paintings and pictures of the royal family.Beds are old and hard. The rooms have old style lock and key.No safe in the room. We had a suite -which consisted of a small room with the bed, 2 bedside tables, an old sofa, armoire(beautiful, old but broken) coffee table and an even smaller area with the bath tub, basin , an old armoire and a dressing table.The light switches are still of the old times and are temperamental.You need to turn the knobs to hot and let the water run at full in the bathtub and the basin, for the water to become hot. Even then it takes a good 5 to 10minutes for the water to turn hot.They do have electric power cuts twice a day, 11am and 5pm (I think that is what they said) mandated but they have backup generators. The breakfast is okay-no selection there.They seem to be skimping at this which is unfortunate, especially since the room tariff supposedly includes breakfast.
Staff is okay.Not the pleasant, courteous reception you'd expect at the checkin desk-but not unfriendly either.
The hotel is walking distance from the local market/shops and ideal location to buy souvenirs.
IMPORTANT- they do not accept American Express.They accept Visa/Mastercard only. We were not aware of this and had only arried our American Express.We had to pay cash. Luckily, we had that amount in rupees on us. If you pay cash, remember to collect a receipt. They dont give the receipt for the amount paid unless you insist.

Another important fact to remember- do not engage with the priests or "holy men" at the Ghats. They seem to be separate individuals,but are all one and same -all teamed up ready to fleece foreigners. They will say you dont need to pay them anything ,-that you would only pay for the cost of the items used for the rites that you should perform for peace of your family and children; or for your ancestors' souls to rest in peace.But their "small" ritual can turn out to be an expensive affair, costing you anywhere from INR5000 to upto INR10000+.
So when they approach you, do not stop or enagage in conversation.Just keep walking.They will follow you insistently, but if you ignore them and keep walking, they will eventually give up and walk away. Oh, and remember to take your shoes off before you walk down the steps of the Ghat towards the lake- whether to take pictures or to take a dip in the lake. We witnessed these priests take in someone who had not removed his shoes and had walked down the steps with shoes on - these priests tried to tell that family that he had committed sacrilege and should perform a rite to wash away their sins!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 3rd/4th floor, though there may be an extra cost for this.These floors give a great view of the Ghats.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My second visit to Pushkar Palace. The most beautiful thing about this place is its on the lake. However, the sitout facing the lake has been closed and is in no way a "Palace". Room was adequate with a clean bathroom and a private balcony with a nice view of the lake. The bathtub leaked on the first night and once reported the problem was taken care of.Breakfast adequate but nothing special. Charming place to stay in Pushkar but loosing its appeal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yudhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

To begin with the location is pretty good with great views of the lake, everything else is below average. Frequent power cuts which I understand is acceptable but no power for 4 hours a day is fairly ridiculous for a hotel. Badly decorated, the whole place could do with a lick of paint. The restaurant has a fairly adequate menu and the chef cooking the food was an ignorant sweaty man who a number of times would nudge me and tell me I giive him a cigarette after I mistakingly gave him one on the first night, he stopped this after i "politely" told him to go away!! The manager is a creep who wouldnt be out of place in a police line up. Also no pick up drop off to Ajmer train station until we convinced them that we paid for it!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews