We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Amar Mahal Orchha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amar Mahal Orchha
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for one night - though Orchha itself is probably deserving of a slightly longer stay and we wished we had more time to spend here. The hotel has Moghul themed design which is quite pleasant, with nice gardens. The rooms are a little basic compared to other (mainly 4 or 5 star) properties we stayed at on this trip. This is not to say that they are not comfortable or clean, but they do not have some of the amenities you might find elsewhere, and the bathrooms are a bit dated. Orchha does not have hotels of the standard that you get in nearby towns such as Gwalior and Khajurhao (eg. Taj), but this is a perfectly acceptable property for a night's stay. In any case, Orchha is such a pleasant town to wander around (it is much cleaner, quieter and you encounter less hassle that at some other Indian cities) that you are unlikely to spend much time in the hotel. You can easily walk to the town and monuments from here. Lunch and dinner were good, and very good value. Breakfast was less impressive.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    268
    136
    58
    45
See reviews for
116
300
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is very nice looking from the outside and has nice grounds. The rooms are spacious but do NOT have wifi, a fridge, hairdryer, safe, face cloth or writing pad. There is no complimentary bottled water, the first hotel in India in which we have stayed to have not provided such. The TV is out of the 70s and is wavy with limited channels. The AC unit is right next to the bed. On the other hand, we did not have that bad a night's sleep. Prices in the restuarant are very reasonable although service and cleanliness sure could be improved.

Ask for a room by the pool area--we did not see inside any of those roome but they looked like they were better rooms than those in the courtyard

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Was a pleasant hotel although we were at the very far end of the property. The bonus was it was quite and away from the bus tour groups from Europe. They tend to be as a group VERY noisy and pushy in the restaurants. In the restaurants they eat as though there is never going to be another meal and at breakfast we noted some take extra food, to I suppose have at lunch so they dont have to pay. Increadable.
We had a good shower, the room was clean and the beds comfortable [I like a very firm bed]. It was too cold to swim, but the pool looked inviting. Staff were pleasant.
Was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: A room away from the reception area and pool. it is much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève, Suisse
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We wish to thank the entire staff from the hotel who made our stay very special.

We even got granted with an upgrade and got the best room (it was a suite) available for the same money.

The room was perfect (off course since it was the suite) and we even had bathrobes and a real bathub !!

The room was very clean and the hotel in general also.

The food was good, thought the restaurant can be crowded depending on the groups booked in the hotel at the same time. Alternative is to order room service, 20min after it's delivered right to your door :)

The hotel has a "souvenir" shop enclosed that is very nice. Off course the prices are higher then in the village but the quality is very good and the staff very nice.

The village is within walking distance (about 10min) so you don't need rikshaw or anything if you wish you can just walk.

My only bad comment : I was not very satisfied with my head massage (she basically scrached my head, the pulled my hair, then slapped my head).
The location is not ideal for a relaxing atmosphere, the room is small and it looks like a dispensary office.
The girl was reading over my shoulder as I was writing my feedback in the guest book, so did not have the courage to write the truth, because apart from the poor massage, she was nice as a person.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and further more recommend to visit Orchha !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieG_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Amar Mahal is a nice hotel in a very nice and small village. It's not as touristic as Agra or Jaipur and has a nice atmosphere.

We only stayed for 1 night in this hotel. We received a nice 'holi welcome' with colors and flowers. The room was a bit dusty but very big, the beds were ok. We asked for an extra bed for the children but this extra bed not even had a real mattress. We had warm water if we needed.

In the evening we ordered room service. The food wasn't fabulous but it was ok. The breakfast was a bit amateurish. We had to ask for everything as they forgot to fill empty dishes and pots, remake the tables after someone else had breakfast there etc.

The hotel has a nice terrace with a even more nice view, but they don't use this terrace, and that's a pity. It would have been great to have your breakfast there!

The swimming pool was fine. They just might clean the water a bit more as there were a lot of insects and leaves in the water.

The location of the hotel is just perfect. Only a minutes-walk from all the historic buildings of the village.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwithtw0kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
1.2 km away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
156 reviews
2.1 km away
Bundelkhand Riverside
2.6 km away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
JenJon Faagun Haveli Orchha
12.2 km away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
94 reviews
14.5 km away
Hotel Tulsi
Hotel Tulsi
#8 of 14 in Jhansi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Mahal Orchha? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Mahal Orchha

Property: Amar Mahal Orchha
Address: By Pass Road | District Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,367 - ₹ 7,577
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amar Mahal Orchha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amar Mahal is situated at a stone throw away from the banks of River Betwa, about 18 kms from Jhansi railway station. Amar Mahal, Orchha is located in a calm and serene zero polluted area, completely away from the hustle –bustle of the city. The strategic location of Amar Mahal ensures a panoramic view of the monuments, surrounding hills and wildlife sanctuary. Enjoy the breathtaking view of sunset and sunrise from the lawns and the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Amar Mahal Orchha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amar Mahal
Amar Mahal Orchha Madhya Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing